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General Information 
This booklet summarizes the Texas franchise tax law and 
rules and includes information that is most useful to the 
greatest number of taxpayers preparing Texas franchise tax 
reports. It is not possible to include all requirements of the 
Texas Tax Code (Chapter 171). Taxpayers should not 
consider this tax booklet as authoritative law. Additional 
information about Texas franchise tax can be found online 
at www.franchisetax.tx.gov. 

What’s New for 2012? 
Late Filing Penalties 
Taxpayers will be assessed a $50 penalty when a report is 
filed late. The penalty will be assessed regardless of whether 
the taxpayer subsequently files the report, or any tax is due 
for the period covered by the late-filed report. This $50 
penalty is due in addition to any other penalties assessed 
for the reporting period. 

$1 Million No Tax Due Threshold Extended and Adjusted 
The expiration of the $1 million no tax due threshold has 
been extended to Dec. 31, 2013. However, with the 
Consumer Price Index adjustment required by Tax Code 
Section 171.006(b), the no tax due threshold is $1,030,000 
for reports due on or after Jan. 1, 2012, and before Jan. 1, 
2014. The statutory reduction to $600,000 has been 
postponed until Jan. 1, 2014. 

Unincorporated Political Committees are Nontaxable 
Unincorporated political committees are no longer subject 
to the franchise tax effective for reports originally due on or 
after Jan. 1, 2012.  Unincorporated political committees that 
have been subject to the tax must send a letter to the 
Comptroller’s office to end their filing responsibility. 

Additional Exclusions from Revenue 
Exclusions from revenue have been added for Qualified 
Live Event Promotion Companies (see Tax Code Section 
171.1011(g-5)) and Qualified Courier and Logistics 
Companies (see Tax Code Section 171.1011(g-7)).  Eligible 
entities may take these exclusions on reports due on or 
after Jan. 1, 2012. 

Compensation Deduction Limit Adjusted 
The limit on the compensation deduction has been adjusted, 
as required by Tax Code Section 171.006(b), and is now 
$330,000 per person for reports due on or after Jan. 1, 2012, 
and before Jan. 1, 2014. 

Additional Reporting Requirement for Combined 
Groups with Temporary Credit 
The reporting entity of a combined group with a temporary 
credit for business loss carryforward preserved for itself and/ 
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or its affiliates must submit common owner information by 
the due date of the report. This information must be 
submitted to satisfy franchise tax filing requirements, even 
if the combined group is not claiming the credit on the current 
year’s report. For 2012, submit the common owner 
information electronically at window.texas.gov/ 
commonowner/. 

Definition of Retail Trade Amended 
“Retail trade” means the activities described in Division G 
of the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification Manual 
published by the federal Office of Management and Budget 
and apparel rental activities classified as Industry 5999 or 
7299 of the manual. 

Franchise Tax WebFile 
Electronically file and pay your franchise tax report using 
WebFile. It helps with mathematical computations and has 
built-in edits to help you avoid mistakes that could lead to 
unnecessary billings and not-in-good-standing status. And, 
WebFile is free to use! 

If you owe tax, electronic payment options include credit 
card, electronic check or TEXNET (if enrolled). 

All the forms necessary for filing are included in the following 
packets: 
•	 Extension Request 
•	 No Tax Due Report 
•	 EZ Computation Report 
•	 Long Form Report 

To get started with WebFile for franchise tax, all you need 
is your 6-digit XT WebFile number listed on your 
Franchise Tax notice and have Adobe Reader 8.1.1 or 
higher installed on your computer. WebFile is available 
online at www.window.state.tx.us/webfile. 

Need a WebFile number? 
Call 1-800-442-3453, enter the taxpayer number when 
prompted and choose option number 1. Our automated 
system will require indentifying information, such as total 
revenue from prior report or last payment amount (if 
greater than zero), before releasing the Webfile number. 

Entities Subject to Tax 
The franchise tax is imposed on the following entities that 
are either organized in Texas or doing business in Texas: 
•	 corporations; 
•	 limited liability companies (LLCs), including series LLC(s); 
•	 banks; 
•	 state limited banking associations; 
•	 savings and loan associations; 
•	 S corporations; 
•	 professional corporations; 
•	 partnerships (general, limited and limited liability); 
•	 trusts; 
•	 professional associations; 
•	 business associations; 
• joint ventures; and 
• other legal entities. 

The tax is not imposed on: 
•	 sole proprietorships (except for single member LLCs); 
•	 general partnerships where direct ownership is composed 

entirely of natural persons (except for limited liability 
partnerships); 

•	 entities exempt under Subchapter B of Chapter 171, Tax 
Code; 

•	 certain unincorporated passive entities; 
•	 certain grantor trusts, estates of natural persons and escrows; 
•	 real estate mortgage investment conduits and certain 

qualified real estate investment trusts; 
•	 a nonprofit self insurance trust created under Chapter 2212, 

Insurance Code; 
•	 a trust qualified under Section 401(a), Internal Revenue Code; 
•	 a trust exempt under Section 501(c)(9), Internal Revenue Code; 

or 
•	 unincorporated political committees. 

See Rule 3.581 for information on nontaxable entities. 

Exempt Entities 
Some entities may be exempt from the franchise tax. The 
exemptions vary depending upon the type of organization. 
Exemptions are not automatically granted to an entity. For 
more information on franchise tax exemptions, go to 
www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxpubs/tx96_1045.html. 

Note: An entity that qualifies as a passive entity is not considered 
an exempt entity. 

Passive Entities 
Partnerships (general, limited and limited liability) and trusts 
(other than business trusts) may qualify as a passive entity 
and not owe any franchise tax for a reporting period if at least 
90% of the entity’s federal gross income (as reported on the 
entity’s federal income tax return), for the period upon which 
the tax is based, is from the following sources: 
•	 dividends, interest, foreign currency exchange gain, 

periodic and nonperiodic payments with respect to notional 
principal contracts, option premiums, cash settlements or 
termination payments with respect to a financial instrument, 
and income from a limited liability company; 

•	 distributive shares of partnership income to the extent that 
those distributive shares of income are greater than zero; 

•	 net capital gains from the sale of real property, net gains 
from the sale of commodities traded on a commodities 
exchange and net gains from the sale of securities; and 

•	 royalties from mineral properties, bonuses from mineral 
properties, delay rental income from mineral properties 
and income from other nonoperating mineral interests 
including nonoperating working interests. 

