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QUICK REFERENCE Helpful Information

Payment and Delivery

Texas law allows holders of unclaimed property to remit pay
ments in a number of ways: by check or electronically with an 
automated clearinghouse (ACH) debit or credit through the 
state’s automated payment system, TEXNET. Holders who 
remit more than $100,000 in unclaimed property are encour
aged to make their payments electronically.

-

-

Enrollment in the TEXNET Program is required prior to sending 
ACH payments. On-line enrollment can be found at comptroller.
texas.gov/up/report/money.php. The final day to enroll is June 
30th before 6 p.m. (CST) to meet the July 1 deadline. If you are 
already enrolled for unclaimed property, go to https://texnet.cpa.
state.tx.us, where you initiate your payment. Your remittance can 
be scheduled up to 30 days before your payment is due. The infor
mation is warehoused, and your funds are not transferred until the 
date you designate.

-

Missed Your TEXNET Payment Deadline?
When payment information for ACH debit transactions cannot 
be submitted before 6 p.m. (CST) on the bank business 
day before the due date, or when ACH credit with addenda 
transactions cannot be originated for settlement on the due 
date, you must use the following procedure to ensure a timely 
payment:

1.	 Call the Comptroller’s office to report payment informa
tion as early as possible on the payment due date by calling 
the TEXNET hotline at 1-800-531-5441, ext. 3-3010. 
This call is very important – without it, we will not have the 
necessary information to apply the payment to your unclaimed 
property account.

-

2.	 Instruct your financial institution to wire transfer your 
payment to:

Bank name: Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Routing #: 114900164
Account name: Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Account #: 883083001

The Comptroller of Public Accounts is the receiving bank,  
located in Austin, Texas. You must include your holder name 
and taxpayer identification number in the wire, as well as the 
name of a contact person and phone number.

http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/money.php
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/money.php
https://texnet.cpa.state.tx.us
https://texnet.cpa.state.tx.us
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Helpful Information QUICK REFERENCE

Checks should be made payable to:
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts - Unclaimed Property

Remittances should be mailed to:
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Unclaimed Property Division
P.O. Box 12019
Austin, Texas 78711-2019

Physical address for courier delivery of remittance:
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Unclaimed Property Division
111 E. 17th St. 
Austin, Texas 78774-0100

For questions or assistance, contact our Holder Reporting Section at:
up.holder@cpa.texas.gov
OR
1-800-321-2274, Option 2

Tangible Property Delivery
Deliver tangible property to:
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Unclaimed Property
208 E. 10th St., Room 232A
Austin, Texas 78701-2407

For tangible property questions or assistance, contact the Safe Deposit Box staff at:
unclaimed.auction@cpa.texas.gov
OR
1-800-531-5441, Ext. 3-0988

Forms List
The following forms are published in this manual and may be photocopied and used:
Holder Refund Request/Reimbursement Form – #53-116 – Page 5
Holder Claim Form Supplement – #53-117 – Page 6
Texas Unclaimed Property Payment Form – #53-119 – Page 29

mailto:unclaimed.auction%40cpa.texas.gov?subject=
mailto:up.holder@cpa.texas.gov
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QUICK REFERENCE Helpful Information

Using the Comptroller’s Website

Secure File Transfer Portal
https://mycpa.cpa.state.tx.us/unclpropholder/welcomeAction.do?action=Holder

Reporting Overview
comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/reporting-details.php

Download Software
comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/filing-report.php

Unclaimed Property Forms
comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-forms.php

Texas Quick Start Reporting Guide
comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-forms.php

TEXNET Enrollment
comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/money.php

Initiate ACH Debit or Credit (TEXNET)
https://texnet.cpa.state.tx.us

Unclaimed Property Statutes
comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-forms.php

Search for Property and File a Claim
comptroller.texas.gov/up/ or ClaimItTexas.org
Select Search Unclaimed Property

Online Express Reporting
comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/filing-report.php

https://mycpa.cpa.state.tx.us/unclpropholder/welcomeAction.do?action=Holder
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/reporting-details.php
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/filing-report.php
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-forms.php
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-forms.php
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/money.php
https://texnet.cpa.state.tx.us
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-forms.php
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/
http://ClaimItTexas.org
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/filing-report.php
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Chapter 1

General Information
Unclaimed Property Defined

Unclaimed property can be any financial asset that has been 
abandoned by the owner for periods of time ranging from one 
to 15 years. The abandonment period is the number of years that 
you hold the property before sending it to the Texas Comptroller 
of Public Accounts. The property type determines the length of 
the abandonment period. 

Title 6 of the Texas Property Code governs the State of Texas 
Unclaimed Property Program. Chapters 72 through 75 apply 
to the reporting, delivery and claims processes for abandoned 
property. Chapter 76 applies only to unclaimed property held 
and reported by Texas counties, municipalities, independent 
school districts and junior colleges.

Reporting Methods

Title 34 § 13.21 of the Texas Administrative Code states that 
property reports must be submitted to the Comptroller’s office 
in the required format via one of the approved online submission 
methods. Submission of data on CDs or diskettes is no longer 
permitted. This rule can be referenced at www.sos.state.tx.us/tac.

Report delivery methods:

• Online express reporting
• Secure file transfer portal

Texas uses the electronic reporting format developed by the 
National Association of Unclaimed Property Administrators 
(NAUPA2). Files transmitted through the secure file transfer 
portal must be in this format. 

Unclaimed Property Reporting Software 
and Internet Filing
Your report can be created using any commercial reporting sys
tem that generates the file in the NAUPA2 format. 

-

Our office offers free software to assist you in creating your 
report. The software can be downloaded from comptroller.texas.
gov/up/report/filing-report.php. After installing the software, 
enter your unclaimed property records directly into the applica
tion. The software also includes templates for importing your 
data from a spreadsheet or other source, saving you entry time 
and reducing errors. The user’s guide can be accessed by clicking 
on any of the help buttons throughout the application.

-

During the submission process, this system automatically opens 
your web browser and directs you to the webpage Unclaimed Prop
erty Secure Holder Reporting. Complete the form and click Continue 
to go to the Unclaimed Property Secure Holder File Upload page, 
where you will locate and upload your file. Holders using other 
unclaimed property software should transmit their file through our 
website by selecting secure file transfer at 

-

comptroller.texas.gov/up/
report/filing-report.php. After the transmission is complete, you 
will receive a message assigning a confirmation number to your 
report. This confirmation number must be included with your 

Common types of unclaimed property include:

• Payroll (one-year abandonment period)
• Uncashed dividend or cashier’s checks (three years)
• Stocks, bonds, mutual fund accounts (three years)
• Utility deposits (one year)
• Stored value cards (three years)
• Bank accounts and matured certificates of deposit 

(three years)
 

• Safe deposit box contents (five years)
• Insurance proceeds (three years)
• Demutualization proceeds (one year)
• Mineral interests or royalty payments (three years)
• Court deposits, trust funds, escrow accounts (three years)
• Money orders (three years)
• Traveler’s checks (15 years)

Section 74.101 of the Texas Property Code requires all financial 
institutions, businesses, governmental entities and organiza
tions that are holding unclaimed property belonging to Texas 
residents to file an unclaimed property report with the Comp
troller’s office by July 1 of each year. Organizations that have 
determined they are not holding abandoned property are not 
required to file a negative report.

-

-

http://www.sos.state.tx.us/tac
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/filing-report.php
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/filing-report.php
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/filing-report.php
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/filing-report.php
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payment, whether by check, wire or ACH debit/credit. If the 
transmission fails, a message displays indicating there was a prob
lem. If your transmission continues to fail, please contact the Hold
er Reporting Section at 1-800-321-2274, option 2 for assistance.

-
-

Using the software requires an IBM-compatible PC with at least 
a 166 Mhz (300 Mhz recommended) running Windows NT 
or higher. The minimum memory requirements are 64 MB of 
RAM and 40 MB of hard drive space.

To order the program software on a CD, contact us by email at 
up.holder@cpa.texas.gov or call our Holder Reporting Section at 
1-800-321-2274, Option 2.

Online Express Reporting
The online express reporting system allows holders to enter 
unclaimed property reports directly into this web-based application. 
This method does not require you to download and install software, 
and no IT staff support is necessary. Most report data are available 
to owners as soon as your payment is verified.

After registering for a password protected account, the owner data 
is entered into a secure environment and then submitted when 
the report is completed. After the submission is complete, you 
will receive a message assigning a confirmation number to your 
report. This confirmation number must be included with your 
payment, whether you pay by check, wire or ACH debit/credit.

You may apply for a User ID and password at  
comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/filing-report.php.

Your Responsibilities as a Holder

Filing Deadlines and Extensions
Section 74.101 of the Texas Property Code sets the deadline for fil
ing your report and remitting your property is July 1 of every year.

-

Unclaimed property should not be reported until it has reached 
the required abandonment period, as of March 1 each year. You 
must hold property until the appropriate abandonment period 
has expired and include it in your next remittance to the state (see 
Pages 33-34 for property type codes and abandonment periods).

Property that is due July 1 may be remitted any time after the 
annual cutoff date of March 1. Prompt filing allows us to pro
cess and upload reports so that rightful owners can claim their 
property. Refer to page 3 for information concerning interest 
and penalties on late reporting. 

-

Customer Contact

Under Section 72.101(a) of the Texas Property Code and Title 
34 § 13.3 of the Texas Administrative code, there are two 

criteria for reporting property as abandoned: 

1. The property has remained unclaimed for the applicable 
abandonment period and 

2. The owner has not communicated, in writing or otherwise, 
regarding the property during the abandonment period.

The fact that mail is not returned to you by the post office does 
not, by itself, qualify as contact with the owner. When reviewing 
your records for abandoned property, look for the last docu
mented communication or other contact with the owner or 
the last debit or credit generated by the owner on any property, 
not merely the property that is inactive. Contact with the owner 
may be established by mail, email, accessing an online account or 
by phone. In order to establish knowledge of owner communica
tion, it is recommended that phone contact be documented in 
writing with the date and time of the conversation.

-

-

Notice by Property Holder Required
Section 74.1011 of the Texas Property Code requires holders to 
mail a notice to all owners of property valued at more than $250 
that is due to be included in their annual report. The written 
notice must be mailed no later than May 1. If owners claim their 
property prior to remitting your report, please remember to delete 
their records from your list of reportable property before filing your 
annual report.

•	 The notice requirement does not apply to a holder that has 
already mailed a letter to the missing owner earlier in the 
abandonment period.

•	 If mail has been returned to you by the post office as a 
result of a previous mailing, a second notice to the last-
known address is not required.

•	 A notice is not required if you do not have a record of an 
address.

•	 You are not required to mail notices to property owners 
entitled to $250 or less.

•	 You may deduct the postage costs from the cash amount 
owed to the missing owner. Holders using commercial 
software products for creating their report in the NAUPA 
2 format should enter deduction code MC for mailing 
cost in the deduction type field and the actual postage 
cost in the amount deducted field. The net amount due 
the owner should be entered in the amount remitted field.
Holders using the Texas reporting software system will 
enter the postage deduction amount, and the software will 

 

http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/filing-report.php
mailto: up.holder@cpa.texas.gov
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calculate the amount remitted field. The application will 
only permit deductions on amounts exceeding $250.

•	 Deductions for postage may not be made against property 
amounts that are $250 or less.

•	 Postage deductions must be subtracted from each owner’s 
property balance. A single postage deduction from your 
report total is not permitted.

A sample letter on Page 9 can be modified to describe the spe
cific type of property you are holding. Texas Property Code Sec
tion 74.1011(a) requires that you include the following language 
in your letter to the owner:

-
-

1.	 You, the holder (insert company name), are holding the 
property; and

2.	 You, the holder (insert company name), may be required 
to deliver the property to the Comptroller’s office on or 
before July 1 if the property is not claimed.

We encourage you to make efforts to locate owners early in the 
abandonment period. The only property you should remit to 
Texas is that for which there has been no contact with the own
ers as defined in the Texas Administrative Code Title 34 § 13.3.

-

Aggregate Reporting of Property 
Less Than $25

 

Section 74.101(d) allows holders to report individual owner 
records of less than $25 value in the aggregate. You may combine 
any amounts under $25 by property type and provide a single 
total for each property type. Do not combine different property 
types into one aggregate record. Mineral interests must never 
be aggregated.

The property type code used on an aggregate record should 
always end in “99” (e.g., AC99 or IN99). In the description 
field of an aggregate record, list the number of properties that 
you combined for the aggregate entry and the property type. 
For example, an AC99 record with “15 AC01” entered in the 
description field indicates 15 checking accounts are aggregated 
on one record.

If an owner files a claim for an amount less than $25 which you 
reported in the aggregate, our office may contact you for verifica
tion that the owner’s property was included in your aggregate total.

-

Though allowed by statute, aggregated property omits individual 
owner names. Without owner names, it is very difficult for Comp
troller staff and owners to locate their property. For this reason, 
aggregating property is discouraged.

-

Retention of Records
Section 74.013 of the Texas Property Code Section requires all 
holders to retain unclaimed property records for 10 years after 
the property was reportable. You may be contacted by Comp
troller staff to verify previously reported information.

-

It is also important that you keep records of owners’ last known 
addresses, even though the post office may have returned their 
mail. The information could later be used to assist claimants 
in verifying ownership of their property if the addresses are 
included on your report.

Provide Your Tax ID and Current Address
We encourage you to keep our office advised of your current 
address and any changes related to the contact person, depart
ment or branch responsible for filing your reports. Your con
tact information should also include a telephone number and 
email address. All correspondence should include your Federal 
Employer Identification Number (FEIN).

-
-

Interest and Penalty on Late Remittances
Sections 74.705 and 74.706 of the Texas Property Code provide 
that a person who fails to pay or deliver property on time shall pay 
interest and penalty from the date the property should have been 
paid until the date it is received in our office. Interest and penalty 
for late filing is based on the date the property is delivered to our 
office. It is recommended that you file a report immediately if you 
determine you are holding property that should have been delivered 
in previous years. The Comptroller’s office will calculate the interest 
and penalty for you and forward a bill for any amount owed.

Filing for Reimbursements 
and Refunds

 

Section 74.502 of the Texas Property Code allows holders to 
pay previously reported owners and request reimbursement for 
payment of that claim from the Comptroller’s office. In the 
past, this has been referred to as a holder reimbursement request 
or holder refund request. In order to simplify and expedite 
payments back to the holder, these two processes have been 
merged into one. The holder refund request Form #53-116 
has been updated and has replaced the holder reimbursement Form 
#53-115. The holder claim form Supplement #53-117 for multiple 
requests has not changed. Claim form supplement #53-130 has 
been added for multiple requests involving shares of securities. 
These forms can be found on our website at 

 

comptroller.texas.gov/
up/report/holder-forms.php.

http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-forms.php
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-forms.php
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If the payment is going to an address different than the one you 
filed on your holder report form, make sure that you have in-
cluded your authority to act.

Please email the completed form to unclaimed.property@cpa.
texas.gov or fax it to 1-888-908-9991.

Assisting Claimants

Once property has been delivered to the state, the Texas Property 
Code does not impose a time limit by which the owners must 
file a claim for property return. The option also exists for you 
to pay claimants directly and then file for reimbursement by the 
Comptroller’s office.

To provide the quickest return of owner’s funds and to avoid the 
owner paying the 1.5 percent processing fee, please consider the 
refund/reimbursement option. Refer to the section above, Filing 
for Reimbursements and Refunds, for more information.

When the reimbursement/refund process is not appropriate, 
please direct potential claimants to contact our office for a claim 
form. NOTE: We cannot provide claim forms to third parties. 
We must deal directly with the claimant.

Call or write:

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Unclaimed Property Research Section
P.O. Box 12046
Austin, Texas 78711-2046
1-800-321-2274, option 1

Verifying Ownership
The Comptroller’s office is committed to processing and pay
ing all unclaimed property claims as soon as possible. Section 
74.501 of the Texas Property Code requires claimants to provide 
sufficient proof and documentation to substantiate ownership 
and entitlement to payment. Proof provided by claimants is 
compared with owner information and property descriptions 
provided by you, the reporting company or institution.

