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MOTOR VEHICLE TAX COMMISSIONS: CHANGES IN 2015

Along with our appreciation for their work, Texas County Tax Assessor-Collectors (TACS) receive an

Texas Comptroller of
Public Accounts

annual commission for their efforts in collecting Texas motor vehicle sales and use tax. The change

of the commissions being taken from registration fees collected to tax collected is now complete.
In 2015, TACs will take the 5 percent commission entirely from tax collected.

CALCULATING THE COMMISSION

The commission is equal to 5 percent of the

tax and penalties collected for motor vehicles
sales, seller-financed sales and Texas Emissions
Reduction Plan (TERP) surcharges for the county
during the preceding calendar year. For example,
the 2014 calendar year data is used to determine
the 2015 commissions.

NOTIFYING COUNTIES

The Comptroller will send a letter in the spring
notifying each TAC of the amount of commission
to be retained from motor vehicle sales tax and
use tax collections. The letter will be mailed after
all counties have reported to the Comptroller
their final collection numbers from the preceding
calendar year.

RETAINING THE COMMISSION

A TAC can retain the total commission due for the
year on one month’s tax report if there are sufficient
collections in that month. Otherwise, a TAC should
retain the commission over several months until the
total commission has been retained.

REPORTING GUIDELINES

The TAC will enter the commission retained on
the Comptroller's Texas Motor Vehicle Sales/Use
Tax and Surcharge Report (Form 14-115). The
commission amount retained from motor vehicle

This publication is intended as a general guide and not as a comprehensive resource on the subjects covered.
It is not a substitute for legal advice.

sales and use tax collections, including seller-
financed collections, must be entered in Item 8A.
The commission retained from TERP surcharge

The Comptroller
collections must be entered in Item 8B.

will send a letter in
DEPOSITING THE COMMISSION

An important note to county judges, the sprmg ﬂOtlfyIﬂg
commissioners and auditors: The county each TAC of the
must credit the amount of the commission retained

from motor vehicle sales and use tax collections to amount of commission

the county’s general fund, as required by Tax Code

Section 152.123(c), Tax Retained by County. to be retained

QUESTIONS from motor vehicle

Direct general questions about the commission
component administered by the Comptroller to our
Revenue Accounting Division at 1-800-531-5441,
ext. 3-4276.

For all other motor vehicle tax questions,
call 1-800-252-1382, or contact us at
comptroller.texas.gov/web-forms/tax-help.

sales tax and use tax

collections.

FOR MORE INFORMATION,
SEARCH OUR WEBSITE AT

Comptroller.Texas.Gov


http://Comptroller.Texas.Gov
http://comptroller.texas.gov/web-forms/tax-help
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WE’'RE HERE TO HELP!

If you have questions or need information, contact us:

For more information, 1-800-252-5555 1-800-252-7875 1-800-252-1385
search our website at 911 Emergency Service/ Spanish Coin-Operated Machines Tax
Comptroller.Texas.Gov Equalization Surcharge Hotel Occupancy Tax
Automotive Qil Fee 1-800-531-1441
Battery Fee Fax on Demand (Most frequently requested ~ 1-800-252-1386
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Boat and Boat Motor Sales Tax Sales and Franchise tax forms) Account Status
111 East 17th Street Customs Broker Officer and Director Information
Austin, Texas 78711-1440 Mixed Beverage Taxes 1-800-252-1382
0ff-Road, Heavy-Duty Diesel Clean Vehicle Incentive Program 1-800-862-2260
) ) . Equipment Surcharge Manufactured Housing Tax Cigarette and Tobacco
Sign up to receive email updates on Oyster Fee Motor Vehicle Sales Surcharge,
the C”{“ptﬁ"”e{t"p'” °f3}°”rh°h°'?§ a} Sales and Use Taxes Rental and Seller Financed Sales Tax 1-888-4-FILING (1-888-434-5464)
comptrofler.texas.gov/sunscriber. Motor Vehicle Registration Surcharge TELEFILE: To File by Phone
1-800-531-5441
In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Cement Tax 1-800-252-1383 1-800-252-1389
Act, this document may be requested in alternative Inheritance Tax Fuels Tax GETPUB: To Order Forms and Publications
formats by calling the appropriate toll-free number Local Revenue IFTA
listed or by sending a fax to 512-475-0900. Miscellaneous Gross LG Decals 1-800-654-FIND (1-800-654-3463)
Receipts Taxes Petroleum Products Delivery Fee Treasury Find
Qil Well Servicing Tax School Fund Benefit Fee
Sulphur Tax 1-800-321-2274
1-800-252-1384 Unclaimed Property Claimants
1-800-442-3453 Coastal Protection Unclaimed Property Holders
WebFile Help Crude 0il Production Tax Unclaimed Property Name Searches
Natural Gas Production Tax 512-463-3120 in Austin
1-800-252-1381
Bank Franchise 1-800-252-1387 1-877-44RATE4 (1-877-447-2834)
Franchise Tax Insurance Tax Interest Rate
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