Passive income does not include rent or income received 
by a nonoperator from mineral properties under a joint 
operating agreement if the nonoperator is a member of an 
affiliated group and another member of that group is the 
operator under the same joint operating agreement. 

A passive entity that is registered or is required to be 
registered with the Secretary of State (SOS) or the 
Comptroller’s office must file a No Tax Due Information 
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Report (Form 05-163) annually to affirm that the entity 
qualifies as a passive entity. A passive entity is not required 
to file an Ownership Information Report (Form 05-167). 

A partnership or trust that qualifies as a passive entity for 
the period upon which the franchise tax report is based, 
and is not registered and is not required to be registered 
with the SOS or Comptroller's office, will not be required to 
register with or file a franchise tax report with the 
Comptroller's office. 

A passive entity that is not registered with the Comptroller's 
office and that no longer qualifies as a passive entity must 
file a Nexus Questionnaire (Form AP-114) or a Business 
Questionnaire (Form AP-224) to register with the 
Comptroller's office and begin filing franchise tax reports. 

Disregarded Entities 
An entity’s treatment for federal income tax purposes does 
not determine its responsibility for Texas franchise tax. 
Therefore, partnerships, LLCs and other entities that are 
disregarded for federal income tax purposes, are considered 
separate legal entities for franchise tax reporting purposes. 
The separate entity is responsible for filing its own franchise 
tax report unless it is a member of a combined group. If the 
entity is a member of a combined group, the reporting entity 
for the group may elect to treat the entity as disregarded 
and will not unwind its operations from its “parent” entity. In 
this instance, it will be presumed that both the “parent” entity 
and disregarded entity have nexus in Texas for 
apportionment purposes only. Whether or not the entity is 
disregarded for franchise tax, it must be listed separately 
on the affiliate schedule. Additionally, if the disregarded entity 
is organized in Texas or has physical presence in Texas, it 
will be required to file the appropriate information report 
(Form 05-102 or 05-167). 

Margin 
Unless a taxable entity qualifies and chooses to file using 
the EZ computation, the tax base is the taxable entity’s 
margin and is computed in one of the following ways: 

•	 Total Revenue times 70% 
•	 Total Revenue minus Cost of Goods Sold (COGS) 
•	 Total Revenue minus Compensation 

A taxable entity must make an annual election to deduct 
COGS or compensation by the due date of the franchise 
tax report, the extended due date or the date the report is 
filed, whichever is latest. The election to use COGS or 
compensation is made by filing the franchise tax report using 
one method or the other. This is an annual election and is 
effective for the entire period upon which the tax is based. 

After the due date or the extended due date of the report, a 
taxable entity may not amend its report to change its election 
to COGS or compensation. However, a taxable entity may 
amend its report to change its method of computing margin 
from COGS or compensation to 70% of total revenue or, if 
eligible, the EZ computation. 

Note: Not all entities will qualify to use COGS to compute margin. 
See instructions for Item 11. Cost of goods sold (COGS) 
on page 15 for more information . 

Tax Rates 
The franchise tax rates are: 
•	 1.0% (0.01) for most entities 
•	 0.5% (0.005) for qualifying wholesalers and retailers 
•	 0.575% (0.00575) for those entities with $10 million or less 

in annualized total revenue using the EZ computation 

Qualifying retailers and wholesalers are those entities that 
fall under Divisions F or G of the 1987 Standard Industrial 
Classification manual (www.osha.gov/pls/imis/ 
sicsearch.html) who are primarily engaged in retail and/or 
wholesale trade and apparel rental activities classified as 
Industry 5999 or 7299 of the manual. 

An entity is primarily engaged in retail and/or wholesale trade if: 
1) the total revenue from its activities in retail and wholesale 

trade is greater than the total revenue from its activities 
in trades other than the retail and wholesale trades; 

2) except for eating and drinking places as described in 
Major Group 58 of Division G, less than 50% of the total 
revenue from activities in retail and wholesale trade 
comes from the sale of products it produces or products 
produced by an entity that is part of an affiliated group to 
which the taxable entity also belongs; and 

3) the taxable entity does not provide retail or wholesale utilities, 
including telecommunications services, electricity or gas. 

Note: A product is not considered to be produced if modifications 
made to the acquired product do not increase its sales price 
by more than 10%. 

Annualized Total Revenue 
To determine an entity’s eligibility for the $1,030,000 no tax 
due threshold and qualification for the EZ computation, an 
entity must annualize its total revenue if the period upon which 
the report is based is not equal to 12 months. 

Note: The amount of total revenue used in the tax calculations will 
NOT change as a result of annualizing revenue. Total revenue 
will equal the prescribed amounts for the period upon which 
the tax is based. 

To annualize total revenue, divide total revenue by the 
number of days in the period upon which the report is based, 
and multiply the result by 365. 

Examples: 
1) A taxable entity’s 2012 franchise tax report is based on 

the period 09-15-2011 through 12-31-2011 (108 days), and 
its total revenue for the period is $400,000. The taxable 
entity’s annualized total revenue is $1,351,852 ($400,000 
divided by 108 days multiplied by 365 days). Based on its 
annualized total revenue, the taxable entity would NOT 
qualify for the $1,030,000 no tax due threshold, but is 
eligible to file using the EZ computation. The entity will 
report $400,000 as total revenue for the period. 

2) A taxable entity’s 2012 franchise tax report is based on 
the period 03-01-2010 through 12-31-2011 (671 days), 
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and its total revenue for the period is $1,375,000. The 
taxable entity’s annualized total revenue is $747,951 
($1,375,000 divided by 671 days multiplied by 365 days). 
Based on its annualized total revenue, the taxable entity 
would qualify for the $1,030,000 no tax due threshold, 
and is eligible to file using the No Tax Due Information 
Report (Form 05-163). The entity will report $1,375,000 
as total revenue for the period. 