-

All available information that identifies owners and properties 
that you can list will help us avoid contacting you during the 
claims process. Social Security numbers, last known addresses 
and property descriptions are three of the most common items 
used to verify ownership during the claims process and are 
required to be reported under Section 74.101 of the Texas Prop
erty Code.

-

mailto:unclaimed.property%40cpa.texas.gov?subject=
mailto:unclaimed.property%40cpa.texas.gov?subject=
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53-116
(Rev.3-16/5)

Texas Unclaimed Property Division

Holder Refund and Reimbursement Request Form

Comptroller of Public Accounts
Unclaimed Property Division, Research and Correspondence Section
P.O. Box 12046
Austin, TX  78711-2046

If you have any questions regarding this form, call 1-800-321-2274 or 512-463-3040. 
Our FAX number is 1-888-908-9991 or 512-936-6224.

Under Ch. 559, Government Code, you are entitled to review, request and correct information we have on file about you, with limited exceptions in accordance with Ch. 552, 
Government Code. To request information for review or to request error correction, contact us at the address or phone number listed on this form.

Holder Information:
Holder name Tax ID number

Email address FAX number (Area code and number)

 ( )

Mailing address

City State ZIP code

Department Phone (Area code and number) Extension

 ( )

Report year Report amount Property type code Aggregate Property amount

 Yes No
Owner name as indicated on report

Owner address Reason for request

Property description

Property Information: Property #1 * for additional properties, use Form 53-117 (cash) or 53-130 (shares)

Upon payment by the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts of the reimbursement/refund requested here,  

________________________________________________ agrees to indemnify and hold harmless the Comptroller, 
 COMPANY NAME

its employees and agents from all losses, suits, actions or claims arising from or related to any other party who  

hereafter asserts or attempts to establish a right to payment of the requested funds.
 

 Date

Print name Title

Indemnification and Affidavit of Officer

Paid owner directly
(Proof of payment attached)

Reported in error
(Explanation attached) 

CLEAR FORM PRINT FORM

http://comptroller.texas.gov/taxinfo/taxforms/53-116.pdf
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53-117 
(Rev.10-15/2)

Texas Unclaimed Property Division

Holder Claim Supplement (Cash)
Use with Holder Refund and Reimbursement Request, Form 53-116, for reporting two or more properties

Holder Information:
Holder name Tax ID number

Report year Report amount Property type code Aggregate Property amount

 Yes No
Owner name as indicated on report Reason for request

Property description

Report year Report amount Property type code Aggregate Property amount

 Yes No
Owner name as indicated on report Reason for request

Property description

Report year Report amount Property type code Aggregate Property amount

 Yes No
Owner name as indicated on report Reason for request

Property description

Report year Report amount Property type code Aggregate Property amount

 Yes No
Owner name as indicated on report Reason for request

Property description

Report year Report amount Property type code Aggregate Property amount

 Yes No
Owner name as indicated on report Reason for request

Property description

Property Information: 

Property Information: 

Property Information: 

Property Information: 

Property Information: 

 Will pay owner directly

 Was reported in error

 Will pay owner directly

 Was reported in error

 Will pay owner directly

 Was reported in error

 Will pay owner directly

 Was reported in error

 Will pay owner directly

 Was reported in error

Under Ch. 559, Government Code, you are entitled to review, request and correct information we have on file about you, with limited exceptions in accordance with Ch. 552, 
Government Code. To request information for review or to request error correction, contact us at the address or phone number listed on this form.

CLEAR FORM PRINT FORM

http://comptroller.texas.gov/taxinfo/taxforms/53-117.pdf
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Property-Specific Reporting
Reporting Uncashed Checks and 
Other Amounts Owed

 

Wages and Uncashed Checks
Sectin 72.1015 of the Texas Property Code sets a one-year 
unclaimed wages abandonment period. The one-year period 
applies to all methods of payroll distribution including checks 
and payroll cards.

All other types of uncashed checks are considered unclaimed prop
erty after a period of three years (Section 72.101, Texas Property 
Code). The abandonment period commences on the date of last 
contact with the payee or the check issue date. If an actual check was 
not issued, use the date the amount was first payable to the owner. 
Reissuing a check does not change the date it should be remitted 
to the Comptroller’s office, as that does not constitute contact with 
the owner as defined by Title 34 § 13.3 of the Texas Administrative 
Code. The abandonment period still begins on the original date the 
amount was owed to the missing owner.

-

Credit Balances
Credit balances that may or may not have been reduced to check 
form are also reportable as unclaimed property under Section 
72.101 of the Texas Property Code. The period of abandonment 
for this property type is three years and commences on the date 
of last contact with the company or individual. Balances owed to 
current customers should not be reported. However, if you have 
lost contact with customers, use the test on this page to deter
mine if the credit balances should be included in your report. 
Please note that Texas has no statutory provisions that exempt 
reporting of unclaimed business-to-business credits.

-

Rebates and Discounts
Rebates and discounts that have not been refunded to customers 
are another type of unclaimed property with a three-year aban
donment period. However, if the consumer never completes the 
requirements necessary to receive payment (e.g., submits their 
request with a sales receipt by a specific date), the rebate or dis
count would not be considered unclaimed property.

-

-

Other Amounts Owed
All other types of personal property, which include accounts 
payable items, have a three-year abandonment period. Uncashed 
vendor checks are the type most often reported. Texas Property 
Code does not have an express provision that exempts business-
to-business credits, but balances owed to current vendors should 
not be reported. You should only report those vendors with 
which you have had no contact for three years.

The other amounts owed category also includes, but is not 
limited to, uncashed expense checks, customer overpayments, 
unrefunded overcharges and any other miscellaneous outstand
ing checks. 

-

For your July 1 report, use the following test to determine 
if a property is reportable: (As of the immediate past March 1)

 

1. The property has remained unclaimed for at least three 
years (one year if wages).

2. The owner has not communicated, in writing or otherwise, 
regarding the property during the abandonment period.

Owner contact may be established by mail, email, accessing an 
online account or by phone. Telephone calls, however, should be 
documented in a log that states the dates and times you spoke 
directly with the payee (Texas Administrative Code Title 34 
§13.3).

Mail Not Returned by Post Office
Texas Administrative Code Title 34 §13.3 states that mail not 
returned to you by the post office does not, by itself, qualify as 
contact with that owner or activity on the account. When review
ing your records for abandoned property, look for the last docu
mented communication with the owner. Contact with the owner 
may be established by mail, email, accessing an online account 
or phone. Phone contact must be documented in writing and 
include the date and time of the conversation.

-
-
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-

Property Type Codes and 
Property Descriptions

 

Texas Administrative Code Title 34 §13.21 requires that property 
be submitted to the Comptroller’s offfice in the NAUPA2 format. 
Select the property type code from Pages 33-34 that best 
describes the original property of the missing owner when 
preparing your report. Use the miscellaneous outstanding 
check code (MS16) only as a last resort when the nature of the 
uncashed check is truly unknown.

 

The list of property types below 
describes some of the more common 
types of unclaimed checks and 
miscellaneous amounts you may be 
holding for missing owners. 

Cashier’s checks (CK01) (For financial institutions only)

CD interest checks (CK16) (For financial institutions only)

Refunds due (MS11)

Royalty payments (MI02)

Customer overpayments (MS05)

Utility refunds (UT03)

Dividends (SC01, TR02)

Accounts payable (MS08)

Insurance claim payments (IN01, IN02)

Wages; commissions (MS01, MS02)

Insurance death benefits (IN03)

Payment for goods or services (MS04)

Pension checks (CK11)

Stored value cards (MS12)

Please refer to the table that begins on Page 37 for the  
specific information required in the description field for 
each property type.

Due Diligence Letter for Amounts 
Greater than $250
Under Section 74.1011 of the Texas Property Code, due dili
gence is a requirement on unclaimed property valued at more 
than $250. Holders must mail a written notice to the owner, no 
later than May 1 before remitting property to the Comptroller’s 
office the following July. 

We encourage you to make efforts to locate owners early in the 
abandonment period. The only property you should remit is that 
for which the whereabouts of the owners are truly unknown.

Refer to Chapter 1 for requirements regarding due diligence. 
The sample letter below can be modified to describe the specific 
type of property you are holding.
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Glenn Hegar 

Public Accounts
Texas Comptroller of 

FOR MORE INFORMATION,  
VISIT OUR WEBSITE AT

Comptroller.Texas.Gov.

CONTACT US

up.holder@cpa.texas.gov

OR CALL 
HOLDER REPORTING SECTION

1-800-321-2274, 
option 2.

M A R C H  2 0 1 6

Sample Due Diligence Letter –
General Purpose

Holders are required to mail a notice by May 1 to all owners of properties over $250 that are due to be included in
their July report. The following is an example of a due diligence notice that can be modified to describe the specific 
type of unclaimed property you are holding. 

As required by Texas Property Code Sec. 74.1011 (a), you must include the following information in your due 
diligence notice: 

1. You, the holder (insert company name), are holding the property; and

2.  You, the holder (insert company name), may be required to deliver the property to the Texas State Comptroller on
or before July 1 if the property is not claimed.

EL
M

P
AS

Date

Missing Owner Name
Missing Owner Last-Known Address
City in Texas, Texas  77000

Our records show that we, XYZ Company, are holding unclaimed property that may belong to 
you. We also have not had direct contact with you since mm/dd/yyyy. The check or identifying 
number for the $ 0,000.00 we are holding is Nbr. 123456 and the item is dated mm/dd/yyyy.

Under Texas state law, we will be required to deliver this property to the Texas Comptroller  
of Public Accounts, on or before July 1 if the property is not claimed. Please complete the 
information below and return this letter to XYZ Company no later than mm/dd/yyyy, so that 
we may meet our unclaimed property reporting obligations. Do not forget to sign and date 
your response.

_____ I am entitled to the above referenced property. Please issue a new check and mail to 
the following address: _____________________________

_____________________________
_____________________________

_____ I am not entitled to the above referenced funds or these funds have already been 
paid to me.

 

_ I am aware of these funds and choose not to claim them at the present time.

_ Please change the address on my account to: _______________________________
_______________________________
_______________________________

____

____

________________________________ _________
Owner signature Date signed

Your response is appreciated. Please contact us at (999) 999-9999 if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

XYZ Company

Publication #98-904 • Revised Mar. 2016

http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/pdf/98-904.pdf
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Property Reported by 
Financial Institutions

Financial institutions include banks, savings and loans, state 
credit unions and federal credit unions. Organizations such 
as federal land banks or personal finance companies are not 
included in this group for the purposes of this chapter.

Abandonment Periods
Property reportable by financial institutions has abandonment 
periods ranging from one to five years.

Abandonment 
Period Property Type

One-Year 
Property:

Wages have an abandonment period of one 
year.

Three Year 
Property:

Includes, but is not limited to

• all types of checking and savings 
accounts,

• matured certificates of deposit, 
• money orders and most types of 

uncashed checks, 
• trust-related properties, investment and 

escrow accounts, 
• all types of securities-related properties, 
• sums payable under pension and profit-

sharing plans, 
• safekeeping properties,
• loan collateral, and 
• miscellaneous types of unclaimed 

property such as accounts payable checks 
and unidentified deposits.

Five Year 
Property:

Abandoned safe deposit box contents.

Customer Contact and Holder Notice 
Requirements
Section 72.101 of the Texas Property Code and Title 34 §13.3 of 
the Texas Administrative Code set forth two criteria for property 
to be reported as abandoned: no customer contact during the 
applicable abandonment period and no claim on the property  
for the applicable abandonment period.

Stay in touch with all of your customers, regardless of their 
account balances or the value of their unclaimed property. When 
there has been no documented contact or owner generated activ
ity for one year, consider mailing confirmation letters at the 
beginning of the abandonment period. Refer to the sample letter 
on page 11. It can be easily adapted for use with other property 
types such as safe deposit box contents, certificates of deposit or 
securities-related property.

-

If customers respond to your letters, you are excused from 
reporting their property and the abandonment periods start 
over on the date of their response. Deposit accounts may not 
be service-charged unless you have had contact with the owners 
during the past year.

You are required to mail due diligence letters on all types of 
unclaimed property valued at more than $250. The letters must 
be mailed no later than May 1 before remitting the property in 
July. Refer to Chapter 1 for requirements regarding due dili
gence. The sample letter on Page 11 can be modified to describe 
the specific type of property you are reporting. For unclaimed 
checks and other miscellaneous types of unclaimed property, 
refer to the sample letter on page 9. Remember, the notice 
requirement does not apply if you have already mailed a letter 
to the missing owner or when the property value is $250 or 
less. Deductions for postage may only be made against property 
amounts exceeding $250.

-

Mail Not Returned by Post Office
Under the Texas Administrative Code Title 34 § 13.3, the fact 
that mail is not returned to you by the post office does not, 
by itself, qualify as contact with that owner or activity on the 
account. When reviewing your records for abandoned property, 
look for the last documented communication with the owner or 
the last debit or credit generated by the owner on any account 
or safe deposit box, not merely an account that is inactive. Con
tact with the owner may be established by mail, email, accessing 
an online account or phone. Phone contact should be docu
mented in writing with the date and time of the conversation.

-

-
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M A R C H  2 0 1 6

Sample Due Diligence Letter –
Financial Institutions

Texas Comptroller of 
Public Accounts

Glenn Hegar 

 

Holders are required to mail a notice by May 1 to all owners of properties over $250 that are due to be included
in their July report. The following is an example of a due diligence notice that can be used for bank accounts, safe 
deposit box contents and certificates of deposit. 

As required by Texas Property Code Sec. 74.1011 (a), you must include the following information in your due 
diligence notice: 

1. You, the holder (insert company name), are holding the property; and

2. You, the holder (insert company name), will be required to deliver the property to the Texas State Comptroller on
or before July 1 if the property is not claimed

SA
M

PL
E

Date

Missing Owner Name
Missing Owner Last-Known Address
City in Texas, Texas  77000

It is the policy of Any Town Bank to review and update our account records periodically. Our 
last record of activity by you on your account Nbr. 12345 was on mm/dd/yyyy. It has also been 
more than a year since we have had direct contact with you.

Please complete the information below and return this letter to Any Town Bank no later than 
mm/dd/yyyy, so that we may meet our unclaimed property reporting obligations. Do not forget 
to sign and date your response.

_____ The address listed above is correct and I am aware of the account.

_____ Please change the account address to read as follows: 
 _______________________________
 _______________________________
 _______________________________

_____ I wish to close the account. Please send a check for the close-out amount to:
 _______________________________
 _______________________________
 _______________________________

________________________________ _________
 Owner signature   Date signed

Under Texas state law, we will be required to deliver this property as unclaimed to the Texas 
Comptroller of Public Accounts. If we do not hear from you and the account continues to show 
no owner-generated activity, your property will be submitted to the Comptroller on or before 
July 1, _____.

Your response is appreciated. Please contact us at (999) 999-9999 or visit us in person at the 
bank if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Any Town Bank

FOR MORE INFORMATION, 
VISIT OUR WEBSITE AT

Comptroller.Texas.Gov.

CONTACT US

up.holder@cpa.texas.gov

OR CALL 
HOLDER REPORTING SECTION

1-800-321-2274, 
option 2.

Publication #98-903 • Revised Mar. 2016

http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/pdf/98-903.pdf
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Other Methods of Verifying 
Whereabouts of Owners

 

Before mailing confirmation letters, remember there are other 
methods by which you may document your knowledge of the 
whereabouts of owners even though there has been no owner-
generated activity, such as letters or phone calls initiated by 
the owners. If your institution maintains any type of customer 
profile record for each account holder, the field for last contact 
date should be protected with very limited access. Designated 
employees should be notified in writing of current contact and 
be responsible for updating as appropriate.

Customer profiles that are properly updated and main
tained are your best documentation of contact. 

-

Contact or activity on any one account should update the 
last contact date on all accounts.

