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TAX TOPICS

SALES AND USE TAX

All-Terrain or 0ff-Road Vehicles and Texas Use Tax

If you purchased or obtained an all-terrain vehicle (ATV) or an off-road vehicle from out-

side Texas, you might owe Texas use tax.

What is use tax?

Use tax is a complement to sales tax and has been in
place since 1961.

Use tax applies to all taxable items (including ATVs,
off-road vehicles and accessories) purchased outside
Texas for use here. It applies to both businesses and
individuals, and is imposed when a taxable item is
first brought into Texas. The tax rate is the same as the
sales tax rate where the item is being used, not where
the item was purchased.

Why should | voluntarily pay use tax?

It's the law. In an effort to enforce compliance with
Texas tax laws, the Comptroller’s office gathers sales in-
formation from various sources and bills Texas residents
for unpaid tax, penalty and interest.

By voluntarily paying the Texas use tax legally
due, you will avoid being billed for unpaid tax and
additional penalty and interest charges.

What are the Texas use tax rates?

The state use tax rate is 6.25 percent, the same as the
state sales tax rate. Depending on where you are using
the item you purchased, you may owe up to 2 percent
in local use taxes.

If you paid another state’s sales or use tax on the
merchandise, you can take a credit for the amount of
sales or use tax paid to the other state.

Use our tax rate locator at mycpa.cpa.state.tx.us/atj/
to find tax rate information.

How do | pay Texas use tax?

If you have a Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit, report
your purchases on your Texas Sales and Use Tax Return
in Item 3, “Taxable Purchases.’

If you do not have a Texas Sales and Use Tax
Permit, and the seller did not collect Texas sales or
use tax on your purchase of taxable items, report your
purchases on the Texas Use Tax Return (Form 01-156).
The form and additional information are available at
comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/sales/use-tax.php.

When is use tax due?

The tax return and payment are due on or before the
20th day following the period during which the taxable
items subject to use tax are brought into Texas.

If the 20th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal
holiday, the due date for the return and payment is the
next business day.

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities
Act, this document may be requested in
alternative formats by calling 1-800-252-5555, or
by sending a fax to 512-475-0900.

Sign up to receive email updates on
the Comptroller topics of your choice at
comptroller.texas.gov/subscribe/.

This publication is intended as a general guide and not as a comprehensive resource on the subjects covered.
It is not a substitute for legal advice.
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