Minimum Franchise Tax 
There is no minimum tax requirement under the franchise 
tax provisions. An entity that calculates an amount of tax 
due that is less than $1,000 or that has annualized total 
revenue less than or equal to $1,030,000 is not required to 
pay any tax. (See note for tiered partnership exception.) 
The entity, however, must submit all required reports to 
satisfy its filing requirements. 

If an entity meets the $1,030,000 no tax due threshold in 
the previous paragraph, it may file a No Tax Due Information 
Report (Form 05-163). 

Note: A tiered partnership election is not allowed if the lower tier 
entity, before passing total revenue to the upper tier entities, 
has $1,030,000 or less in annualized total revenue or owes 
less than $1,000 in tax. If the election is made and revenue 
is passed, both the upper and lower tier entities will owe 
any amount of tax that is calculated as due even if the 
amount is less than $1,000 or annualized total revenue after 
the tiered partnership election is $1,030,000 or less. 

EZ Computation 
Entities with $10 million or less in annualized total revenue may 
choose to file using the EZ Computation Report (Form 05-169). 

Combined groups are eligible for the EZ computation. Upper 
and lower tier entities, when the tiered partnership election 
has been made, will qualify for the EZ computation only if the 
lower tier entity would have qualified for the EZ computation 
before passing total revenue to the upper tier entities. Entities 
using the EZ computation forego any credits for that report 
year, including the temporary credit for business loss 
carryforwards and economic development credits. 

The franchise tax rate for entities choosing to file using 
the EZ computation is 0.575% (0.00575). No deduction is 
allowed for COGS or compensation when choosing the 
EZ computation. 

Discounts 
Discounts do not apply for the 2010 through 2013 franchise 
tax reports because the no tax due thresholds of $1 million 
(for 2010 and 2011) and $1,030,000 (for 2012 and 2013) 
exceed the total revenue to which the discounts would apply 
($900,000). 

Due Dates 
If the due date (original or extended) of a report falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday included on the list 
published before Jan. 1 of each year in the Texas Register, 
the due date will be the next business day. 

Annual Reports - due May 15 of each report year. 

Taxable entities that became subject to the franchise tax 
on or after Oct. 4, 2009, will owe a first annual report that is 
due on May 15 of the year following the year the entity 
became subject to the franchise tax. 

Estimated Tax 
Texas law does not require the filing of estimated tax reports 
or payments. 

Annual Reports 
Report Year 
The year in which the franchise tax report is due. The 2012 
annual report is due May 15, 2012. 

Privilege Period 
Jan. 1, 2012 through Dec. 31, 2012. 

For entities that became subject to the tax during the 2011 
calendar year, the privilege period begins on the entity’s 
begin date and ends on Dec. 31, 2012. 

Accounting Period 
Accounting Year Begin Date:
 
Enter the day after the end date on the previous franchise
 
tax report. For example, if the 2011 annual franchise tax
 
report had an end date of 12-31-10, then the begin date on
 
the 2012 annual report should be 01-01-11.
 

For entities that became subject to the tax during the 2011
 
calendar year, enter the date the entity became subject to
 
the tax.
 

Accounting Year End Date:
 
Enter the last accounting period end date for federal income
 
tax purposes in the year before the year the report is
 
originally due.
 

Entities that became subject to the tax during the 2011
 
calendar year and have a federal accounting year end date
 
that is prior to the date the entity became subject to the tax,
 
will use the day they became subject to the franchise tax
 
as the accounting year end date on the first annual report.
 
This results in a zero report.
 

Example: An entity became subject to the tax on 10-05-11.
 
The entity’s federal accounting year end date is 08-31. Since
 
the federal accounting year end date of 08-31-11 is prior to
 
the date the entity first became subject to the tax, both the
 
accounting period begin and end date on the 2012 annual
 
report will be 10-05-11. This results in a zero report. On the
 
2013 annual report, the entity will file with an accounting
 
period 10-05-11 through 08-31-12.
 

Combined Groups 
For the period that a combined group exists, the combined 
group will file only annual reports. For any accounting period 
that an entity is not part of a combined group, the entity 
must file a separate report. 
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Final Reports 
An entity that ceases doing business in Texas for any reason 
(i.e., termination, withdrawal, merger, etc.) is required to 
file a final franchise tax report (Forms 05-158-A and 05-
158-B, 05-163 or 05-169) and pay any additional tax, if due. 

Due Date 
A final report is due 60 days after the entity ceases doing 
business in Texas. 

Accounting period 
Accounting Year Begin Date:
 
The day after the end date on the previous franchise tax
 
report.
 

Accounting Year End Date:
 
The date the taxable entity ceases doing business in Texas.
 
For a Texas entity, the end date is the effective date of
 
termination, merger or conversion into a nontaxable entity.
 
For a non-Texas entity, the end date is the date the entity
 
ceases doing business in Texas.
 

Example: A Texas entity filed a 2012 annual franchise tax 
report using a 12-31-11 accounting year end date. The entity 
wants to end its existence on 08-03-12. To obtain a certificate 
of account status for termination, the entity must file a final 
report and pay tax for the accounting period from 01-01-12 
through 08-03-12. If the entity is not terminated until 08-16-
12, the entity must file an amended final report. The 
amended final report is due the 60th day after 08-16-12, 
the date the entity terminated. 

Taxable entities must satisfy all tax requirements or state in 
the appropriate articles which entity will be responsible for 
satisfying all franchise tax requirements before they may 
terminate legal existence in Texas. All documents required by 
the Texas Secretary of State to terminate legal existence in 
Texas must be received in that office before 5:00 p.m. on Dec. 
31 to avoid liability for the next annual franchise tax report. If 
Dec. 31 falls on a weekend, the documents must be received 
by 5:00 p.m. on the last working day of the year. Postmark 
dates will not be accepted. You may refer to 
www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/franchise/tax_req_sos.html for 
more information on filing requirements. This section does not 
apply to financial institutions. 

Non-Texas entities that have not registered with the SOS 
office, but have been doing business in Texas, must satisfy 
all franchise tax requirements to end their responsibility for 
franchise tax. The entity must notify the Comptroller’s office 
in writing and include the date the entity ceased doing 
business in Texas. 