Other methods the Comptroller’s office recognizes are:

•	 Cross referencing of your records to show that the indi
viduals have other active accounts with your institution if 
customer profiles are not available

-

•	 Signed W-9 Forms, change-of-address notices or other 
correspondence

•	 A telephone log that states the dates and times you spoke 
directly with the account owners

•	 ACH debits or credits generated by the owner

•	 Contact with the owner established by mail, email, accessing 
an online account or by phone. Phone contact should be 
documented in writing and include the date and time of the 
conversation.

Internal credits (e.g., for certificates of deposit interest) or debits 
(e.g., for safe deposit box rent) generated by your institution are 
not sufficient for verification of owner activity.

Remember: If you have had contact with the owners, do 
not report them.

Certificates of Deposit
Section 73.101 of the Texas Property Code provides that the 
period of abandonment for matured certificates of deposit is 
three years. The abandonment period begins on the day follow
ing the first maturity of the certificates – that is, the day follow
ing the end of the first term. Thus, abandoned certificates of 
deposit must be reported three years from the dates the owners 
were first able to recover the funds without penalties.

-
-

For certificates of deposit to be considered abandoned, there 
must not be any customer contact for three years. If owners of 
certificates of deposit have other active accounts with your insti
tution, or you have other contact with them, do not report or 
remit their certificates.

-

To facilitate your review of certificates of deposit for possible 
abandonment, a report should be generated listing all certificates 
with a first maturity date three years prior to the cutoff date of 
March 1 of that year. Various resources can be used to verify the 
last contact date with the customer. Refer to the previous section  
for suggestions.

If none of these resources record current contact, due diligence 
letters must be mailed to the customers if the value of the cer
tificate of deposit is more than $250. Slight modifications to the 
letter on Page 11 should be made to alter the account type and 
the period of no contact. The letters should be mailed, ideally, 
in early March to allow ample time for your customers to reply.

-

The due date for unclaimed property reporting is July 1 of each 
year. We recommend your list of customers with whom no con-
tact has been reestablished be relayed to the person responsible 
for preparing your institution’s report by June 1 (or whenever an 
internal deadline is set). All the information that you can provide 
for each customer will assist in verifying ownership when a claim 
is generated. Their name (including all additional owner names), 
last known address, Social Security number and the CD number 
must be included as required by Section 74.101 of the Texas 
Property Code.

When reporting automatically renewable certificates of deposit, 
you may hold the funds until the next maturity.

NOTE: Automatically renewable certificates of 
deposit have the same reporting criteria as other 
certificates of deposit. If you have had no contact with 
the owner for three years from the day following the first 
maturity, the certificates should be remitted. Depositing 
the CD interest in another account that has no activity or 
the non-return of interest checks by the post office does not 
constitute contact.

REMEMBER: If owners of certificates of deposit have other 
active accounts with your institution, or you have other 
contact with them, do not report or remit their certificates.

Individual Retirement Accounts
Individual retirement accounts (IRAs) have an abandonment 
period of three years, which begins on the mandatory distribu
tion date of the required minimum distribution (RMD). Under 
federal law, the mandatory distribution date is April 1 of the 

-
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calendar year following the calendar year in which the owner of 
the IRA reaches age 70½.

Any traditional IRAs unclaimed for more than three years from 
the mandatory distribution date, as of March 1, should be 
included on the July 1 report. If an event, such as death of an 
owner, occurs prior to the owner reaching age 70½, commence 
the abandonment period from the date of the owner’s death, if 
the existence or whereabouts of any beneficiaries is unknown to 
you.

Roth IRAs are usually not reportable because the owners are 
never required to take mandatory distributions at any age during 
their lifetime. However, if an owner fails to cash a distribution, 
the three-year abandonment period would begin on the date the 
amount was payable.

If the owner of a Roth IRA is deceased, federal tax laws generally 
require that the funds be distributed to the beneficiaries no later 
than the end of the fifth year following the owner’s death. If the 
whereabouts of any beneficiaries is unknown to you, commence 
the abandonment period from the date of the owner’s death.

Corporate Trust Property and 
Paying Agent Accounts

 

Separate reports must be filed for each issue of stock, and each
issuing company’s FEIN must be provided. This requirement 
does not apply to bearer bonds, which may be combined on one 
report using your institution’s tax ID.

 

All other requirements for reporting securities-related prop
erty should be followed. Refer to Pages 21-25 for complete 
instructions.

-

Unclaimed Loan Collateral
Unclaimed loan collateral has an abandonment period of three 
years. This period begins on the date the loan was paid in full. 

There are two criteria for collateral to be reported as abandoned:

1. The loan has been paid in full or charged off and

2. There has been no customer contact for three years.

Each time collateral in the vault is physically inventoried and 
matched to the collateral file receipts, items that cannot be 
matched to an unpaid loan should be identified. These items 
should be audited for the time span from payoff date. Letters 
should be mailed to the customers, reminding them to collect 
their collateral. The sample letter on Page 11 can be modified 

to serve this purpose. Any items not retrieved are reportable as 
unclaimed property after the three-year abandonment period 
has passed. If a customer has other active accounts at your 
institution or responds to the notification letter, their property 
should not be reported. Refer to Page 12 for other acceptable 
methods you may use to document your knowledge of the 
whereabouts of owners.

Your records should be reviewed for unclaimed collateral as of 
March 1 each year; the report is due each July 1. Therefore, 
your cross referencing for other active accounts and notification 
efforts should be completed by June 1 to provide ample time for 
preparing the unclaimed property report.

When reporting unclaimed loan collateral, two property type 
codes are available. Select property code SD04 for tangible prop
erty set aside for a loan. Examples of tangible collateral are jewelry, 
stock certificates, deeds, etc. All requirements for reporting and 
remitting safe deposit or safekeeping property must be followed. 
Refer to Page 14 for instructions.

-

Loan collateral that will be remitted as cash should be coded 
with property code MS13. Examples of cash loan collateral are 
savings accounts, certificates of deposit, etc. 

The following information is needed in the description field 
when reporting MS13 loan collateral:

•	 Collateral receipt number
•	 Loan number
•	 Description of collateral (e.g., issuing bank and certificate 

number for certificate of deposit; bank name and account 
number for bank account).

The person or entity that pledged the loan collateral should be 
listed as the owner of the property. If the loan was in the name 
of a person or entity other than the owner of the collateral, enter 
the loan name in the description field of the report.

NOTE: For charged-off or defaulted loans, any amount of 
money received for the collateral that exceeded the amount 
of the unpaid loan must be remitted to the Comptroller’s 
office.



14 Unclaimed Property Reporting Instructions

CHAPTER 2 Property-Specific Reporting

Reporting Safe Deposit Boxes 
and Safekeeping Property

 

Per Section 73.101 of the Texas Property Code, safe deposit box 
contents held by depositories that have remained unclaimed by 
the owners for five years should be reported on July 1 of every 
year. Safekeeping properties, loan collateral and any other tan
gible properties not held in safe deposit boxes should be reported 
after remaining unclaimed for three years.

-

The three-or-five year abandonment periods commence on 
the date of last contact with the property owners.

Safe deposit box contents
Calculate five years from the date the last rental payments 
expired (i.e., the rental payment then due went unpaid).

Unclaimed loan collateral
Calculate three years from the dates the loans were paid in full 
and the collateral was returnable to the borrowers.

Safekeeping properties
Calculate three years from the dates of last contact with the 
owners.

REMEMBER: If the owners have other active accounts at 
your institution or there is other evidence of contact, do 
not report their property, even though the abandonment 
criteria are met.

NOTE: All boxes should be drilled and inventoried prior to 
preparing your report. 

Do not forward safe deposit box contents, safekeeping 
properties, tangible loan collateral or inventory sheets with 
your July 1 report.

You will be assigned a delivery date and will receive a notice 
approximately 30 days before your scheduled date. Be sure to 
include an email address with your report. The delivery notice 
may be sent via email.

Preparing Your Report
Texas Administrative Code Title 34 §13.1 requires safe deposit 
box contents or safekeeping property to be reported electroni
cally. The report must include the names and addresses of the 
missing owners, the total face value of all U.S. cash and the box 
number or safekeeping receipt number. Refer to pages 1 and 2 for 
more information on electronic reporting, or visit our website at 

-

 
comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/filing-report.php.

NOTE: If box contents from multiple branches are being 
reported by a central location, all of the contents must be 
shipped together from that central location. The shipment 
may include multiple packages. 

Inventories and Delivery of Property
The property of each owner must be packaged in an envelope. The 
inventory sheet should be attached to the outside of the envelope. 
The outside of each envelope should have the property owner’s 
name and the box number (or safekeeping receipt number). Please 
use forms 53-127 and 53-129 when sending in your contents. 
These can be found on pages 16-17 and are accessible on our 
website at comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-forms.php.

Complete an inventory sheet for each owner by entering the 
quantity in the applicable categories listed on the next page. 
Please follow the specified guidelines for each category.

http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/filing-report.php
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-forms.php
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Guidelines for Inventory Categories
Category Guidelines

Papers Do not itemize papers of no value.

Military Discharge Papers 
and Wills

Both should be originals. Wills should be signed.

U.S. Cash Include the face value of all U.S. coins and currency in the box or safekeeping envelope.  
Do not send checks in lieu of actual cash. Do not run coins through a counting machine.

Foreign Coins Country of origin or face value is not required.

Foreign Currency Country of origin or face value is not required.

Rings The description of each item is not required.

Bracelets The description of each item is not required.

Necklaces/Pendants The description of each item is not required.

Earrings The description of each item is not required.

Pins The description of each item is not required.

Wrist Watches/Pocket 
Watches

The description of each item is not required.

Savings Bonds Include the face value and the quantity of all bonds in the box.

Securities Securities category includes stock certificates, interest coupons, etc. When describing securities-related 
properties, include the registered owners’ names and names of the security issuers.

Miscellaneous Items Include a brief description of any items that do not fall into the above categories. This could include 
firearms and/or controlled substances that will require special handling. You must contact your local 
law enforcement agency if firearms or controlled substances are found in safe deposit boxes. Firearms 
must NOT be sent to the Comptroller’s office until police have unloaded the weapons. Your local law 
enforcement agency should confiscate any controlled substances and any live ammunition. DO NOT 
send these items to the Comptroller’s office. Include a letter with the inventory sheets, explaining that 
these items were found but turned over to your local law enforcement agency.

Please account for all properties reported in July. If an owner is reported and customer contact is made before the delivery date, include 
an updated owner listing or letter with your delivery, stating the property was returned to the owner.

Mail or deliver tangible property to: For questions or assistance, contact Safe Deposit Box staff at:

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Unclaimed Property
208 E. 10th St., Room 232A
Austin, Texas 78701-2407

unclaimed.auction@cpa.texas.gov or 1-800-531-5441, Ext. 3-0988

Deliver your contents by your assigned delivery date. Please do not use the U.S. Postal Service to ship contents; all contents must be sent 
by a courier service. If you do not use a courier service, your delivery will not be indemnified. Please ship all packages signature-required 
upon delivery. When shipped, please send an email confirmation with tracking information to unclaimed.auction@cpa.texas.gov.

mailto:unclaimed.auction%40cpa.texas.gov?subject=
mailto:unclaimed.auction%40cpa.texas.gov?subject=
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STATE OF TEXAS
COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

53-127
(2-06)

QUANTITY INVENTORY ITEMS

____________ Miscellaneous papers (deeds, insurance, marriage licenses, etc.)

____________ Original signed wills or original military discharge papers

____________ U.S. Cash (face value of coins and currency)

____________ Foreign coins

____________ Foreign currency

____________ Rings

____________ Bracelets

____________ Necklaces / pendants

____________ Earrings (pair = 1, single = 1)

____________ Pins

____________ Wrist watches / pocket watches

____________ Savings bonds $ _________________ Face value of all bonds

____________ Securities – Include issue names below:

______________________________________________________

______________________________________________________

______________________________________________________

____________ Miscellaneous items – Include description below:

______________________________________________________

______________________________________________________

______________________________________________________

UNCLAIMED PROPERTY
STANDARDIZED INVENTORY SHEET

Box number

Date Time

Reason for inventory

Bank name

Renter

http://comptroller.texas.gov/taxinfo/taxforms/53-127.pdf
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Safe Deposit Box Inventory EXAMPLE

53-129
(5-15)

STATE OF TEXAS
COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

Unclaimed Property 
Safe Deposit Box Remittance
Holder Federal Employer Identification Number Holder phone number (Area code and number)

Holder name

Holder address line 1

Holder address line 2

City State ZIP code

Number of shipping containers Number of properties reported

Number of properties remitted Number of properties with $1,000 or more in U.S. Cash

Signature of holder representative Name and title of holder representative Date

I declare that the property delivered is a complete and correct remittance of all reported tangible property.

How To Ship Reported Tangible Property
• Complete top of form with remittance information.
• Print the Safebox System Inventory received with the shipping notification. This is your packing slip.
• If property is reported from a central location, it must be sent as a single shipment. The shipment may include multiple containers.

When packaging items for shipment:

• Initial each property on the Safebox System Inventory as it is packed in the shipping container.
• Pack the properties in same order as listed on the inventory list.
• Do not include property that is not on the Safebox System Inventory.
• If any property on the inventory list is not included in the shipment, note the reason.
• If any property includes $1,000.00 or more in U.S. cash, highlight the property on the inventory list.
• Fragile or delicate items must be packaged carefully.
• Number each container and include the total number of containers in the label. (e.g. 1 of 5)
• Place the Safe Deposit Box Remittance and the Safebox System Inventory inside the top of shipping container number one.

All containers must be shipped using a courier service. Do not use the United States Postal Service. 

All shipments must require a signature upon delivery. 

Ship packages to Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Unclaimed Property
208 E. 10th Street, Room 232-A
Austin, TX  78701-2407

Send an email with the tracking information to unclaimed.auction@cpa.texas.gov.

For Assistance
Additional information can be found in the publication "Unclaimed Property Reporting Instructions," available at  
www.comptroller.texas.gov/up/forms/96-478.pdf. Contact us by email at unclaimed.auction@cpa.texas.gov. or phone
at 1-800-321-2274, Option 2.

PRINT FORM CLEAR FIELDS

http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/pdf/53-129.pdf
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Reporting Mineral Proceeds
Per Section 75.101 of the Texas Property Code, the abandon
ment period for unclaimed mineral proceeds is three years and 
commences on the date you were first unable to make payment 
to the owner because you had lost contact. This could be the 
date of an uncashed check, the date of a returned check or the 
date the owner’s funds are put into suspense.

-

Review your records as of March 1 of the current year, and 
determine all property for which the whereabouts of the owner 
has been unknown for three years or longer. Your report, with 
complete owner information and remittance, is due each July 1.

Due diligence letters should be mailed to owners whose prop
erty you plan to report the following July. The notice require
ment is only for owners whose property is valued at more than 
$250, and the mailing must be completed no later than May 
1. Owners have the months of March through June to claim 
their property from you. Remember to delete claimants from 
your list of reportable owners before filing your July 1 report.

-
-

Refer to Chapter 1 for requirements regarding due diligence. 
A sample letter on Page 9 can be modified to describe the spe
cific type of property you are holding. The letter requirement 
applies only to property that is being reported on your annual 
report for the first time. Once a letter has been mailed to a 
missing owner, the due diligence requirement has been satis
fied. Letters are not required for ongoing production paid to 
owners after their names have been reported to the state.

-

-

Texas is considered a Current Pay State for unclaimed property 
reporting. This means the first time you report a missing owner, 
you remit the total net amount you are holding for that owner, 
as of the date of your remittance, even though the three-year 
abandonment period may not have run on the entire balance 
they are owed. The statutory provision for this requirement is 
found in Title 6, Texas Property Code, Section 75.101 (a)-(b).

Property that must be remitted is not limited to royalties held 
in suspense. You must also review your records for abandoned 
working interests, delay rentals, overriding royalties, etc. Refer 
to Chapter 4 for a complete list of property types. Your revenue 
accounting department may have information on returned or 
uncashed checks for owners not yet in suspense.

Oil and gas companies are also required to report other types of 
property besides mineral proceeds. Examples of other property 
types are securities and securities-related cash, expense checks, 
accounts payable, employee wages (one-year abandonment 
period) and miscellaneous outstanding checks.

