

Texas Use Tax Return

What is Use Tax - A tax, complementary to the sales tax, imposed on taxable goods and services that are purchased, leased or rented for personal or business use, storage or consumption in Texas on which Texas sales or use tax has not previously been paid. Texas use tax is due regardless if another state's sales or use tax has been paid.

Examples of items subject to use tax include purchases made over the Internet or the telephone from an out-of-state seller who does not collect tax and items purchased while visiting another state or country.

Who Should File This Form - Any person or business, not permitted for Texas sales and use tax, that has not paid Texas sales or use tax on taxable goods and services brought or shipped into the state for use, storage or consumption. Persons and businesses that are permitted for Texas sales and use tax cannot use this form and must report any taxable purchases on their sales and use tax return.

When to File - This return, with payment, should be filed on or before the 20th day following the period (month or year) during which items subject to use tax are brought into Texas. If the 20th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the next business day is the due date for the return and payment.

Whom to Contact for Assistance - If you have any questions regarding use tax, you may contact the Texas State Comptroller's field office in your area, or call 1-800-252-5555.

Mail to COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS 111 E. 17th Street Austin, TX 78774-0100

Comptroller 01-156 of Public AX AX ACCOUNTS (Rev.2-17/9)

Texas Use Tax Return

a. • 2014U				
c. • Social Security num	ber or FEIN		d.	
e. FP •	f. Outlet no./ location			g.
h.		i. PM		
•		• _		
j. •		•		
Taxpayer name and mail	ing address			
I declare that the inform			y attachments	is true and
sign Taxpayer or duly here	authorized agent			
Date	Daytime phone	or)		

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

- Please do not write in shaded areas.
- Do not leave Items 3, 5, or 6 blank.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

Item c. Individuals, enter your Social Security number. For other types of organizations, enter the Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) assigned to your organization.

FEDERAL PRIVACY ACT STATEMENT: Disclosure of your Social Security number is required and authorized under law for the purpose of tax administration and identification of any individual affected by applicable law. 42 U.S.C. sec. 405(c)(2)(C)(i); Texas Government Code secs. 403.011 and 403.078. Release of information on this form in response to a public information request will be governed by the Public Information Act, Chapter 552, Government Code, and applicable federal law.

Item 3. Enter the total amount of taxable purchases you made that are subject to use tax. Taxable purchases are those taxable items purchased, leased or rented for personal or business use on which Texas sales or use tax was not paid. Report whole dollars only.

Item 5. The use tax rate is the same as the sales tax rate 6.25 percent state tax rate plus the applicable local tax rates where the merchandise is delivered or used in Texas. The maximum combined state and local tax is 8.25 percent. You can look up your local tax rate at

https://mycpa.cpa.state.tx.us/atj/

Item 6. Multiply the amount in Item 3 by the tax rate in Item 5. Make total amount of Item 6 payable to STATE COMPTROLLER.

b. • 2 1 1	* % 1 1 5 6 % 1 W % 2 1 7 % 9 *			
- Do not fold, staple or paper clip	 Write only in white areas. 			
k. Physical address of item(s) received in Texa	s (Do not use a P.O. box address.)			
1. • .00 2. • .00 3. TAXABLE PURCHASES (Whole dollars of the control of the contr				

You have certain rights under Chapters 552 and 559, Government Code, to review, request and correct information we have on file about you. Contact us at the address or phone number listed on this form.