Combined Groups 
If every member of a combined group ceases doing 
business in Texas, a final report will need to be filed and 
paid before a taxable entity will receive clearance from the 
Comptroller for termination, cancellation, withdrawal or 
merger. In all other cases, a combined group will not file a 
final report. 

Except as provided below, if the entity that ceases doing 
business in Texas is part of a combined group, the data 
that should be reported on the final report will be included 
in the combined group’s report for the corresponding 
accounting period. The entity should use Form 05-359, 
Request for Certificate of Account Status to identify the 
reporting entity of the combined group. 

An entity that joins a combined group and then ceases doing 
business in Texas in the accounting year that would be 
covered by a final report is required to file a final report for 
the data from the accounting year begin date through the 
date before it joined the combined group. The period 
beginning with the date the entity joined the combined group 
through the date the entity ceased doing business in Texas 
will be reported on the combined group’s annual report for 
the corresponding period. 

A member of a combined group that leaves the combined 
group and then ceases doing business in Texas during the 
accounting year that would be covered by a final report is 
required to file a final report for the data from the date the 
entity left the combined group through the date that the entity 
ceased doing business in Texas. 

Change in Accounting Period 
Texas law does not provide for the filing of short period 
franchise tax reports. A change in a federal accounting 
period or the loss of a federal filing election does not change 
the begin and end dates of an accounting period for 
franchise tax reporting purposes. The keys to the period 
upon which the tax is based are the begin and end dates. 
The begin date will be the day after the end date on the 
prior franchise tax report, and the end date will be the last 
federal tax accounting period end date in the year prior to 
the year in which the report is originally due. Therefore, a 
change in a federal accounting period may result in an 
accounting period on the franchise tax report of more or 
less than 12 months. 

Example 1: A fiscal year entity changes its accounting year 
end from 09-30-11 to a calendar year end of 12-31-11. 
Because of the change in the federal accounting period, 
the entity is required to file a short period federal return 
covering the period 10-01-11 through 12-31-11. For 
franchise tax reporting purposes, the entity would file its 
2012 report based on the period beginning 10-01-10 through 
12-31-11, combining the relevant information from the two 
federal income tax reports. 

Example 2: A calendar year entity lost its S election under 
the Internal Revenue Code on June 27, 2011. As a result, 
the entity was required to file a short period federal S return 
for the period 01-01-11 through 06-27-11. The entity did 
not change its accounting year end and filed a second short 
period federal return for the period 06-28-11 through 
12-31-11. For franchise tax reporting purposes, the entity 
would include the period 01-01-11 through 12-31-11 on its 
2012 annual report and would combine the relevant 
information from the two federal reports. 
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Extension of Time to File 
Please see extension requirements for combined reports and 
electronic funds transfer (EFT) payors in the respective 
sections of these instructions. 

If an entity cannot file its annual report, including the first 
annual report, by the original due date, it may request an 
extension of time to file the report. If granted, the extension 
for a non-EFT payor will be through Nov. 15, 2012. The 
extension payment must be at least 90% of the tax that will 
be due with the report or 100% of the tax reported as due 
on the prior franchise tax report (provided the prior report 
was filed on or before May 14, 2012). The extension request 
must be made on Form 05-164 and must be postmarked 
on or before May 15, 2012. If a timely filed extension request 
does not meet the payment requirements, then penalty and 
interest will apply to any part of the 90% not paid by May 
15, 2012, and to any part of the 10% not paid by Nov. 15, 
2012. 

A taxable entity that became subject to the franchise tax 
during the 2011 calendar year may not use the 100% 
extension option. 

An entity that was included as an affiliate on a 2011 
combined group report may not use the 100% extension 
option if filing as a separate entity in 2012. 

Note: A combined group must file the Extension Request (Form 
05-164) and an Affiliate List (Form 05-165) to have a valid 
extension for all members of the group. 

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) 
Taxable entities that paid $10,000 or more in franchise tax 
during the preceding state fiscal year are required to 
electronically transmit franchise tax payments to the 
Comptroller’s office for the subsequent year. Additional 
information about EFT requirements are outlined in Rule 
3.9 concerning electronic filing and electronic fund transfers. 

The extended due date for mandatory EFT payors is different 
from that of other franchise taxpayers. An EFT payor may 
extend the filing date from May 15, 2012, to Aug. 15, 2012 by 
timely making an extension payment electronically using 
TexNet (tax type code 13080 Franchise Tax Extension) or 
WebFile. Mandatory EFT payors must remit at least 90% of 
the tax that will be due with the report or 100% of the tax 
reported as due on the prior franchise tax report, provided 
the prior year’s report was filed on or before May 14, 2012. 

An EFT payor may request a second extension to Nov. 15, 
2012, to file the report by paying electronically before Aug. 
15, 2012, the balance of the amount of tax due that will be 
reported as due on Nov. 15, 2012, using TexNet (tax type 
code 13080 Franchise Tax Extension), WebFile or by 
submitting a paper Extension Request (Form 05-164) if the 
entity has paid all of the tax due with its first extension. 

If an online extension payment is made, the taxable entity 
should NOT submit a paper Extension Request (Form 05-
164). 

Combined Groups 
If any one member of a combined group receives notice 
that it is required to electronically transfer franchise tax 
payments, then the combined group is required to 
electronically transfer payments. The payment must be 
remitted as discussed above; however, the combined group 
must also submit an Extension Affiliate List (Form 05-165) 
to the Comptroller’s office for the first extension request. 

Penalties and Interest 
Late Filing Penalties 
Taxpayers will be assessed a $50 penalty when a report is 
filed late. The penalty will be assessed regardless of whether 
the taxpayer subsequently files the report or any tax is due 
for the period covered by the late-filed report. This $50 
penalty is due in addition to any other penalties assessed 
for the reporting period. 

A penalty of 5% of the tax due shall be imposed on an entity 
that fails to pay the tax when due. If the entity fails to pay 
the tax within 30 days after the due date, an additional 5% 
penalty shall be imposed. 

Delinquent taxes accrue interest beginning 60 days after 
the date the tax is due. The interest rate to be charged is 
the prime rate plus 1%, as published in The Wall Street 
Journal on the first day of each calendar year that is not a 
Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday. 

Late EFT payments are subject to the same penalties noted 
above. Also, failure to follow the EFT requirements could 
result in an additional 5% penalty being assessed. 