Reminders for Reporting Mineral Proceeds:

1. Do not aggregate amounts less than $25.

2. Do not include an owner when the cumulative net amount 
is negative.

3. The owner number you use to identify an individual in your 
records is the first and most important information you 
should list in the property account number (description) 
field of your report.

4. Do not reduce the total amount due for all owners by 
subtracting the owners with a negative balance.

5. Do not report owners who are in suspense for legal or 
other reasons if you have had contact with them during 
the preceding three years.

6. Remit the total net amount you are holding for each owner 
as of the date of your remittance to the Comptroller’s office, 
even though the three-year abandonment period has not 
yet run on the entire balance due the owner, as long as the 
oldest payment due is more than three years old.

7. Each owner should be listed only once on your report 
with the net amount due that owner for all lease/wells 
combined in one total.

8. Per Senate Bill 1589, holders reporting mineral proceeds de
rived from a Texas lease or well must now include additional 
information when reporting. Properties must now include:

-

• The name of the lease, property or well.
• Any identification number used to identify the lease, 

property or well.
• The county in which the lease, property or well is located. 

A complete list of county codes can be found in chapter 4.
Our reporting methods have modified to accommodate these 
requirements. The details of the NAUPA file layout for this 
information can be found at comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/
mineral.php.

Continuing Payments Due Owners
After you have remitted money on behalf of a missing owner, 
any additional amounts that accrue in subsequent years must 
also be reported, as required by Section 75.101 of the Texas 
Property Code. You must hold monthly checks until July 1 and 
include them on your annual report. Continuing production 
payments should be reported with property type code MI10.

Separate current production reports are no longer accepted. 
Please contact our Holder Reporting Section at 1-800-321-2274, 
Option 2 if you have any questions.

 

http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/mineral.php
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/mineral.php
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Reminders for Current Production Reporting

1. Use the standard NAUPA property type codes MI01 
through MI09 the first time you report a missing owner on 
your annual report. In subsequent years, when remitting 
proceeds for that same owner, use Property Type Code 
MI10.

2. Please submit one check for the total due all owners.

3. The grand total due each owner should be provided, even 
though the owner may have more than one interest in 
multiple properties or wells.

4. Do not continue to send current production payments to 
our office for any owner that has contacted you.

Escrow Funds Reported 
by Title Companies

 

Any funds, including escrow accounts, which have not been 
claimed and for which there has been no activity or current con
tact with the owner for three years must be reported. Funds in 
active litigation should not be reported. Your report and remit
tance are due every July 1. The three-year abandonment period 
commences on the date of last contact with the owner or on the 
date of the last owner-generated activity.

-

-

Due diligence is a requirement on unclaimed property valued at 
more than $250. Title companies must mail a written notice to 
the owner, no later than May 1, before remitting property the 
following July. Refer to Chapter 1 for requirements regarding 
due diligence. A sample letter on page 9 can be modified to 
describe the specific type of property you are holding.

Earnest Money
The Texas Department of Insurance advises that disputed ear
nest money should be interpleaded into the appropriate court 
registry. Even in a situation where one of the claimants cannot 
be located, the court may be able to enter a default judgment 
disposing of the earnest money.

-

Escrow balances include accounts where you hold money 
because of the nonperformance of the conditions of the escrow 
agreement. In transactions involving earnest money, both the 
buyer and the seller have an undivided interest in the entire 
amount. Therefore, both the buyer and the seller are considered 
the owner under the statute, and both parties’ names should 
be listed on your report. The person who placed the money in 
escrow – usually the buyer – should be reported as the primary 

owner. The other parties should be listed as additional owners. 
However, if you have communicated with both the buyer and 
the seller within the last three years, and they cannot agree on the 
disposition of the funds, the account would not be unclaimed 
and should not be remitted.

If the contract stipulates that the seller may claim the funds 
under specific conditions, and documenting evidence in your 
file indicates that those conditions exist, the seller’s name would 
then be listed as the owner in your report. The buyer would not 
be listed as an additional owner.

If you have contact with one party but a release cannot be 
secured from the missing party, the funds should be reported 
three years from the date of last contact with the missing party 
or date of scheduled closing. If one party believes he is entitled 
to the funds, his claim is not diminished when the funds are 
remitted. If you have contact with both the buyer and the seller, 
the funds should not be reported.

Other Escrow Funds
Generally, amounts placed in escrow at closing should be report
ed in the name of the party who provided the funds. A portion 
of the seller’s payoff held to ensure all taxes were paid and repairs 
were completed is one example. Once the taxes are paid, repairs 
are made or other conditions of the escrow agreement are met 
and funds remain unclaimed, the seller’s name would be reported 
as the owner of the unclaimed amount. The buyer would not be 
entitled to the funds.

-

NOTE: Service or maintenance fees may not be deducted 
from funds that are subsequently reported as unclaimed 
property unless stipulated in the contract and acknowl
edged by the signatures on the contract.

-

What Property Should You Report?
Title companies should also review their records for other types 
of unclaimed property such as wages and uncashed checks. All 
property not previously reported to the Comptroller’s office that 
is unclaimed for the applicable period of abandonment or longer 
should be included in your report. If an actual check was not 
issued, use the date the item was payable to the owner. Reissu
ing a check does not change the date it should be remitted. The 
abandonment period still begins on the original date the amount 
was payable to the owner.

-

When examining your records, use the last entry or activity 
generated by the owner or the date of documentable contact 
with the owner to commence the abandonment period. If the 
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property type does not generate owner activity, use the date the 
item was payable or distributable to the owner.

NOTE: In all cases, the amount included in your remittance 
report will be the amount due the owner as of the date of 
your remittance.

Earnest money and other escrow funds should be reported 
using property type code TR04. For other types of property 
you report, select the property type code that best describes the 
original property of the missing owner. The miscellaneous out
standing check code (MS16) should be used only as a last resort 
when the nature of the uncashed check is truly unknown.

-

When available, the social security number and last known 
address should be provided for all unclaimed checks you remit. 
Providing adequate information at the time you report and remit 
the property will reduce or eliminate the need for future contact 
with the Comptroller’s office or the claimant.

Electric Cooperatives

Electric cooperatives reporting capital credits (UT04) on a 
remittance report should enter the numeric county code in the 
county field so that redirected funds can be properly allocated 
to each owner’s county of residence. County codes should not 
be included on scholarship reports, energy efficiency assistance 
reports or economic development reports. When entering 
county codes, be sure to use all three digits (i.e., 005, 027, 099). 
Refunds (UT03) do not require a county code.

If you have the county code information available for the aggre
gated capital credits, create a separate aggregate record for each 
county and enter the county name in the description field.

-

Remember that due diligence is a requirement on unclaimed 
property valued at more than $250. Holders must mail a writ
ten notice to the owner, no later than May 1, before remitting 
property to the Comptroller’s office the following July. Refer to 
Chapter 1 for requirements regarding due diligence. The sample 
letter on Page 9 can be modified to describe the specific type of 
property you are holding.

-

Insurance-Related Property

All types of insurance companies should follow the general 
guidelines for reporting on Page 27. The cutoff date for review
ing your records is March 1 of each year. Your report and remit
tance are due July 1 of each year.

-
-

Life insurance companies engaged in the business of insurance 
in Texas should review and remit unclaimed property as required 
by Chapter 1109 of the Insurance Code. Under this statute, life 
insurance companies that hold unclaimed property on June 30 
are required to report that property by the following Nov. 1.

Under Section 74.1011 of the Property Code, due diligence is 
a requirement for non-life insurance companies on unclaimed 
property valued at more than $250. Holders must mail written 
notices to owners, no later than May 1, before remitting their 
property the following July.

We encourage you to make every effort to locate owners early in 
the abandonment period. The only property you should remit 
to Texas is that which has remained unclaimed for the applicable 
abandonment period.

Refer to Chapter 1 for requirements regarding due diligence. 
The sample letter on Page 9 can be modified to describe the 
specific type of property you are holding.

Property Type Codes and Property 
Descriptions
All properties listed on your report must be assigned property 
type codes. Your choice of codes is important because it deter
mines what type of information is required of claimants. The 
list that follows describes which code to use for a particular prop
erty type. It also indicates what information you must provide in 
the property description field when remitting those types.

-

-

NOTE: In the description field, first specify the type of 
insurance you are reporting. Use the abbreviations AH for 
accident and health, PC for property and casualty and L for 
life insurance.
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Code Property Type

IN01
Individual policy benefits and claim payments. Provide the policy numbers and names of the insured; claim numbers if 
applicable.

IN02
All group policy benefits and claim payments, excluding death benefits. Provide employer names and policy numbers, 
names of insured, claim numbers if applicable.

IN03
Death benefits on individual or group policies. Provide policy numbers and names of insured; claim numbers if appli
cable. When reporting death benefits, beneficiaries should be listed as the owners of the property.

-

IN04 Matured policies, endowments and annuities. Provide the policy number and name of insured.

IN05 Premium refunds on individual policies. Provide the policy number and name of insured.

IN06
Unidentified premium payments or remittances. Provide any information available; owner name will be reported as 
unknown.

IN07 All other insurance-related property not described above. Provide a complete description of the property.

IN08 Agent credit balances. Provide dates of employment.

IN99
Aggregate properties less than $25. Number of records and property type. Property type code used on aggregate record 
should always end in 99. Do not combine different property types into one aggregate record.

CK10 Expense checks or drafts. Provide check number; description of expense if available.

CK13 Vendor checks or drafts. Provide invoice number and check number.

MS01 Employee wages. Provide dates of employment.

MS02 Agent commission checks. Provide dates of employment and agent’s Social Security number.

SC85 Demutualization cash. Provide policy number and name of insured.

SC86 Demutualization shares. Provide policy number and name of insured.

Mutual Fund Shares, 
Distributions and Checks

 

Investment companies generally hold the following types of 
unclaimed property:

Property Description Property Type Code

Dividend reinvestment plans SC19

Shares SC16

Income distribution checks SC01

Capital gains distribution checks SC01

Nontransferable certified shares SC40

Book entry shares SC41

Nontransferable securities held by 
broker/dealer

SC42

Commission checks MS02

Expense or vendor checks MS04

Payroll checks MS01

Education savings accounts mutual 
funds

CS01

Traditional IRAs IR02

ROTH IRA mutual funds IR06

Health savings investments HS02

Identifying Unclaimed Shares
Begin the abandonment period when either a sum payable is 
unclaimed or the first piece of mail is returned by the post 
office (RPO), as required by Section 72.101(b) of the Texas 
Property Code. Check your system to determine if the recorded 
RPO date reflects the first RPO event. 

For shares, use the following test to determine if the account 
is unclaimed as of the immediate past March 1:

1. All distributions have remained unclaimed for at least three 
years, or

2. The account has had RPO mail beginning at least three 
years ago.

Continue to hold the account until these conditions are met.
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At the time the shares become unclaimed, the entire account and 
any cash proceeds due the owner are also considered unclaimed. 
The shares should be reported using property type code SC16. 
The cash proceeds should be reported as dividends with property 
type code SC01. 

Identifying Unclaimed Distributions and 
All Other Checks

 

Mutual fund companies may also hold unclaimed income or 
capital gains distributions for various reasons. Distribution 
proceeds may not have been reduced to check form. Checks for 
closed accounts may be outstanding or RPOed and should be 
reported as credit balances using property type code SC20.

Use the following test to determine if checks are unclaimed:

1. All distributions have remained unclaimed for at least three 
years, or the account has had RPO mail beginning at least 
three years ago.

2. The owner has not communicated, in writing or otherwise, 
regarding the account within the past three years.

If the liability was not reduced to a check, it is still report
able, and this test still applies.

-

Due diligence is a requirement on unclaimed property valued at 
more than $250 (Section 74.1011 of the Texas Property Code). 
Holders must mail a written notice to the owner, no later than 
May 1, before remitting their property the following July. Refer 
to Chapter 1 for requirements regarding due diligence. The 
sample letter on page 9 can be modified to describe the specific 
type of property you are holding.

If the mutual fund is Depository Trust Corporation (DTC) eli
gible, please remit the shares to our DTC account. Otherwise, 
transfer reported shares into an existing account for the Texas 
Comptroller of Public Accounts, Unclaimed Property Division, 
at the issuing mutual fund family.  If no account currently exists 
for the specific mutual fund, please contact our custodian via 
email at unclaimed .settlements@cpa .texas .gov for instructions.

-

Preparing Your Remittance

1. Prepare a separate remittance report for each fund and 
one for the operating company.

2. Open an account for each fund styled as follows: 
Registration:  TEXAS COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

UNCLAIMED PROPERTY DIVISION 
 

 
P. O. BOX 12019  
AUSTIN, TEXAS 78711-2019  

Tax ID Number: 74-6000089 
Distribution Options:  Income distributions in cash

            capital gains distributions in cash  
 

3. Close all unclaimed accounts. 
Credit the share balance in each account to the appropriate 
Texas Comptroller master account.

4. On or before July 1:
• Transmit your report for each fund.
• Remit the total amount of cash listed on the reports.
• Mail a statement for the master account of each fund 

as of June 30.

Fund Handling Following Registration 
in State’s Name

 

Send statements for each account to the Comptroller’s office. 
Shares should not be liquidated, and cash/capital gains distribu
tions should not be reinvested. Send all income distributions 
and capital gains to the Comptroller’s office by check. Remem
ber that any cash generated from shares in the state’s name 
should not be reinvested.

-

-

From time to time, you may receive special redemption instruc
tions from our custodian, the Texas Treasury Safekeeping Trust 
Company. These instructions will detail how to deliver proceeds 
to them. Until special redemption instructions are received, 
do not liquidate shares in accounts and send cash to the 
Comptroller’s office.

-

 

Remember:
• Do not make a physical delivery of shares to the 

Comptroller’s office.
• Do not reinvest subsequent cash distributions after 

shares have been transferred to the state’s master 
account.

• Do not redeem shareholders’ accounts and 
remit proceeds unless otherwise notified by our 
custodian.

mailto:unclaimed.settlements@cpa.texas.gov
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Claims by Owners
When a claimant proves ownership, our custodian will provide 
you with the owner’s updated address and instructions to debit 
our account and credit the owner’s account. We will disburse any 
cash we may hold directly to the owner.

Reporting Securities or 
Securities-Related Cash

 

If you are using Texas Unclaimed Property Reporting System 
Software, it will automatically request specific information we 
require based on the property type code selected. 

Remember that due diligence is a requirement on unclaimed 
property valued at more than $250. Holders must mail a written 
notice to the owner, no later than May 1, before remitting their 
property to the Comptroller’s office the following July. Refer to 
Chapter 1 for requirements regarding due diligence. The sample 
letter on page 9 can be modified to describe the specific type of 
property you are holding.

General Rules for Reporting

Regardless of the method you select for reporting your securities-
related property, the following rules must be observed:

1. File separate reports for each issue of stock, providing each 
issuing company’s FEIN.

2. Owners who are owed more than one amount of the same 
property type should be listed on your report only once 
(e.g., four quarterly dividend payments). Combine all the 
amounts due the owner during the applicable reporting 
period into one total. Provide the beginning and ending 
dates on which the amounts were payable.

3. If you are reporting bearer bonds or unclaimed interest on 
the bonds, the owners of the properties should be listed 
as unknown. Complete descriptions of the bonds must be 
provided in the description fields or boxes. Descriptions 
must include the issue name, series, bond number and all 
outstanding coupon numbers.

4. The delivery method for your securities must be indicated 
on your report using the securities delivery codes listed in 
Chapter 4.

Regardless of the method you select for reporting your securities-
related property, the following rules must be observed:

5. Indicate the amounts and issue names of any outstanding 
shares (i.e., still in the possession of the shareholders) 
when reporting underlying, unexchanged, unredeemed or 
unsurrendered shares. 

6. If you are remitting underlying shares, shares returned by 
the post office (RPO shares) or both, please combine all 
shares of the same issue and class into one certificate. Your 
report, however, must reflect the number of underlying 
shares and the number that are RPO for each of the owners.

7. Please begin the registration process early, so that 
securities are delivered no later than the July 1 remittance 
deadline. Extensions cannot be granted for delays in 
registration.

