

Texas Motor Vehicle Tax Exemption Certificate for Agricultural and Timber Operations

Commercial agricultural producers and timber operators with a valid Texas agricultural and timber registration number (ag/timber number) issued by the Comptroller must provide this completed form to motor vehicle sellers/dealers to claim exemption from Texas motor vehicle sales and use tax on the purchase of qualifying farm machines, timber machines, trailers and semitrailers used primarily in agricultural and timber operations. Farm machines and trailers and timber machines are defined in Rule 3.72.

To claim an exemption from limited sales or use tax, use Form 01-924, Texas Agricultural Sales and Use Tax Exemption Certificate.

Seller/Dealer Information				
Name of seller / dealer				
Address (Street and number, P.O. Box or route number)				
City, State, ZIP code		Phone (Area	Phone (Area code and number)	
Purchaser Information		·		
Name of purchaser				
Address (Street and number, P.O. Box or route number)				
City, State, ZIP code		Phone (Area	a code and number)	
Ag/Timber Number	Name of person to whom number is registered, if different than purchaser			
This exemption certificate expires on Dec. 31, 2	0			
I, the purchaser or authorized person named above purchase of the qualifying motor vehicle described by		of motor vehicle sale	es and use tax for the	
Vehicle identification number	Make	Mo	del year	
		1		
I understand that I am required to keep records to ver sales or use tax on purchases that do not qualify for	the exemption, in addition to any applica	ble interest and pena	alties.	
I understand that it is a criminal offense to issue an e manner that does not qualify for the exemptions foun to a felony of the second degree.				
sign here	Purchaser's name (Print or type)	Da	te	
The purchaser shou	ld give this completed certificate to the sel	ler/dealer.		

The purchaser should give this completed certificate to the seller/dealer.

Do <u>not</u> send this form to the Comptroller of Public Accounts or to the County Tax Assessor-Collector.

What Qualifies for Exemption?

Agricultural Exemption - Farm Machines and Farm Trailers

The retail sale of a farm machine or a farm trailer is exempt from motor vehicle sales and use tax if it is used at least 80 percent of the time in one of the following ways:

- · to produce grass, food for people, feed for animals or agricultural products for sale; or
- by an original producer in processing, packing or marketing their own livestock or agricultural products for sale.

A farm trailer used more than 20 percent of the time to transport livestock or property to and from competitions, shows, rodeos or other similar uses does not qualify for this exemption.

Farm machine - A self-propelled motor vehicle specifically adapted to distribute feed for livestock, plant food or agricultural chemicals.

A self-propelled motor vehicle designed or adapted to primarily *transport* people or agriculture products is not a farm machine. For example, a flatbed truck modified solely with a hay spear/spike or a cube feeder of a size allowing the truck bed to be used for general purposes does not qualify for exemption.

A pick-up truck is taxable, even if it is registered with farm plates.

Farm trailer - A trailer or semitrailer designed and used at least 80 percent of the time as a farm or ranch vehicle. The term does not include a motor vehicle designed for people, including any vehicle designed for sleeping, dressing, lounging, restroom use or meal preparation, even though the vehicle might also be used to transport livestock or agricultural products.

Timber Exemption - Timber Machines and Timber Trailers

The retail sale of a timber machine or timber trailer is exempt from motor vehicle sales and use tax if it is used at least 80 percent of the time in timber operations.

Timber machine - A self-propelled motor vehicle specifically adapted to perform a specialized function for use primarily in timber operations, such as land preparation, planting, cultivating and harvesting commercial timber.

The term does not include crew vehicles, field service vehicles or self-propelled motor vehicles specially designed or adapted to transport timber or timber products, including those designed to transport cargo and adapted with a cargo-loading device.

Timber trailer - A trailer or semitrailer designed for and used at least 80 percent of the time in a timber operation.

Sellers/Dealers

You can accept this certificate in good faith at the time of purchase of qualifying motor vehicles if it is properly completed with an ag/timber number and its expiration date. You can also accept it as a blanket certificate covering qualifying purchases. You must keep this certificate at your place of business for at least four years from the sale date.

Purchasers

You must also claim exemption from motor vehicle sales and use tax on the TxDMV Application for Texas Title (Form 130-U) filed with the County Tax Assessor-Collector when you register or title the vehicle by providing a current ag/timber number issued in the name of the person or DBA in which the vehicle will be titled and registered.

For Assistance

If you have questions, contact the Comptroller's office at 1-800-252-1382, or go to www.comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/. Rule 3.72, *Trailers, Farm Machines, and Timber Machines*, explains the law and its provisions and is available on the Comptroller's website at www.comptroller.texas.gov.