Forfeiture 
If an entity does not file its franchise tax report and required 
information report and/or does not pay tax, penalty or interest 
due within 45 days of the due date, its powers, rights and 
its right to transact business may be forfeited. Entities that 
fail to file or pay within 120 days of the forfeiture of the right 
to transact business are subject to having their registration 
forfeited. 

Upon the forfeiture of the right to transact business, the 
officers and directors of the entity become personally liable 
for each debt of the entity that is created or incurred in this 
state after the due date of the report and/or tax and before 
the privileges are restored. Texas Tax Code Section 
171.255. 

Combined Reporting 
Taxable entities that are part of an affiliated group engaged 
in a unitary business shall file a combined group report in 
lieu of individual reports. The combined group is a single 
taxable entity for purposes of calculating franchise tax due 
and completing the required tax reports. 

An affiliated group is a group of entities (with or without nexus 
in Texas) in which a controlling interest (more than 50%) is 
owned by a common owner, either corporate or noncorporate, 
or by one or more of the member entities. 
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An affiliated group can include: 
•	 pass-through entities, including partnerships; 
•	 limited liability companies taxed as partnerships under 

federal law; 
•	 S corporations; and 
•	 disregarded entities under federal law. 

A combined group cannot include: 
•	 taxable entities that conduct business outside the United 

States if 80% or more of the taxable entity’s property and 
payroll are assigned to locations outside the United 
States; 

•	 insurance companies that pay the gross premium tax; 
•	 an entity exempt under Chapter 171, Subchapter B; or 
•	 passive entities; however, the pro rata share of net income 

from a passive entity shall be included in the total revenue 
to the extent it was not included in the margin of another 
taxable entity. (See the section on Passive Entities for 
additional information.) 

A unitary business is defined as a single economic enterprise 
that is made up of separate parts of a single entity or of a 
commonly controlled group of entities that are sufficiently 
interdependent, integrated and interrelated through their 
activities so as to provide a synergy and mutual benefit that 
produces a sharing or exchange of value among them and 
a significant flow of value to the separate parts. All affiliated 
entities are presumed to be engaged in a unitary business. 

See franchise tax Rule 3.590 for more detailed information 
on combined reporting. 

Reporting Entity 
The combined group’s choice of an entity that is: 
1) the parent entity, if it is a part of the combined group, or 
2) the entity that is included within the combined group, is 

subject to Texas’ taxing jurisdiction, and has the greatest 
Texas business activity during the first period upon which 
the first combined group report is based, as measured 
by the Texas receipts after eliminations for that period. 

The reporting entity shall file a combined report on behalf 
of the group together with all reports and schedules required 
by the Comptroller. The reporting entity shall change only 
when the entity (other than the parent) is no longer subject 
to Texas’ jurisdiction to tax or the reporting entity is no longer 
a member of the combined group. 

Combined Report 
A combined group shall include all taxable entities without 
regard to the $1,030,000 no tax due threshold on total 
revenue. For example, even if an entity in a combined group 
on its own has less than or equal to $1,030,000 in total 
revenue, that entity must still be included in the report for the 
combined group. 

Unless a combined group qualifies and chooses to file using 
the EZ computation, the combined group’s margin is 
computed in one of the following ways: 

•	 Total Revenue times 70% 
•	 Total Revenue minus Cost of Goods Sold (COGS)** 
•	 Total Revenue minus Compensation 
**If eligible. See instructions for Item 11. Cost of goods sold (COGS) on 

page 15 for more information. 

A combined group must make an annual election to deduct 
COGS or compensation by the due date of the franchise tax 
report, the extended due date or the date the report is filed, 
whichever is latest. The election to use COGS or compensation 
is made by filing the franchise tax report using one method or 
the other. This is an annual election and is effective for the 
entire period upon which the tax is based. The election is 
effective for all members of the combined group. 

After the due date or the extended due date of the report a 
combined group may not amend its report to change its election 
to COGS or compensation. However, a combined group may 
amend its report to change its method of computing margin 
from COGS or compensation to 70% of total revenue or, if 
eligible, the EZ computation. 

A combined group may qualify to use the EZ computation if its 
combined annualized total revenue is $10 million or less. 

A combined group shall look at the total revenue of the group 
to determine the applicable tax rate. If the revenue from retail 
and/ or wholesale activities is greater than the revenue from 
all other activities, then the group may qualify as a retailer 
and/or wholesaler and may use the .5% (0.005) tax rate as 
long as it meets all the criteria specified for the .5% (0.005) 
rate. See Tax Rates, page 3. 

Accounting Period of the Combined Group 
The combined group’s accounting period is generally 
determined as follows: 
•	 if two or more members of a group file a federal 

consolidated return, the group’s accounting period is the 
federal tax period of the federal consolidated group; 

•	 in all other cases, the accounting period is the federal 
tax period of the reporting entity. 

See the accounting period begin and end date requirements 
in the annual and final report sections. 

The accounting year begin and end dates entered on page 
1 of the franchise tax report must reflect the full accounting 
period on which the combined group report is based. 

If the federal tax period of a member differs from the federal 
tax period of the group, the reporting entity will determine 
the portion of that member’s revenue, cost of goods sold, 
compensation, etc. to be included by preparing a separate 
income statement based on federal income tax reporting 
methods for the months included in the group’s accounting 
period. 

Note: The affiliates’ accounting year begin and end dates on the 
affiliate schedule must be within the accounting year begin 
and end dates entered on page 1 of the franchise tax report. 
For example, a combined group selects a newly formed 
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entity (formed 07-01-2011) as the reporting entity. The 
combined group’s franchise tax report is based on the 
accounting period 01-01-2011 through 12-31-2011. On page 
1 of the franchise tax report, the accounting year begin date 
is 01-01-2011, and the accounting period end date is 12-
31-2011. On the affiliate schedule, the newly formed entity 
will be listed with an accounting year begin date of 07-01-
2011 and an accounting year end date of 12-31-2011. 

Newly Formed or Acquired Entities 
When a combined group acquires or forms another taxable 
entity during the period upon which the combined group’s report 
is based, it will be presumed that the newly acquired or formed 
entity is unitary and will be included in the combined filing. 