Determining What Property to Report
All property not previously reported to the Comptroller’s office 
that is unclaimed for the applicable abandonment period or 
longer should be included in your report. When examining your 
records, use the last entry or activity generated by the owner to 
commence the abandonment period, OR the date the first piece 
of mail was returned by the post office, OR the date the first 
distribution went unclaimed by the owner.

Your report and remittance are due on July 1 of each year. In all 
cases, the amount you report will be the total due the owner as 
of the date of your remittance, even though some may be recent 
payments.

All types of securities and securities-related cash have three year 
abandonment periods. Review your records as of March 1 of 
the current year and determine all property that was payable or 
distributable to the owner on or before March 1 three years ago.

For underlying shares, use the following test to 
determine if the property is unclaimed:

 

1. All distributions have remained unclaimed for at least three 
years, or the account has had RPO mail, beginning at least 
three years ago.

2. The owner has not communicated, in writing or otherwise, 
regarding the property within the past three years.

Continue to hold the property until these conditions are met.
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Property Type Codes
Each property listed on your report must be assigned a prop
erty type code. Your choice of codes is important because it 
determines what kind of information we require of a claimant. 

- Definitions of the more frequently used codes follow. Refer 
to the table on pages 37-39 titled Property Description Field 
Requirements for a complete list.

Code Property Type

SC01 Select this code if reporting cash dividends. Include the issue name of the security.

SC02 Use this code if reporting registered bond interest due an owner of a registered security. Do not use this code to 
report interest paid on a bearer bond.

SC07 Bearer bond interest and matured principal should be reported with this code. The owner should be listed as “unknown.” 
A complete description, including issue name, series, bond number and all outstanding coupon numbers must be provided. 
The total cash amount of unclaimed interest and principal should be provided in the cash amount remitted field.

SC08 Use this code to report undelivered certificated shares – that is, stock returned by the post office (RPO shares). These 
shares are most often the result of a stock split or stock dividend. The issue name of the security must be included in the de
scription field and the CUSIP number in the appropriate field.

-

SC09 Use this code to report cash for fractional shares. Provide the issue name of the security. Do not report liquidation pro
ceeds under this code. Use the SC13 code for liquidation proceeds.

-

SC10 Unexchanged shares arising from a merger or buy-out should be reported with this code. Provide the number of shares 
of the successor corporation in the shares remitted field. These are the shares you will remit to the Comptroller’s office. 
Provide the issue name of the successor corporation’s stock and the issue name of unexchanged stock.

SC12 Underlying physical shares must be reported under this code. These certificated shares are presumed to be in the pos
session of the shareholder. The certificates must be canceled on the books of the issuer and reissued to the Texas Comp
troller of Public Accounts. Besides providing the issue name and number of underlying shares held by the owner, please 
provide the CUSIP number if one is assigned. You must also report all cash and stock dividends payable on the underlying 
shares as of the date of your remittance.

-
-

SC13 Report liquidation or redemption proceeds (cash only) under this property type code. The issue name of the liquidated 
security and number of shares presumed to be in the possession of the shareholder should also be included in the descrip
tion field. The total cash amount due each shareholder should be provided in the cash amount remitted field.

-

SC18 Matured principal on a registered bond should be reported using this code. Do not use this code to report matured 
principal on a bearer bond (see SC07).

SC19 Dividend reinvestment plan shares must be remitted to the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts in whole shares. Fractional 
shares existing at the time of the report must be liquidated and reported separately (see SC13).  Reinvestment must be 
stopped, and all future dividends or other distributions remitted as cash.

SC20 Brokers should report credit balances due missing owners under this code. If remitting shares, they must be registered to 
the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. Refer to the next two pages of this chapter for registration and delivery instruc
tions.

-

SC40 Nontransferable certificated shares remitted to the state.  Report securities under this code that are in physical form and in 
original owner name that will be remitted to the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts.

SC41 Book entry shares.  Use this code to report shares that have not been issued as physical securities on the reported owner.  
Shares reported using this code will have been in book entry or electronic form since original purchase.  Any shares that 
have, at any time, been issued as a physical certificate to the owner will be reported using SC12, Underlying Shares.

SC42 Securities held by a securities broker/dealer.  Securities brokers/dealers reporting property that will be maintained in an ac
count at the broker/dealer and not remitted to the state. This code should only be used for securities that cannot be directly 
transferred to our DTC account or transferred by way of Deposit/Withdrawal At Custodian (DWAC) to DTC.

-
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Federal Reserve Bank Delivery Instructions
ABA#:	 114900164
Bank Name:	 Tx Comp Austin
SubAccount:	 Dealer
Reference:	 Attn: Unclaimed Property
All deliveries must be versus free payment.

Physical Delivery of Securities
If you are remitting shares, they must be registered to the Texas 
Comptroller of Public Accounts. The registration requirements 
are listed below. 

Important: Securities Mailing Instructions
Securities must be registered to:

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts 
Tax ID 74-6000089

Mail your securities, any related cash and securities inven
tory forms to:

-

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts 
Unclaimed Property Holder Reporting Section 
P.O. Box 12019 
Austin, Texas 78711-2019

Before delivering securities electronically, a list of the stock must either be:
emailed to 
unclaimed.settlements@cpa.texas.gov and up.holder@cpa.texas.gov

OR

faxed to 
512-463-5893
Attn: Settlement and Custody Services

A copy of the list must also be faxed to 512-463-3750, Attn: Holder Reporting.
The stock listed should be headed with the 

following information:
 The body of the list should be in CUSIP order 

and list the following information:

• Delivery date
• Delivering DTC broker I.D.
• Remit year
• Remitter’s name
• Remitter’s tax identification number

• Issue name
• Issue CUSIP
• Share quantity per settlement 

transaction

Electronic Remittance of Securities
The Comptroller’s office prefers that all securities be remitted 
electronically to the state’s custodian, the Texas Treasury Safe
keeping Trust Company.

-

Prepare separate lists when securities are being delivered via the 
DTC or the Federal Reserve Bank. To verify receipt of the fax 
or to request a read receipt from the email system, call securities 
staff at 512-475-4564.

Please include the appropriate security delivery code on your 
holder report for all reported securities. The reference tables 
in Chapter 4 include a list of security delivery codes.

DTC Delivery Instructions
Participant Account No:	 2622
Participant Name:	 Texas Treasury Safekeeping Trust Co
Account No:	 463600002
Reference:	 Unclaimed Prop Remit from

(insert remitter’s name)
 

	
All deliveries must be versus free payment.	

If shares cannot be delivered directly to our DTC account, please 
contact our custodian, Texas Treasury Safekeeping Trust Com
pany to initiate a DWAC transaction to our account.

-

mailto:unclaimed.settlements%40cpa.texas.gov?subject=
mailto:up.holder%40cpa.texas.gov?subject=
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Property Reported by Local 
Government

According to Chapter 74 of the Texas Property Code, Texas 
counties, municipalities, school districts and junior colleges 
should only remit amounts greater than $100 to the Comptrol
ler’s office. Individual amounts of $100 or less should be remit
ted to your local county treasurer (or city/school district/junior 
college comptroller or finance director). The treasurer must pub
lish the missing owners’ names and process all claims submitted 
by prospective owners of amounts of $100 or less. Refer to Title 
6, Chapter 76 of the Texas Property Code for more information 
or contact us by phone at 1-800-321-2274, Option 2, or by 
email at

-
-

-

 up .holder@cpa .texas .gov.

Due Diligence Letter for Amounts 
Greater than $250

 

-

-

Due diligence is a requirement on unclaimed property valued at 
more than $250. Local government holders must mail a writ
ten notice to the owner, no later than May 1, before remitting 
their property to the Comptroller’s office the following July. The 
notice requirement does not apply if you have already mailed a 
letter to the missing owner earlier in the abandonment period.

A sample letter on page 9 can be modified to describe the spe
cific type of property you are holding. Texas Property Code Sec. 
74.1011(a) requires that you include the following language in 
your letter to the owner:

1.	 You, the holder (insert county/city/school district/junior 
college name), are holding the property; and

2.	 You, the holder (insert county/city/school district/junior 
college name), may be required to deliver the property 
to the Texas State Comptroller on or before July 1 if the 
property is not claimed.

mailto:up.holder@cpa.texas.gov
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Preparing Your Report
Getting Started:
What Property Should You Report?

All property not previously reported to the Comptroller’s office 
that is unclaimed for the applicable period of abandonment or 
longer should be included in your report. The abandonment 
period is the number of years you hold the property before send
ing it to the Comptroller’s office. The length of time is based on 
the type of unclaimed property you are holding.

When examining your records, use the last entry or activity 
generated by the owner or the date of last documented contact 
with the owner to commence the abandonment period. If the 
property type does not generate owner activity, use the date the 
item was payable or distributable to the owner.

Your property report and the accompanying Payment Form 
#53-119 are due on July 1 of each year. Information on complet
ing your report can be found on page 30. Abandonment periods 
for reportable property types can be found on pages 33-34.

Reviewing Your Records

For the report due July 1, review your records and report all 
property which has had no owner contact since March 1 for the 
requisite abandonment period and for which there has been no 
act of ownership.

 

For current abandonment periods, please refer to the Holder 
Update Notice (96-828) at comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-
forms.php.

NOTE: In all cases, the amount reported in your remittance 
report will be the amount due the owner as of the date of 
your remittance.

If you find you are holding property that should have been 
reported in previous years, you should report and remit the 
property immediately. The Comptroller’s office will calcu
late the interest and penalty for you and forward a bill for the 
amount owed.

-

Completing the Payment Form

The payment form serves as both a summary of your prop
erty report and a transmittal form for your check. If using our 
reporting software, this form will automatically print during the 
submission process. The Online Express system can also print 
this form on demand. It can also be accessed on our website at 

-

comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-forms.php.

 

-

 
-

http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-forms.php
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-forms.php
http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/holder-forms.php
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Payment Form #53-119

Filing Instructions

1.	 Federal Employer ID Number – Enter the nine-digit tax ID number assigned to you by the federal government. This line must 
be completed. Your report cannot be processed without this number.

2.	 Name/Address – Complete the name and address lines with your institution or company name and mailing address. Don’t forget 
to include department codes if they are an important part of your address.

3.	 State of Incorporation or Charter – Corporations should enter the state in which they are incorporated or licensed to do 
business. Financial institutions should enter the state in which they are chartered.

4.	 Date of Incorporation/Charter Date – Corporations should enter the date on which they were incorporated or were licensed to 
do business. Financial institutions should enter the date their organization was chartered.

5.	 Contact Person for Reporting – Enter the name, mailing address, phone number, email address and fax number of the person 
who completes your report. This is the person the Comptroller’s office will contact if we have questions or problems with your 
report. This is also the person to whom we mail all reporting information.

6.	 Contact Person for Claims – Enter the name, mailing address, phone number, email address, and fax number of the person 
responsible for claims. This is the person the Comptroller’s office will contact if more information is needed during the claims 
process. It is also the name given to potential claimants if they request a holder contact name and phone number.

7.	 Primary Business Activity – Please provide a description of your primary business activity. For example, if you are a 
manufacturer, indicate the type of products you produce. Financial institutions may leave this line blank.

8.	 SIC Code – This is the Standard Industrial Classification code that indicates the primary business activity of your institution or 
company. Please leave this line blank if you are not familiar with your SIC code.

9.	 Reporting Medium – Indicate the reporting medium used for your property report by entering your cash and share total(s) in the 
appropriate blanks. If you transmitted your property report over the Internet, you must include your transmission confirmation 
number in order for your payment to be properly credited. 

10.	Number of Items – This is the number of primary owner property records included in your report. Do not include additional 
owner records in the total. Count aggregate records as single items (i.e., do not include the number of individual records that were 
less than $25 in the total).

•	 Sign the return and include your title. 
•	 Complete the payment coupon at the bottom if you are paying by check. 
•	 Make checks payable to Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts.
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$

53-119
(Rev.2-16/6)

AGENCY USE ONLY
Holder federal employer identification number
(FEIN)

Div Year Seq Type

Holder name and address State of incorporation or charter

Date of incorporation or charter

Phone number Phone number
Report Contact Claims Contact
Name Name

Mailing address Mailing address

Email address Email address

FAX number FAX number

Holder's primary business activity: SIC code:

NUMBER
OF ITEMS

Circle all report media used and provide report totals.
Confirmation number must be included if filing via Internet SHARES CASH

Diskette / CD 

$Internet

The foregoing report contains a full and complete list of all property held by the undersigned
that from the records of the undersigned, is abandoned under the laws of the State of Texas.
The property delivered is a complete and correct remittance of all accounts; the existence
and location of the listed owners are unknown; and the listed owners have not asserted an
act of ownership with respect to the reported property.

$

Mail this form with your payment to
For assistance, call 

1-800-321-2274, option 2.
Comptroller of Public Accounts 
Unclaimed Property, Holder Reporting Section
P.O. Box 12019
Austin, TX  78711-2019

Title

1. T code

2. Deposit code

3. Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

4. Amount of check (Dollars and cents)

1.

2.

3.

4.

PAYMENT

Holder name PM

53-119
(Rev.2-16/6)

E

PRINT FORM RESET FORM

http://comptroller.texas.gov/taxinfo/taxforms/53-119.pdf
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Completing the Property Report

Under Title 34 § 13.21 of the Texas Administrative Code, prop
erty reports must be submitted to the Comptroller’s office in 
the NAUPA2 format via one of the approved online submission 
methods.  Submission of data on CDs or diskettes is no longer 
permitted. 

-

-All holders should review the following instructions for a bet
ter understanding of the information that must be included on 
reports. Each requirement listed below corresponds with a field 
in the Unclaimed Property Reporting System software or Online 
Express Reporting system.

Reports will be subject to rejection if the data do not comply with 
these entry standards. If rejected, holders will have up to 30 days to 
resubmit corrected reports. Holders failing to resubmit corrected 
reports within 30 days will be subject to a daily penalty.

The Online Express Reporting system allows you to enter your 
unclaimed property reports directly into a web-based application 
after you set up a password-protected account with the Holder 
Reporting Section.

Advantages
• No software to download and install.
• Allows you to report electronically without support from

your IT staff.
• Provides a secure environment to warehouse your data

until you are ready to submit the report.
• Makes most report data available to owners as soon as your

payment is verified.

Registration
• Access the online express reporting system at

-

comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/filing-report.php.
• Click on the User ID and Password link.
• Begin a new TxComptroller eSystems user registration by

creating a new User ID. This user ID must have at least
seven letters and should not contain spaces.

• Enter your email address in both fields below your User
ID. Verify that both addresses match and then select Start
Registration.

• On the following New User Registration-Profile page,
enter your name and contact telephone number.

• Create a password. It must contain at least one character
from three of the four following categories: uppercase let
ters, lowercase letters, numbers and/or special characters
(-.!#$&()*+,;:?@_[]{}~). Confirm your password.

• Click Continue.

• Accept Terms of Use – Check box to accept and agree 
to comply with the Terms of Use for TxComptroller 
eSystems.

• Select a security question. The security question and
answer allows you to reset your password, if forgotten.

• Enter answer to security question. Please note that in order
for password reset to be successful, the answer must match
the answer that is entered during registration.

• Click Create User Profile. The next page confirms that
your user profile has been created. Click Continue. On
the next page, select the Unclaimed Property Online
Express Reporting link.

• On the Unclaimed Property Holder Registration page,
enter your holder information as follows:
ʺʺ Holder Name – Complete the name and address fields

with your institution or company name.
ʺʺ Federal Employer ID Number – Enter the nine-

digit tax ID number assigned to you by the federal 
government. 

ʺʺ First time to report unclaimed property – Check box 
if this is the first report filed for this entity.

ʺʺ SIC Code – This is the Standard Industrial Classifica
tion code that indicates the primary business activity of 
your institution or company. Please leave this line blank 
if you are not familiar with your SIC code.

-

ʺʺ State of Incorporation or Charter – Corporations 
should enter the state in which they are incorporated 
or licensed to do business. Financial institutions should 
enter the state in which they are chartered.