See the annual and final report sections of these instructions 
for additional information. 

Combined Total Revenue 
A combined group shall determine its total revenue by: 
1. calculating the total revenue of each of its members as if 

the member were an individual taxable entity without 
regard to the $1,030,000 no tax due threshold (See 
instructions for Items 1-9 on Form 05-158-A to compute 
total revenue on an individual entity basis.); 

2. adding together the total revenues of the members 
determined under (1); and 

3. subtracting, to the extent included in (2), items of total 
revenue received from a member of the combined group. 

Combined Cost of Goods Sold (COGS) 
A combined group that elects to subtract COGS shall 
determine that amount by: 
1. calculating the COGS for each of its members as if the 

member were an individual taxable entity (See 
instructions for Items 11-13 on Form 05-158-A to compute 
COGS on an individual entity basis.); 

2. adding together the amounts of COGS determined under 
(1); and 

3. subtracting from the amount determined under (2) any 
COGS amounts paid from one member of the combined 
group to another member of the combined group, but 
only to the extent the corresponding item of total revenue 
was subtracted. 

Note: COGS amounts may be computed ONLY for those affiliates 
that are eligible for COGS. See instructions on page 15 for 
more information. 

Combined Compensation 
A combined group that elects to subtract compensation shall 
determine that amount by: 
1. calculating the compensation for each of its members as 

if each member were an individual taxable entity (See 
instructions for Items 15-17 on Form 05-158-A to compute 
compensation on an individual entity basis.); 

2. adding together the amounts of compensation determined 
under (1); and 

3. subtracting from the amount determined under (2) any 
compensation amounts paid from one member of the 
combined group to another member of the combined 

group, but only to the extent the corresponding item of 
total revenue was subtracted. 

If any employee, officer, director, etc. is paid by more than 
one member of the combined group, that individual’s 
compensation is capped at $330,000 per 12-month period 
upon which the report is based when computing the 
compensation deduction for the group. 

Combined Apportionment 
Texas gross receipts of a combined group include only 
receipts for entities within the group that are organized in 
Texas or that have nexus in Texas. Receipts from 
transactions between members that are excluded from 
revenue may not be included in Texas Gross Receipts. 
However, Texas Gross Receipts will include certain sales 
of tangible personal property made to third party 
purchasers if the tangible personal property is ultimately 
delivered to a purchaser in Texas without substantial 
modification. For example, drop shipments made by a 
member of a combined group from a Texas location to a 
Texas purchaser would be included in Texas receipts 
based on the amount billed to the third party purchaser if 
the seller is also a member of the combined group and 
the seller does not have nexus. 

Gross Receipts Everywhere for a combined group should 
include receipts for all entities within the group, regardless 
of whether the entities have nexus in Texas. Receipts from 
transactions between members that are excluded from 
revenue may not be included in Gross Receipts Everywhere. 

Additional Reporting Requirement for Combined Groups 
with Temporary Credit 
The reporting entity of a combined group with a temporary 
credit for business loss carryforward preserved for itself and/ 
or its affiliates must submit common owner information by 
the due date of the report. This information must be submitted 
to satisfy franchise tax filing requirements, even if the 
combined group is not claiming the credit on the current year’s 
report. For 2012, submit the common owner information 
electronically at window.texas.gov/commonowner/. 

Combined Extensions 
A combined group may only use the 100% extension option 
if the combined group has lost a member or if the members 
of the combined group are the same as they were on the 
last day of the period upon which the report due in the 
previous calendar year was based. 

A combined group must timely submit Forms 05-164 and 
05-165 along with the required payment to request an 
extension of time to file its report. See the Extensions and 
EFT sections of this booklet for additional information. 

Liability for the Tax 
Each taxable entity identified on the Affiliate Schedule (Form 
05-166) is jointly and severally liable for the franchise tax of 
the combined group [Texas Tax Code, Sec. 171.1014(i)]. 
Notice of any such tax liability shall be sent to the reporting 
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entity at the address listed on the report and shall be deemed 
sufficient and adequate notice of such liability to each 
member of the combined group. Separate notice to each 
member shall not be required. 

Tiered Partnership Election 
A “tiered partnership arrangement” means an ownership 
structure in which any of the interests in one taxable entity 
treated as a partnership or an S corporation for federal 
income tax purposes (a “lower tier entity”) are owned by 
one or more other taxable entities (an “upper tier entity”). A 
tiered partnership arrangement may have two or more tiers. 
The tiered partnership election, under Sec.171.1015 Tax 
Code , is not mandatory; it is a filing option for entities in a 
tiered partnership arrangement. 

The tiered partnership election is not an alternative to 
combined reporting. Combined reporting is mandatory for 
taxable entities that meet the ownership and unitary criteria. 
Therefore, the tiered partnership election is not allowed if 
the lower tier entity is included in a combined group. 
Additionally, the tiered partnership election is not allowed if 
the lower tier entity, before passing total revenue to the upper 
tier entities, has $1,030,000 or less in annualized total 
revenue or owes less than $1,000 in tax. 

The tiered partnership election allows the lower tier entity 
to pass its total revenue to its upper tier entities. The upper 
tier entities then report this passed revenue with their own 
total revenue. It is important to note that this election does 
not allow the lower tier entity to pass its deductions for cost 
of goods sold or compensation to the upper tier entities. 

The requirements for filing under the tiered partnership 
election are: 
•	 All taxable entities involved in the tiered partnership election 

must file a franchise tax report, a Public Information Report 
(Form 05-102) or Ownership Information Report (Form 05-
167), and the Tiered Partnership Report (Form 05-175). 

•	 Both the upper and the lower tier entities must blacken 
the tiered partnership election circle on their tax reports. 

•	 Total revenue may be passed only to upper tier entities 
that are subject to the Texas franchise tax. 

•	 Total revenue must be passed to upper tier taxable entities 
based on ownership percentage. 

•	 Deductions (COGS or compensation) may not be passed 
to upper tier entities. 

•	 The upper and lower tier entities may use the EZ 
Computation (Form 05-169) only if the lower tier entity has 
$10 million or less in annualized total revenue before total 
revenue is passed to the upper tier entities. 

•	 The upper tier entities are not eligible to file a No Tax Due 
Information Report (Form 05-163). 

Both the upper and lower tier entities will owe any amount 
of tax that is calculated as due even if the amount is less 
than $1,000 or annualized total revenue after the tiered 
partnership election is less than $1,030,000. 

If the upper and lower tier entities have different accounting 
periods, the upper tier entity must allocate the total revenue 
reported from the lower tier entity to the accounting period 
on which the upper tier entity’s report is based. 

Credits 
2008 Temporary Credit for Business Loss Carryforwards 
A taxable entity is eligible for the credit if the entity was, on 
May 1, 2006, subject to the franchise tax. The credit is based 
on business loss carryforwards that were created on the 2003 
and subsequent franchise tax reports that were not exhausted 
or expired on a report due before Jan. 1, 2008. Business 
loss carryforwards must have been used to offset any positive 
amount of earned surplus, even in years when no tax was 
due or the tax due was based on taxable capital. 

Each eligible taxable entity must have preserved its right to 
take the credit on or before the due date of its 2008 report. 

The taxable entity (including combined groups) must elect to 
claim the credit on or before the original or extended due date 
of the report on which the credit will be taken. The election is 
made by actually taking the credit on a completed report form 
filed on or before the original or extended due date. 

A taxable entity that is a combined group is allowed to take a 
credit for eligible members of the combined group (i.e., the 
member was subject to the franchise tax on May 1, 2006, 
and preserved the right to take the credit). If a member of a 
combined group changes combined groups the business loss 
carryforward of that member will no longer be included in the 
temporary credit calculation of the group and the related share 
of any temporary credit carried over from a previous year is 
lost to the group. There is no proration for a partial year. 

See Rule 3.594 for additional information regarding this credit. 

Economic Development Credits 
A taxable entity that established a research and 
development or job creation credit on a franchise tax report 
originally due prior to Jan. 1, 2008, may claim any unused 
credit carried forward to offset the tax on margin. 

A taxable entity that established a capital investment credit 
on a franchise tax report originally due prior to Jan. 1, 2008, 
may claim any unused installments and credit carried 
forward to offset the tax on margin. 

Note: An enterprise project that established a capital investment 
credit on a 2008 franchise tax report may carry forward any 
unused credit to offset the tax on margin. See Rule 3.593 
for additional information. 

Amended Reports 
If an entity needs to amend a report, it must file all pages of 
the report (as originally filed) along with a cover letter 
explaining the reason for the amendment. The entity must 
write “AMENDED” on the top of the report and submit 
supporting documentation. See Rule 3.584 for additional 
information. 
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Instructions for Completing Taxpayer Information

Included on Texas Franchise Tax Forms
 

Taxpayer number: 
Enter the Texas taxpayer identification 
number that has been assigned to your 
entity by the Comptroller’s office. If you 
do not have an assigned number, enter 

(FEI) number. 

Taxpayer name: 
The legal name 
of the entity filing 
the report. 

Mailing address: 
The mailing 
address of the 
entity filing the 
report. If there is 
a change of 
address for this 
entity, please 
blacken the circle 
as indicated. 

If this report is 
being filed on 

accordingly. 

information in 
the combined 
reporting 
section. 

Due date: Privilege period: Secretary of State 
For annual filers, enter May 15, See the privilege file number or 
2012. If you are filing a final period information Comptroller file 
report, enter the due date that in the annual number: 
was provided on the letter you report sections. The number 

Texas Franchise Tax Report - Page 1 

Privilege period covered by this reportDue date 

Annual13250Tcode 

Taxpayer number Report year 

05-158-A 

Taxpayer Name 

Mailing address 

City State Country ZIP Code Plus 4 

Secretary of State file number 
or Comptroller file number 

Blacken circle if the 
address has changed 

Blacken circle if this is a combined report 
Blacken circle if Total Revenue is adjusted for 
Tiered Partnership Election, see instructions 

Blacken circle if this is a Corporation or Limited Liability Company Blacken circle if this is an Entity other than a Corporation or Limited Liability Company 

** If not twelve months, see instructions for annualized revenue 

Accounting year 
begin date** 

Accounting year 
end date 

SIC code NAICS codeym m  d  d  ym m  d  d  y  y 

your federal employer identification 

NAICS code: 
Enter the code that is 
appropriate for the taxable 
entity or the code that reflects 
the overall business activity 

SIC code: 
Enter the code that is 
appropriate for the 
taxable entity or the 
code that reflects the 
overall business activity 

Accounting year end date: 
See the accounting year 
end date requirements 
in the annual and final 
report sections. Also see 
the accounting period 
information in the 
combined reporting 
section. 

Accounting year begin date: 
See the accounting year begin 
date requirements in the 
annual and final report 
sections. Also see the 
accounting period 

Combined Report: 

behalf of an affiliated 
group of entities 
engaged in a unitary 
business, please 
blacken the circle 

assigned to the 
entity by the SOS 
or Comptroller. 

received. 

Tiered Partnership: 
If you are making a tiered 
partnership election and 
are the upper tier entity 
including revenue passed 
to you by the lower tier 
entity, or if you are the 
lower tier entity excluding 
revenue passed to an 

Entity type: 
Blacken circle if 
this entity is legally 
formed as a 
partnership, 
association, trust 
or entity other 
than a corporation, 
limited liability 
company or 
financial institution. 

Report year: 
The year the report is due. 

Entity type: 
Blacken circle if this entity 
is legally formed as a 
corporation, limited 
liability company or 
financial institution. 

upper tier entity, blacken 
this circle and complete 
Form 05-175. Do not 
blacken this circle just 
because you own an 
interest in another entity. 

of a combined group. 
The 1987 Standard 
Industrial Classification 
(SIC) codes can be 
found at www.osha.gov/ 
pls/imis/sicsearch.html. 

of a combined group. The 
North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS) 
codes can be found at 
www.census.gov/eos/www/ 
naics/. 