ʺʺ Date of Incorporation/Charter Date – Corporations 
should enter the date on which they were incorporated 
or were licensed to do business. Financial institutions 
should enter the date their organization was chartered.

ʺʺ Mailing Address – Enter your institution or company 
mailing address. Don’t forget to include department 
codes if they are an important part of your address.

ʺʺ Contact Person for Reporting – Enter the name, 
mailing address, email address, phone number and 
fax number of the person who completes your report. 
This is the person the Comptroller’s office will contact 
if we have questions or problems with your report. 
This is also the person to whom we mail all reporting 
information.

• Click Register.
• On the next page, confirm your entries, then click Submit. 

On the following confirmation page, a notice explains that
your registration request will be sent to the Holder Report
ing Section. You will receive a response by the end of the
next business day.

-

http://comptroller.texas.gov/up/report/filing-report.php
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Preparing the Property Report
You will receive an email notification when your registration 
request has been approved. This message will include a link to 
the login page. Under returning user login, enter your user ID 
and password, and then click Login.

ʺʺ Under Reporting, select Unclaimed Propery Online 
Express Reporting.

ʺʺ Select Create/Update Holder Reports.
ʺʺ Select Add Report.

•	 Account Profile Update – Verify that your profile informa
tion is correct or make any necessary changes. Enter claim 
contact information or check box to duplicate report contact 
information. Click Save Contact Information.

-

•	 Property Holder Menu – Select Create/Update Holder 
Reports.

•	 Holder Report List – Click Add Report. When the 
holder contact window opens, verify information and 
make any necessary changes. Enter the Claim Contact 
information or check the box above the fields if the Claim 
Contact information is the same as the Report Contact 
information. Select Save Contact Information.

•	 Holder Report Property List – Select Add Property.
•	 Add Property – Select Property Type. This is the code 

that distinguishes one property type from another. Select 
the four-character code that best describes the original 
property of the missing owner. For example, a closed 
savings account converted to check form would still be 
reported as a savings account (AC02), not a cashier’s check. 
Refer to Chapter 4 for a list of the approved codes.

•	 Property Type for Aggregate Records – Amounts that are 
individually less than $25 may be reported in the aggregate, 
using one of 11 available aggregate Property Type codes. The 
code selected for aggregate records should always end in 99. 
Mineral interests should never be aggregated. Click Go.

•	 Add Property – Complete the primary owner record as 
follows:
ʺʺ Last or Entity Name – Enter the owner’s last name or 

the company name of a business. If the owner of the 
property is unknown, enter unknown in the last name 
box. Name and address boxes should be left blank if 
you are reporting amounts under $25 in the aggregate.

ʺʺ NOTE: If you are reporting two owners with different 
last names who jointly own one piece of property, refer 
to Additional Owner Last Name for instructions.

ʺʺ First Name/Middle Name – Enter the owner’s first 
name and middle name.

ʺʺ Title – Enter an abbreviation for the owner’s title, which 
indicates the owner’s relationship to the property. When 
you click in this field, the valid values drop down. To 
choose a value, click on it, and it will populate the field.

ʺʺ Prefix – Enter a courtesy title to precede the owner’s 
name. When you click in this field or tab to it, a list of 
values drops down; click on a value to select it.

ʺʺ Suffix – Enter any suffix that follows the individual 
owner’s name, such as Jr, Sr, III. When you click in this 
field or tab to it, a list of values drops down; click on a 
value to select it.

ʺʺ Social Security Number – Enter the owner’s Social 
Security number or tax identification number, if 
known. It is important to have this number when 
establishing ownership.

ʺʺ Date of Birth – Enter the owner’s date of birth, if 
known.

ʺʺ Mailing Address – Enter the owner’s last known 
address. You must list the last known address, even if 
mail has been returned by the post office. This infor
mation is very important when establishing ownership 
during the claims process. 

-

ʺʺ If an owner’s address is listed in care of another indi
vidual, enter the name and street address of that person 
in the mailing address box. Do not list additional 
owner names in the address box.

-

ʺʺ Mailing City – Enter the city of the last known address.
ʺʺ Mailing State – Enter the standard two-character 

abbreviation of the owner’s state of residence.
ʺʺ Mailing Zip – Enter the owner’s five- or nine-digit 

ZIP code.
ʺʺ Mailing Country – Enter the country of the last 

known address of the owner.
ʺʺ Email Address – Enter the owner’s email address, if 

known.
ʺʺ Driver’s License – Enter the owner’s Texas driver’s 

license, if known.
ʺʺ Reported Amount – Enter the amount that is due each 

owner. This field is required, unless you are reporting 
shares, safe deposit box contents or tangible safekeeping 
property. If an owner has more property of the SAME 
property type, add all amounts remitted together and 
enter it here. Provide the beginning and ending dates in 
the appropriate fields below.

•	 Deduction Amount – If the value in the reported 
amount field is more than $250, enter the amount of 
postage paid for mailing the notice to the owner, if 
applicable.

ʺʺ Amount Remitted – This field will be calculated 
automatically.

ʺʺ Start Date of Last Contact with Owner – Enter the 
date (MM/DD/YYYY) on which the last deposit or 
withdrawal was made on the account by the owner; the 
date on which the property became payable, redeem
able or returnable (e.g., issue date of check); or the date 
contact was last made with the owner.

-
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ʺʺ End Date of Last Contact with Owner – If you are 
reporting like property types with periodic payments 
such as dividends, oil and gas royalties or commission 
checks, total all amounts due the owner during the 
applicable time period and report the payments on 
one record. Provide the beginning and ending dates on 
which the amounts were payable.

ʺʺ Property Description – Any information that will assist 
in identifying the owner of the property should be listed 
in the Property Description fields. Identifying numbers, 
such as owner account number or check number, should 
be entered here. Other information, such as the name of 
a purchaser of a cashier’s check, should also be listed in 
Additional Description.

ʺʺ Property Description for Aggregate Records – List 
the number of property records that were combined for 
the aggregate entry and the property type. For example, 
an AC99 record with “15 AC01” in the description 
field indicates 15 checking accounts were aggregated 
on one record.

•	 Add Property – When you are ready to save the property, 
select Save Property. 

•	 Add Additional Owner – If the property has more than 
one owner, select Additional Owner. Complete the Addi
tional Owner record as follows:

-

-

ʺʺ Last or Entity Name – If the property has more than 
one owner, enter the second owner’s last name or the 
company name of a business. If the owner of the prop
erty is unknown, enter unknown in the last name box.

ʺʺ First Name/Middle Name – Enter the owner’s first 
name and middle name.

ʺʺ Title – Enter an abbreviation for the owner’s title, which 
indicates the owner’s relationship to the property. When 
you click in this field, the valid values drop down. To 
choose a value, click on it, and it will populate the field.

ʺʺ Prefix – Enter a courtesy title to precede the owner’s 
name. When you click in this field or tab to it, a list of 
values drops down; click on a value to select it.

ʺʺ Suffix – Enter any suffix that follows the individual 
owner’s name, such as Jr, Sr, III. When you click in this 
field or tab to it, a list of values drops down; click on a 
value to select it.

ʺʺ Social Security Number – Enter the owner’s social 
security number or tax identification number, if 
known. It is important to have this number when 
establishing ownership.

ʺʺ Date of Birth – Enter the owner’s date of birth, if known.
ʺʺ Mailing Address – Enter the owner’s last known 

address. You must list the last known address, even if 
mail has been returned by the post office. This infor
mation is very important when establishing ownership 
during the claims process. 

-

ʺʺ Mailing City – Enter the city of the last known 
address.

ʺʺ Mailing State – Enter the standard two-character 
abbreviation of the owner’s state of residence.

ʺʺ Mailing Zip – Enter the owner’s five- or nine-digit 
ZIP code.

ʺʺ Mailing Country – Enter the country of the last 
known address of the owner. 

•	 Add Property – When you are ready to save the property, 
select Save Owner. You will be returned to the primary 
owner window. Select Back to Property List.

•	 Holder Report Property List – When you have entered all of 
your owner records, you will be ready to submit your report.
ʺʺ Holder Report Property List – Select View Report 

to verify that all owner data are correct. Select Back to 
Property List.

ʺʺ Holder Report Property List – Select Submit Report.
ʺʺ Report Payment Option – Select your payment 

option and then click Submit. 
ʺʺ Holder Report Property List – If paying by check, 

select Print Coupon. The Holder Report and Payment 
Form will be printed. Please send it with your payment.

When your report has been reviewed and approved by the 
Holder Reporting Section, you will receive an email notifica
tion. This message will include your holder ID, report ID and 
confirmation number. 

-

If your report contains errors, you will receive an email notifica
tion denying your report. You will be asked to make the neces
sary corrections and resubmit your report.

-
-
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Reference Tables

Property Type Codes and Abandonment Periods
FINANCIAL INSTITUTION ACCOUNTS

Property Type: AC
 

AC01	 Checking accounts (3)
AC02	 Savings accounts (3)
AC03	 Matured certificates of deposit (3)
AC04	 Code deleted
AC05	 Code deleted
AC06	 Code deleted
AC07	 Unidentified deposits (3)
AC08	 Code deleted
AC09	 Other deposit accounts (5)
AC99	 Aggregate account balances 

less than $25
 

EDUCATIONAL SAVINGS ACCOUNTS
Property Type: CS

 

CS01	 Cash (3)
CS02	 Mutual funds (3)
CS03	 Securities (3)
CS99	 Aggregate account balances 

less than $25
 

TRUST, INVESTMENTS AND ESCROW 
ACCOUNTS

Property Type: TR
 

TR01	 Paying agent accounts (3)
TR02	 Undelivered dividends or 

uncashed dividends (3)
 

 

 

 

TR03	 Funds held in a fiduciary capacity (3)
TR04	 Escrow accounts (3)
TR05	 Trust vouchers (3)
TR06	 Pre-need funeral plans (3)
TR99	 Aggregate trust property less 

than $25

SAFE DEPOSIT BOXES AND SAFEKEEPING
Property Type: SD

SD01	 Contents of safe deposit boxes held 
by depositories (5)

SD02	 Safekeeping property (3)
SD03	 Other tangible property (3)
SD04	 Tangible unclaimed loan 

collateral (3)

TRADITIONAL IRAs
Property Type: IR

 

IR01	 Cash (IRA, SEP, SARSEP, SIMPLE) (3)
IR02	 Mutual funds (IRA, SEP, SARSEP, 

SIMPLE) (3)
IR03	 Securities (IRA, SEP, SARSEP, 

SIMPLE) (3)
IR04	 Reserved for future use
IR05	 Reserved for future use
IR06	 ROTH IRA Mutual Funds
IR07	 ROTH IRA Investments
IR99	 Aggregate account balances 

less than $25
 

 

 

HEALTH SAVINGS ACCOUNTS
Property Type: HS

 

HS01	 Health Savings Accounts (3)
HS02	 Health Savings Accounts 

Investments (3)
HS99	 Aggregate account balances 

less than $25

INSURANCE 
Property Type: IN

 

IN01	 Individual policy benefits or 
claim payments (3)

 

 

 

 
 

 

IN02	 Group policy benefits or claim 
payments (3)

IN03	 Death benefits due 
beneficiaries (3)

IN04	 Proceeds from matured 
policies, endowments or 
annuities (3)

IN06	 Unidentified remittances (3)
IN05	 Premium refunds on individual 

policies (3)
IN07	 Other amounts due under policy 

terms (3)
IN08	 Agent credit balances (3)
IN99	 Aggregate insurance property 

less than $25

CHECKS
Property Type: CK

 

CK01	 Cashier’s checks (3)
CK02	 Certified checks (3)
CK03	 Registered checks (3)
CK04	 Code deleted
CK05	 Drafts (3)
CK06	 Warrants (3)
CK07	 Money orders (3)
CK08	 Traveler’s checks (15)
CK09	 Foreign exchange checks (3)
CK10	 Expense checks (3)
CK11	 Pension checks (3)
CK12	 Credit checks or memos (3)
CK13	 Vendor checks (3)
CK14	 Code deleted
CK15	 Any other outstanding official 

checks or exchange items (3)
CK16	 CD Interest checks (3)
CK99	 Aggregate uncashed checks 

less than $25
 

UTILITIES
Property Type: UT

 

UT01	 Utility deposits (1)
UT02	 Membership fees (3)
UT03	 Refunds or rebates (3)
UT04	 Capital credit distributions (3)
UT99	 Aggregate utility property less 

than $25
 

COURTS/LEGAL
Property Type: CT

 

 

CT01	 Escrow funds (3)
CT02	 Condemnation awards (3)
CT03	 Missing heirs’ funds (3)
CT04	 Suspense accounts (3)
CT05	 Any other types of deposits made 

with a court or public authority (3)
CT99	 Aggregate court deposits less 

than $25
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PROCEEDS FROM MINERAL INTERESTS
Property Type: MI

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MI01	 Net revenue interests (3)
MI02	 Royalties (3)
MI03	 Overriding royalties (3)
MI04	 Production payments (3)
MI05	 Working interests (3)
MI06	 Bonuses (3)
MI07	 Delay rentals (3)
MI08	 Shut-in royalties (3)
MI09	 Minimum royalties (3)
MI10	 Current production payments (0)

GENERAL BUSINESS, MISCELLANEOUS 
CHECKS AND INTANGIBLE PERSONAL 

PROPERTY
Property Type: MS

 

MS01	Wages, payroll or salary (1)
MS02	Commissions (3)
MS03	Worker’s compensation benefits (3)
MS04	Payment for goods and services (3)
MS05	Customer overpayments (3)
MS06	Unidentified remittances (3)
MS07	Unrefunded overcharges (3)
MS08	Accounts payable (3)
MS09	Accounts receivable credit bal

ances (3)
-

 

 
 

 

 

MS10	Discounts due (3)
MS11	Refunds/rebates due (3)
MS12	Stored value cards/gift 

certificates (1-3)
MS13	Cash loan collateral (3)
MS14	Sums payable under pension 

and profit sharing plans 
(KEOGH) (3)

MS15	Property distributable in the 
course of involuntary dissolution 
or liquidation (3)

MS16	Any other miscellaneous 
outstanding checks (3)

MS17	Any other miscellaneous 
intangible personal property (3)

MS18	Code deleted
MS99	Aggregate miscellaneous property 

less than $25

SECURITIES
Property Type: SC

SC01	 Dividends (3)
SC02	 Interest payable on registered 

bonds (3)
SC03	 Code deleted
SC04	 Code deleted
SC05	 Code deleted
SC06	 Funds paid toward the purchase 

of shares or interest in a financial 
or business organization (3)

SC07	 Bearer bond interest and matured 
principal (3)

SC08	 Undelivered physical (RPO) 
shares (3)

SC09	 Cash for fractional shares (3)
SC10	 Unexchanged stock of successor 

corporation (3)
SC11	 Any other certificates of 

ownership (3)
SC12	 Underlying shares (3)
SC13	 Funds for liquidation/redemption 

of unsurrendered stocks or 
bonds (3)

SC14	 Debentures (3)
SC15	 U.S. Government securities (3)
SC16	 Book-entry mutual fund 

shares (3)
SC17	 Warrants or rights (3)
SC18	 Matured principal on registered 

bonds (3)
SC19	 Dividend reinvestment 

plans (3)
SC20	 Credit balances (3)
SC40	 Nontransferable Certificated 

Shares (3)
SC41	 Book Entry Shares (3)
SC42	 Nontransferable Securities Held 

by Broker/Dealer (3)
SC85	 Demutualization cash (1)
SC86	 Demutualization shares (1)
SC99	 Aggregate securities-related 

cash less than $25

Owner Title 
Abbreviation Codes
	 ADM –	Administrator/administratrix
	 BENF –	Beneficiary
	 CUST –	Custodian
	 DECD –	Deceased
	 EST –	Estate
	 EXEC –	Executor/executrix
	 FAO –	For the account of
	 FBO –	For the benefit of
	 GDN –	Guardian
	 ITF –	In trust for
	 JT –	Joint tenancy
	 LIFEST –	Life estate
	 MNR –	Minor
	 TIC –	Tenants in common
	 TR –	Trust
	 TTEE –	Trustee
	 UGMA –	Uniform gift to minors act
	 UWO –	Under the will of

Property Type Codes and Abandonment Periods (continued)
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Data Entry Standards for Owner Name Fields
The following standards should be observed, whether you are performing data entry in the Texas Unclaimed Property Reporting 
System, importing files into the application or reporting by any other electronic method.

Rules of Entry

1.	 Never use punctuation (e.g., periods, commas, apostrophes, 
etc.) in owner name fields.
 

 

2.	 Only three special characters should be used in owner name 
fields. The hyphen (-), ampersand (&) and forward slash (/) 
may be used as described in items 3 through 5. 

3.	 Company names should be entered in the last name 
field. The word “and” should always be replaced with an 
ampersand (&). Ampersands may not be used in owner name 
fields for any other reason.

	 Correct	
 

Incorrect
	 Jones & Jones	 Jones and Jones

4.	 Enter a forward slash (/) between first names of co-owners 
when both have the same last name. A forward slash should 
also be used to abbreviate accounts styled Mr or Mrs (M/M). 
Forward slash should not be used in owner name fields for 
any other reason.

	 Correct

	 Jones	 Bill/Mary	 Jones	 Bill & Mary
			   Jones	 Bill and Mary
			   Jones	 Bill or Mary

	
	 	 	 	

Incorrect
(last) (first) (last) (first)

 

5.	 Enter last names styled with a hyphen in the last name field 
(e.g., Smith-Jones). Hyphens should not be used in owner 
name fields for any other reason.

	 Correct	
	 	 	 	

 

Incorrect
(last) (first) (last) (first)

	 Smith-Jones	 Mary	 Jones	 Mary Smith-
	 Benton-Brown	 Bill	 Brown	 Bill Benton

6.	 Never precede first names with name prefixes (i.e., Mrs, Ms or 
M/M). When used, name prefixes must follow the first name 
or be entered in the prefix field.

	 Correct

	 Smith	 Mary Mrs	 Smith	 Mrs Mary
	 Jones	 Bill M/M	 Jones	 M/M Bill
	 Brown	 John Mrs	 Brown	 Mrs John

	
	 	 	 	

Incorrect
(last) (first) (last) (first)

 

7.	 Owner-name suffixes (e.g., Jr, Sr, III) should be entered in the 
last name field or the suffix field.			 

	 Correct	
	 	 	 	

 

Incorrect
(last) (first) (last) (first)

	 Smith Jr	 Bill	 Smith	 Bill Jr

	 Correct
	 American Life Ins Co	 Amer Life Ins Co

	 Correct
	 First State Bank	 1st State Bank

	 Correct
	 A B C Appliances	 ABC Appliances
	 J E Smith	 JE Smith

	 Correct
	 Baby Store	 The Baby Store
	 Bank of Rio Grande	 The Bank of Rio Grande

8.	 Do not enter information designating ownership (e.g., 
estate, trustee, joint tenancy) in owner name fields. This 
information must be entered in the title field and owner title 
abbreviation codes must be used (refer to Page 34). 

	
 

	

 

	

 

	

 

9.	 Never abbreviate the first word of a company name. Always 
spell it out.

Incorrect

10.	Do not use numbers in owner name fields.

Incorrect

The only exception is when a number is part of a registered 
trademark (e.g., A1 Inc.).

11.	 Use spaces between initials in names.

Incorrect

12.	Never begin an owner name with “the.”

Incorrect
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Suggested Abbreviations
abstract	 ABS

administration	 ADMN

agricultural	 AGR

affiliated	 AFIL

American	 AMER

and others	 ET AL

architecture	 ARCH

associate	 ASSOC

associated	 ASSOC

associates	 ASSOC

association	 ASSN

attorney	 ATTY

beneficiary	 BENF

building	 BLDG

bureau	 BUR

center	 CTR

check	 CK

chemical	 CHEM

clerk	 CLK

collector	 COLL

college	 COL

communications	 COMM

company	 CO

cooperative	 COOP

corporation	 CORP

county	 CO

credit union	 CU

date of birth	 DOB

department	 DEPT

development	 DEV

discount	 DISC

distributor	 DISTR

district	 DIST

division	 DIV

east/eastern	 E

educators/educational	 ED

employee/employer	 EMP

endowment	 ENDW

engineering	 ENG

estate	 EST

exploration	 EXPL

export	 EXP

federal	 FED

federal credit union	 FCU

financial institution FIN

foreign	 FOR

freeway	 FWY

general	 GEN

geological	 GEO

government	 GOVT

group	 GRP

highway	 HWY

hospital	 HOSP

hydraulic	 HYD

import	 IMP

incorporated	 INC

independent	 INDP

independent school district	 ISD

industrial	 INDL

industry	 IND

institution	 INST

insurance	 INS

insured	 INSD

international	 INTL

investment	 INV

investors	 INVR

life assurance	 LAC

life insurance	 LIC

limited	 LTD

management/managing	 MGT

manufactured	 MFD

manufacturers	 MFR

manufacturing	 MFG

market/marketing	 MKT

matured	 MAT

mechanical	 MECH

medical	 MED

memorial	 MEML

mercantile	 MERC

minerals	 MIN

national	 NTL

north/northern	 N

northeast	 NE

northwest	 NW

nursing home	 NRS HOME

operating	 OPR

partnership	 PTSHP

pharmacy	 PHAR

photography	 PHOT

policy	 POL

private	 PVT

production	 PROD

professional	 PROF

public	 PUB

railroad	 RR

railway	 RWY

republic	 REP

saint	 ST

school	 SCH

security/securities	 SEC

service	 SVC

services	 SVCS

society	 SOC

south/southern	 S

southeast	 SE

southwest	 SW

standard	 STD

subsidiary	 SUB

subsidiaries	 SUBS

technical/technology	 TECH

trust	 TR

trustee	 TTEE

united	 UTD

university	 UNV

United States	 US

variable	 VAR

warehouse	 WHS

west/western	 W
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Property Description Field Requirements
Property 

Code
 Description of 

Property Code
 Information Needed in Description 

Field for Each Property
 

AC01 CHECKING ACCOUNTS Account Number

AC02 SAVINGS ACCOUNTS Account Number

AC03 MATURED CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSIT Certificate Number – 1st Maturity Date

AC07 UNIDENTIFIED DEPOSITS Any available description

AC99 AGGREGATE ACCOUNT BALANCES < $25 Number of Accounts and Property Type – Property Type

CK01 CASHIER’S CHECKS Purchaser – Check Number

CK02 CERTIFIED CHECKS Purchaser – Check Number

CK03 REGISTERED CHECKS Purchaser – Check Number

CK05 DRAFTS Draft Number

CK06 WARRANTS Warrant Number

CK07 MONEY ORDERS Money Order Number

CK08 TRAVELER’S CHECKS Check Number

CK09 FOREIGN EXCHANGE CHECKS Purchaser – Check Number – Original Currency Amount

CK10 EXPENSE CHECKS Vendor Number – Check Number

CK11 PENSION CHECKS Account Number – Check Number – Employee Number

CK12 CREDIT CHECKS OR MEMOS Vendor Number – Check Number

CK13 VENDOR CHECKS Vendor Number – Check Number

CK15 ANY OTHER OUTSTANDING OFFICIAL CHECKS Check Number

CK16 CD INTEREST CHECKS Certificate Number – Check Number

CK99 AGGREGATE UNCASHED CHECKS < $25 Number of Checks and Property Type – Type of Checks

CS01 EDUCATIONAL SAVINGS ACCOUNTS CASH Account Number

CS02 EDUCATIONAL SAVINGS ACCOUNTS MUTUAL FUNDS Account Number

CS03 EDUCATIONAL SAVINGS ACCOUNTS SECURITIES Issue Name of Security

CS99 AGGREGATE EDUCATIONAL SAVINGS ACCOUNT  
BALANCES < $25

Number of Items and Property Type

CT01 COURT DEPOSIT ESCROW FUNDS Case Number – Case Name – Date of Order

CT02 CONDEMNATION AWARDS Case Number – Case Name – Date of Order

CT03 MISSING HEIRS’ FUNDS Case Number – Case Name – Date of Order

CT04 SUSPENSE ACCOUNTS Case Number – Case Name – Date of Order

CT05 OTHER DEPOSITS WITH COURT OR PUBLIC AUTHORITY Case Number – Case Name – Date of Order

CT99 AGGREGATE COURT DEPOSITS < $25 Number of Items and Property Type – Property Type

HS01 HEALTH SAVINGS ACCOUNTS Account Number

HS02 HEALTH SAVINGS ACCOUNTS INVESTMENTS Account Number

HS99 HS99 AGGREGATE HEALTH SAVINGS ACCOUNT  
BALANCES < $25

Number of Items and Property Type

IN01 INDIVIDUAL POLICY BENEFITS OR CLAIM PAYMENTS Policy Number – Insured Name

IN02 GROUP POLICY BENEFITS OR CLAIM PAYMENTS Policy Number – Insured Name – Employer

IN03 DEATH BENEFITS DUE BENEFICIARIES Policy Number – Insured Name – Claim Number

IN04 MATURED POLICY PROCEEDS OR ENDOWMENTS/ 
ANNUITIES

Policy Number – Insured Name

IN05 PREMIUM REFUNDS ON INDIVIDUAL POLICIES Policy Number – Insured Name

IN06 UNIDENTIFIED REMITTANCES Description of Remittance
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Property Description Field Requirements (continued)
Property 

Code
  Description of 

Property Code
Information Needed in Description  

Field for Each Property

IN07 OTHER AMOUNTS DUE UNDER POLICY TERMS Policy Number – Insured Name – Claim Number

IN08 AGENT CREDIT BALANCES Agent Number

IN99 AGGREGATE INSURANCE PROPERTY < $25 Number of Items and Type – Property Type

IP99 INTEREST FOR OVERDUE REMITTANCES  

MI01 NET REVENUE INTERESTS Owner Number

MI02 ROYALTIES Owner Number

MI03 OVERRIDING ROYALTIES Owner Number

MI04 PRODUCTION PAYMENTS Owner Number

MI05 WORKING INTERESTS Owner Number

MI06 BONUSES Owner Number

MI07 DELAY RENTALS Owner Number

MI08 SHUT-IN ROYALTIES Owner Number

MI09 MINIMUM ROYALTIES Owner Number

MI10 CURRENT PRODUCTION PAYMENTS Owner Number

MS01 WAGES, PAYROLL OR SALARY Check Number

MS02 COMMISSIONS Check Number

MS03 WORKER’S COMPENSATION BENEFITS Employee Number – Check Number

MS04 PAYMENTS OF GOODS AND SERVICES Vendor Account Number – Check Number

MS05 CUSTOMER OVERPAYMENTS Account Number

MS06 UNIDENTIFIED REMITTANCES Any available description

MS07 UNREFUNDED OVERCHARGES Any available description

MS08 ACCOUNTS PAYABLE Account Number

MS09 CREDIT BALANCES ON ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE Account Number

MS10 DISCOUNTS DUE Account Number

MS11 REFUNDS OR REBATES DUE Account Number – Check Number

MS12 STORED VALUE CARDS/GIFT CERTIFICATES Certificate/Card Number

MS13 UNCLAIMED LOAN COLLATERAL (CASH) Loan Number – Payoff Date

MS14 SUMS PAYABLE-PENSION OR PRFT SHR PLAN (KEOGH) Employer Name/Account – Check Number

MS15 PROP DISTRIBUTABLE DURING DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDA
TION

- Dissolved Company Name – Check Number

MS16 ANY OTHER MISC OUTSTANDING CHECKS Check Number

MS17 ANY OTHER MISC INTANGIBLE PROPERTY Account Number

MS99 AGGREGATE MISC PROPERTY < $25 Number of Items and Property Type – Property Type

SC01 DIVIDENDS Issue Name of Security – Check Number – Account Number

SC02 INTEREST PAYABLE ON REGISTERED BONDS Issue Name of Security – Bond Number  – Call Date

SC06 FUNDS PAID TOWARD PURCHASE OF SHARES Issue Name of Security – Account Number

SC07 BEARER BOND INTEREST AND MATURED PRINCIPAL Issue Name of Security – Call Date/Price – Bond/Coupon 
Number

SC08 SHARES OF STOCK (RETURNED BY POST OFFICE) Issue Name of Security

SC09 CASH FOR FRAC SHARES Issue Name of Security – Price Per Share

SC10 UNEXCHANGED STOCK Issue Name of Successor  – Unexchanged Issue Name

SC11 OTHER CERTIFICATES OF OWNERSHIP Issue Name of Security – Certificate Number
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Property Description Field Requirements (continued)
Property 

Code
   Description of 

Property Code
Information Needed in Description 

Field for Each Property

SC12 UNDERLYING SHARES Issue Name of Security

SC13 LIQUIDATION/REDEMPTION OF UNSURRENDERED 
STOCKS/BONDS

Issue Name of Security or Bond – Number of Shares – Price 
Per Share

SC14 DEBENTURES Description of Debenture

SC15 U S GOVERNMENT SECURITIES Description of Security

SC16 BOOK ENTRY MUTUAL FUND SHS Account Number

SC17 WARRANTS OR RIGHTS Warrant Number – Expiration Date – Issue Name of Bond – 
Bond Number – Call Date/Price

SC18 MATURED PRINCIPAL ON REGISTERED BONDS

SC19 DIVIDEND REINVESTMENT PLANS Account Number

SC20 CREDIT BALANCES Account Number

SC40 NONTRANSFERABLE CERTIFICATED SHARES Issue Name of Security

SC41 BOOK ENTRY SHARES Issue Name of Security

SC42 NONTRANSFERABLE SHARES HELD BY BROKER/DEALER Issue Name of Security

SC85 DEMUTUALIZATION CASH PROCEEDS Policy Number – Insured Name

SC86 DEMUTUALIZATION SHARES Policy Number – Insured Name

SD01 CONTENTS OF SAFE DEPOSIT BOXES Box Number

SD02 CONTENTS OF OTHER SAFEKEEPING REPOSITORY Receipt Number

SD03 OTHER TANGIBLE PROPERTY Receipt Number

SD04 TANGIBLE UNCLAIMED LOAN COLLATERAL Loan Number – Receipt Number – Payoff Date

IR01 TRADITIONAL IRA CASH Account Number

IR02 TRADITIONAL IRA MUTUAL FUNDS Account Number

IR03 TRADITIONAL IRA SECURITIES Account Number

IR05 ROTH IRA CASH Account Number

IR06 ROTH IRA MUTUAL FUNDS Account Number

IR07 ROTH IRA SECURITIES Account Number

IR99 AGGREGATE IRA BALANCES < $25 Number of Items – Original Property Type

TR01 PAYING AGENT ACCOUNTS Issue Name of Security – Bond Number – Coupon Number

TR02 UNDELIVERED OR UNCASHED DIVIDENDS Issue Name of Security – Check Number

TR03 FUNDS HELD IN A FIDUCIARY CAPACITY Account Number

TR04 ESCROW ACCOUNTS GF Number – Property Address

TR05 TRUST VOUCHERS Voucher Number – Security Issue Name if Dividend

TR06 PRENEED FUNERAL PLANS Contract Number – Purchaser

TR99 AGGREGATE TRUST PROPERTY < $25 Number of Items and Property Type – Property Type

UT01 UTILITY DEPOSITS Account Number – Account Number

UT02 MEMBERSHIP FEES

UT03 REFUNDS OR REBATES Account Number

UT04 CAPITAL CREDIT DISTRIBUTIONS Account Number – Declaration Date

UT99 AGGREGATE UTILITY PROPERTY < $25 Number of Items and Property Type – Property Type
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Securities Delivery Codes
Code Description

ACCOUNT Book Entry Registration (used only for non DTC eligible securities)

DTC Direct Transfer to Depository Trust

PHYSICAL Physical Delivery of Certificate to Comptroller’s office

UNT Undeliverable Security

FED Direct Transfer to Federal Reserve Bank

Country Codes
Country Code

Afghanistan AFG

Aland Islands ALA

Albania ALB

Algeria DZA

American Samoa ASM

Andorra AND

Anegada VGB

Angola AGO

Anguilla AIA

Antigua and Barbuda ATG

Argentina ARG

Armenia ARM

Aruba ABW

Australia AUS

Austria AUT

Azerbaijan AZE

Bahamas BHS

Bahrain BHR

Bangladesh BGD

Barbados BRB

Barbuda/Antigua ATG

Belarus BLR

Belgium BEL

Belize BLZ

Benin BEN

Bermuda BMU

Bhutan BTN

Bolivia BOL

Country Code

Bonaire, St. Eustatius of Saba BES

Bosnia and Herzegovina BIH

Botswana BWA

Bouvet Island BVT

Brazil BRA

British Indian Ocean Territory IOT

British Virgin Islands* VGB

British West Indies**

Brunei Darussalam BRN

Bulgaria BGR

Burkina Faso BFA

Burundi BDI

Caicos Islands TCA

Cambodia KHM

Cameroon CMR

Canada CAN

Canary Islands/Spain ESP

Cape Verde CPV

Cayman Islands CYM

Central African Republic CAF

Chad TCD

Channel Islands/United  
Kingdom

GBR

Chile CHL

China CHN

Christmas Island CXR

Cocos (Keeling) Islands CCK

Colombia COL

Comoros COM

Congo/Democratic Republic of 
Congo

COG

Cook Islands COK

Country Code

Corsica/France FRA

Costa Rica CRI

Cote D’Ivoire CIV

Crete/Greece GRC

Croatia HRV

Cuba CUB

Curacao CUW

Cyprus CYP

Czech Republic CZE

Democratic Peoples Republic 
of Korea (North Korea)

 PRK

Democratic Republic of the 
Congo

COD

Denmark DNK

Djibouti DJI

Dominica DMA

Dominican Republic DOM

East Timor/Timor-Leste TLS

Ecuador ECU

Egypt EGY

El Salvador SLV

England/United Kingdom GBR

Equatorial Guinea GNQ

Eritrea ERI

Estonia EST

Ethiopia ETH

Faroe Islands FRO

Falkland Islands (Malvinas) FLK

Fiji FJI

Finland FIN
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Country Code

France FRA

French Guiana GUF

French Polynesia PYF

French Southern Territories ATF

French West Indies***

Futuna Island/Wallis WLF

Gabon GAB

Gambia GMB

Georgia GEO

Germany DEU

Ghana GHA

Gibraltar GIB

Grand Cayman/Cayman Islands CYM

Great Britain/United Kingdom GBR

Greece GRC

Greenland GRL

Grenada GRD

Grenadines (The)/Saint Vincent VCT

Guadeloupe GLP

Guam GUM

Guatemala GTM

Guernsey GGY

Guinea GIN

Guinea-Bissau GNB

Guyana GUY

Haiti HTI

Heard Island & McDonald Islands HMD

Herzegovina/Bosnia BIH

Holy See (Vatican City State) VAT

Honduras HND

Hong Kong (Special 
Administrative Region of China)

HKG

Hungary HUN

Iceland ISL

India IND

Indonesia IDN

Iran (Islamic Republic of ) IRN

Iraq IRQ

Ireland IRL

Isle of Man IMN

Isle of Wright/United Kingdom GBR

Country Code

Israel ISR

Italy ITA

Jamaica JAM

Jan Mayen Islands/Svalbard VGB

Japan JPN

Jersey JEY

Jordan JOR

Jost Van Dyke/British Virgin 
Islands

VGB

Kazakhstan KAZ

Kenya KEN

Kiribati KIR

Korea/Republic of South Korea KOR

Kuwait KWT

Kyrgyzstan KGZ

Laos (Lao Peoples Democratic 
Republic)

LAO

Latvia LVA

Lebanon LBN

Lesotho LSO

Liberia LBR

Libya (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya) LBY

Liechtenstein LIE

Lithuania LTU

Luxembourg LUX

Macao MAC

Macedonia (The Former Yugoslav 
Republic of Macedonia)

MKD

Madagascar MDG

Malawi MWI

Malaysia MYS

Maldives MDV

Mali MLI

Malta MLT

Malvinas/Falkland Islands FLK

Mariana Islands/Northern 
Mariana Islands

MND

Marshall Islands MHL

Martinique & Les Saintes MTQ

Mauritania MRT

Mauritius MUS

Mayotte MYT

Country Code

Mexico MEX

Micronesia (Federated States of) FSM

Miquelon/Saint Pierre SPM

Moldova/Republic of Moldovo MDA

Monaco MCO

Mongolia MNG

Montenegro MNE

Montserrat MSR

Morocco MAR

Mozambique MOZ

Myanmar MMR

Namibia NAM

Nauru NRU

Nepal NPL

Netherlands NLD

Netherlands Antilles ANT

Nevis/Saint Kitts & Nevis KNA

New Caledonia NCL

New Zealand NZL

Nicaragua NIC

Niger NER

Nigeria NGA

Niue NIU

Norfolk Island NFK

North Korea/Democratic People’s 
Republic

PRK

Northern Ireland/United 
Kingdom

GBR

Northern Mariana Islands MNP

Norway NOR

Oman OMN

Pakistan PAK

Palau PLW

Palestinian Territory, Occupied PSE

Panama PAN

Papua New Guinea PNG

Paraguay PRY

Peru PER

Philippines PHL

Pitcairn PCN

Country Codes (continued)
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Country Code

Poland POL

Portugal PRT

Principe/Sao Tome STP

Puerto Rico PRI

Qatar QAT

Republic of Moldova MDA

Reunion REU

Romania ROU

Russian Federation RUS

Rwanda RWA

Saint Barthélemy BLM

Saint Croix/United States Virgin 
Islands

VIR

Saint Helena, Ascension & Tristan 
da Cunha

SHN

Saint John/ United States Virgin 
Islands

VIR

Saint Kitts and Nevis KNA

Saint Lucia LCA

Saint Martin (French Part) MAF

Saint Pierre and Miquelon SPM

Saint Thomas/United States 
Virgin Islands

VIR

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines VCT

Samoa WSM

San Marino SMR

Sao Tome and Principe STP

Sardinia/Italy ITA

Saudi Arabia SAU

Scotland/United Kingdom GBR

Senegal SEN

Serbia SRB

Seychelles SYC

Sierra Leone SLE

Singapore SGP

Sint Maarten (Dutch Part) SXM

Slovakia SVK

Slovenia SVN

Solomon Islands SLB

Somalia SOM

Country Code

South Africa ZAF

South Georgia & South Sandwich 
Islands

SGS

South Korea/Republic of Korea KOR

Spain ESP

Sri Lanka LKA

Sudan SDN

Suriname SUR

Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands SJM

Swaziland SWZ

Sweden SWE

Switzerland CHE

Syrian Arab Republic SYR

Taiwan Province of China TWN

Tajikistan TJK

Tanzania/United Republic of 
Tanzania

TZA

Thailand THA

Timor-Leste TLS

Tobago/Trinidad & Tobago TTD

Togo TGO

Tokelau TKL

Tonga TON

Tortola/British Virgin Islands VGB

Trinidad and Tobago TTO

Tunisia TUN

Turkey TUR

Turkmenistan TKM

Turks and Caicos Islands TCA

Tuvalu TUV

Uganda UGA

Ukraine UKR

United Arab Emirates (UAE) ARE

United Kingdom of Great Britain 
and Northern Ireland

GBR

United Republic of Tanzania TZA

United States USA

United States Minor Outlying 
Islands

UMI

United States Virgin Islands**** VIR

Country Code

Uruguay URY

Uzbekistan UZB

Vanuatu VUT

Venezuela VEN

Viet Nam VNM

Virgin Gorda/British Virgin 
Islands

VGB

Wales/United Kingdom GBR

Wallis and Futuna Islands WLF

West Germany/Germany DEU

Western Sahara ESH

Yemen YEM

Zambia ZMB

Zimbabwe ZWE

	 *	 British Virgin Islands (VGB) include 
Anegada, Virgin Gorda, Jost Van Dyke & 
Tortola.

	 **	 British West Indies include Anguilla, 
British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, 
Montserrat, Turks/Caicos. Each island has 
its own code. 

	 ***	 French West Indies includes St. 
Barthélemy (BLM), Guadeloupe (GLP), 
Martinique & Les Saintes (MTQ).

	****	 US Virgin Islands (VIR) include St. Croix, 
St. John & St. Thomas.

Country Codes (continued)
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Summary of Reporting Requirements
Financial Institutions

Holder/Type of Property Abandonment 
Period

Legal 
Reference*

 Report Cut-off 
Date

Remittance and Report Due
– On or Before –

 

Demand deposit accounts 3 years 73.003, 73.101 March 1 July 1
Savings accounts 3 years 73.003, 73.101 March 1 July 1
Matured CD principal 3 years 73.003, 73.101 March 1 July 1
Safe deposit boxes 5 years 73.003, 73.101 March 1 July 1
Official checks 3 years 73.102 March 1 July 1
Wages 1 year 72.1015 March 1 July 1

Corporations

Holder/Type of Property Abandonment 
Period

Legal 
Reference*

 Report Cut-off 
Date

Remittance and Report Due
– On or Before –

 

Wages 1 year 72.1015 March 1 July 1
Misc. uncashed checks 3 years 72.101(a) March 1 July 1
Refunds, rebates and deposits 3 years 72.101(a) March 1 July 1
Stored value cards 1 - 3 years 72.1016 March 1 July 1
Mineral proceeds 3 years 72.001(a) and 75.001 March 1 July 1
Travelers checks 15 years 72.102(a)-(b) March 1 July 1
Money orders 3 years 72.102(a) and (c) March 1 July 1

Life Insurance

Holder/Type of Property Abandonment 
Period

Legal 
Reference*

  Report Cut-off 
Date

Remittance and Report Due
– On or Before –

Wages 1 year 72.1015 March 1 July 1
Uncashed checks and drafts 3 years 72.101(a) March 1 July 1
Policy proceeds 3 years Chapter 1109 June 30 November 1
Annuities 3 years (Tx Insurance Code) June 30 November 1
Demutualization proceeds 1 year 72.101(c) March 1 July 1

Securities

Holder/Type of Property Abandonment 
Period

Legal 
Reference*

 Report Cut-off 
Date

Remittance and Report Due
– On or Before –

 

Stock and cash dividends 3 years 72.101(a) March 1 July 1
Dividend reinvestment plans 3 years 72.101(b) March 1 July 1
Underlying shares 3 years 72.101(b) March 1 July 1
Liquidation proceeds 3 years 72.101(a) March 1 July 1
Bonds and bond interest 3 years 72.101(a) March 1 July 1

*Legal references may be found in:
Title 6 Texas Property Code Texas Insurance Code

Chapter 72 Abandonment of Personal Property 
Chapter 1109 Unclaimed Life Insurance and Annuity  

Contract Proceeds
 

Chapter 73 Inactive Accounts Held by Banking Organizations
Chapter 74 Report, Delivery and Claims Process 74.705, Attorney’s  

Fees and Penalties
 

Chapter 75 Texas Minerals 
Chapter 76 Report, Delivery and Claims Process for Certain Property 
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County Codes To be used for reporting mineral proceeds

County Code

Anderson 001

Andrews 002

Angelina 003

Aransas 004

Archer 005

Armstrong 006

Atascosa 007

Austin 008

Bailey 009

Bandera 010

Bastrop 011

Baylor 012

Bee 013

Bell 014

Bexar 015

Blanco 016

Borden 017

Bosque 018

Bowie 019

Brazoria 020

Brazos 021

Brewster 022

Briscoe 023

Brooks 024

Brown 025

Burleson 026

Burnet 027

Caldwell 028

Calhoun 029

Callahan 030

Cameron 031

Camp 032

Carson 033

Cass 034

Castro 035

Chambers 036

Cherokee 037

Childress 038

Clay 039

Cochran 040

Coke 041

Coleman 042

Collin 043

Collingsworth 044

County Code
Colorado 045

Comal 046

Comanche 047

Concho 048

Cooke 049

Coryell 050

Cottle 051

Crane 052

Crockett 053

Crosby 054

Culberson 055

Dallam 056

Dallas 057

Dawson 058

Deaf Smith 059

Delta 060

Denton 061

DeWitt 062

Dickens 063

Dimmit 064

Donley 065

Duval 066

Eastland 067

Ector 068

Edwards 069

Ellis 070

El Paso 071

Erath 072

Falls 073

Fannin 074

Fayette 075

Fisher 076

Floyd 077

Foard 078

Fort Bend 079

Franklin 080

Freestone 081

Frio 082

Gaines 083

Galveston 084

Garza 085

Gillespie 086

Glasscock 087

Goliad 088

County Code
Gonzales 089

Gray 090

Grayson 091

Gregg 092

Grimes 093

Guadalupe 094

Hale 095

Hall 096

Hamilton 097

Hansford 098

Hardeman 099

Hardin 100

Harris 101

Harrison 102

Hartley 103

Haskell 104

Hays 105

Hemphill 106

Henderson 107

Hidalgo 108

Hill 109

Hockley 110

Hood 111

Hopkins 112

Houston 113

Howard 114

Hudspeth 115

Hunt 116

Hutchinson 117

Irion 118

Jack 119

Jackson 120

Jasper 121

Jeff Davis 122

Jefferson 123

Jim Hogg 124

Jim Wells 125

Johnson 126

Jones 127

Karnes 128

Kaufman 129

Kendall 130

Kenedy 131

Kent 132
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County Code
Kerr 133

Kimble 134

King 135

Kinney 136

Kleberg 137

Knox 138

Lamar 139

Lamb 140

Lampasas 141

LaSalle 142

Lavaca 143

Lee 144

Leon 145

Liberty 146

Limestone 147

Lipscomb 148

Live Oak 149

Llano 150

Loving 151

Lubbock 152

Lynn 153

Madison 154

Marion 155

Martin 156

Mason 157

Matagorda 158

Maverick 159

McCulloch 160

McLennan 161

McMullen 162

Medina 163

Menard 164

Midland 165

Milam 166

Mills 167

Mitchell 168

Montague 169

Montgomery 170

Moore 171

Morris 172

Motley 173

Nacogdoches 174

Navarro 175

Newton 176

County Codes To be used for reporting mineral proceeds (continued)
County Code

Nolan 177

Nueces 178

Ochiltree 179

Oldham 180

Orange 181

Palo Pinto 182

Panola 183

Parker 184

Parmer 185

Pecos 186

Polk 187

Potter 188

Presidio 189

Rains 190

Randall 191

Reagan 192

Real 193

Red River 194

Reeves 195

Refugio 196

Roberts 197

Robertson 198

Rockwall 199

Runnels 200

Rusk 201

Sabine 202

San Augustine 203

San Jacinto 204

San Patricio 205

San Saba 206

Schleicher 207

Scurry 208

Shackelford 209

Shelby 210

Sherman 211

Smith 212

Somervell 213

Starr 214

Stephens 215

Sterling 216

Stonewall 217

Sutton 218

Swisher 219

Tarrant 220

County Code
Taylor 221

Terrell 222

Terry 223

Throckmorton 224

Titus 225

Tom Green 226

Travis 227

Trinity 228

Tyler 229

Upshur 230

Upton 231

Uvalde 232

Val Verde 233

Van Zandt 234

Victoria 235

Walker 236

Waller 237

Ward 238

Washington 239

Webb 240

Wharton 241

Wheeler 242

Wichita 243

Wilbarger 244

Willacy 245

Williamson 246

Wilson 247

Winkler 248

Wise 249

Wood 250

Yoakum 251

Young 252

Zapata 253

Zavala 254
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Reporting Requirements Updates

• Effective Sept . 1, 2015, Senate Bill 1021 reduces the 
threshold limit from $50 to $25 for property reported 
in the aggregate . See page 3 for further information on 
reporting property in the aggregate .

• Effective Jan . 1, 2016, Senate Bill 1589 requires those 
reporting mineral proceeds derived from a Texas lease or 
well to include the following:
ʺ The name of the lease, property or well .
ʺ Any identification number used to identify the lease, 

property or well .
ʺ The county in which the lease, property or well is 

located .
See page 18 for further information regarding reporting mineral 
proceeds .
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