10 

www.census.gov/eos/www
http:www.osha.gov


 

Specific Line Instructions for

Each Report Included in this Booklet
 

Form 05-102 
Texas Franchise Tax Public Information 
Report 
Filing Requirements: Each corporation, LLC and financial 
institution that has a franchise tax responsibility must file a 
public information report (PIR) to satisfy their filing obligation. 
The PIR is due on the date the franchise tax report is due. 
The report must be completed and signed by an officer, 
director or other authorized person. A separate PIR is to be 
filed for each corporation, each LLC and each financial 
institution that files a separate franchise tax report or that is 
part of a combined group (unless the corporation, LLC or 
financial institution is not organized in Texas and does not 
have physical presence in Texas). 

Even if the franchise tax report is filed and all taxes paid, 
the right to transact business may be forfeited for failure to 
file the completed and signed PIR. The effects of forfeiture 
include the denial of the corporation’s or LLC’s right to sue 
or defend in a Texas court, and each officer and director 
becomes personally liable for certain debts of the 
corporation or LLC (Secs. 171.251, 171.252 and 171.255, 
Tax Code). Forfeiture provisions do not apply to financial 
institutions (Secs. 171.259 and 171.260, Tax Code). 

Changes to the registered agent or registered office must 
be filed directly with the Secretary of State, and cannot be 
made on this form. The changes can be made online or on 
forms downloaded from their website at www.sos.state.tx.us/ 
corp/forms_option.shtml. 

If there are no changes to the information in Section A of 
this report, then blacken the circle as indicated and complete 
Sections B and C. If no information is displayed or preprinted 
on this form, complete all applicable items. 

Section A: Report the name, title and mailing address of 
each officer and director of the corporation, LLC or financial 
institution as of the date the report is filed. If ALL the 
preprinted information in Section A is correct, blacken the 
circle located below the mailing address on the form. 
Otherwise, mark through any incorrect information and type 
or print the correct information next to the incorrect item or, 
if Section A is blank, complete Section A. 

Domestic profit corporations and domestic professional 
corporations must list all officers, which must include the 
president and secretary, and all directors. One person may 
hold all offices. Domestic non-profit corporations must list all 
officers. Different persons must hold the offices of president 
and secretary. There is a minimum of three directors. Domestic 
limited liability companies must list all managers and, if the 
company is member-managed, list all members. All officers, if 
any, must be listed. Non-Texas entities must list all officers 
and directors that are required by the laws of the state or 
country of incorporation or organization. 

Sections B and C: Complete both sections as applicable 
for the entity for which this report is filed. 

Processing, Accessing and Correcting Information 
Reported on the PIR: 
Reports filed by Texas corporations or LLCs and corporations or 
LLCs registered with the Secretary of State (SOS) are sent to the 
SOS, as required by law. After processing, officer and director 
information from the report is made available on the Comptroller’s 
Certificate of Account Status website, http://ourcpa.cpa.state.tx.us/ 
coa/Index.html. If the information is not available online, you may 
request a copy of the most recent PIR by contacting us at 
open.records@cpa.state.tx.us, or write to: 

COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS 
Open Records Section 
P. O. Box 13528
 
Austin, Texas 78711-3528
 

Changes to officer and director information that occur after 
the report is filed, should be reported to the Comptroller on 
the next PIR the corporation, LLC or financial institution is 
required to file. The Comptroller will not accept changes 
during the year, except as noted below. 

An individual whose name was included on the report, but 
who was not an officer or director on the date the report 
was filed, may file a sworn statement to that effect with the 
Comptroller. A corporation, LLC or financial institution that 
made an error on its PIR may file an amended PIR with a 
cover letter explaining the error. 

Signature Block: Report may be signed by an officer, 
director or other authorized person. This includes a paid 
preparer authorized to sign the report. 

Form 05-158-A 
Texas Franchise Tax Report – Page 1 
Filing Requirements: Any entity (including a combined 
group) that does not qualify to file using the EZ computation 
or that does not have $1,030,000 or less in annualized total 
revenue (qualifying to file the No Tax Due Information 
Report) should file this report. 

Note: If a tiered partnership election is made and revenue is 
passed, both the upper and lower tier entities will owe any 
amount of tax that is calculated as due, even if the amount 
is less than $1,000 or annualized total revenue after the 
tiered partnership election is $1,030,000 or less. 

A taxable entity must make an annual election to deduct 
cost of goods sold (COGS) or compensation by the due 
date of the franchise tax report, the extended due date 
or the date the report is filed, whichever is latest. The 
election to use COGS or compensation is made by filing 
the franchise tax report using one method or the other. This 
is an annual election and is effective for the entire period 
upon which the tax is based. 
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After the due date or the extended due date of the report, a 
taxable entity may not amend its report to change its election 
to COGS or compensation. However, a taxable entity may 
amend its report to change its method of computing margin 
from COGS or compensation to 70% of total revenue or, if 
eligible, the EZ computation. 

Note: A taxable entity may elect to use COGS to compute margin 
ONLY if the taxable entity sells real or tangible personal 
property in the ordinary course of business OR if the taxable 
entity qualifies to compute COGS under any one of the 
exceptions noted in Texas Tax Code Section 171.1012 or 
Rule 3.588. 

The instructions for Items 1-7 and 9 below are for taxable 
entities that are filing as a separate entity and not as part of 
a combined group. A combined group should follow these 
specific instructions for each member of the group and then 
add across each item to determine the amounts that will be 
reported for the group. Intercompany eliminations should 
be reported on Item 9 as an exclusion from revenue. 

The amounts referenced in the instructions presume that a 
separate federal income tax return was filed by each 
separate taxable entity. If a taxable entity was part of a 
federal consolidated return or was disregarded for federal 
tax purposes and is not being treated as disregarded in a 
combined group report for franchise tax purposes, report 
the amounts on Items 1-7 and 9 as if the entity had filed a 
separate return for federal income tax purposes. 

The instructions for Items 11-13 and 15-17 below are also 
for taxable entities that are filing as a separate entity and 
not as part of a combined group. A combined group should 
follow these specific instructions for each member of the 
group, add across each item, and then subtract any 
intercompany eliminations to determine the amounts that 
will be reported. Eliminations may be made only to the extent 
that the related items of revenue were eliminated. 

The line items indicated in this section refer to specific 
lines from the 2011 Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
forms. The statute and administrative rules base total 
revenue on specific line items from the 2006 IRS forms 
and state that in computing total revenue for a 
subsequent report year, total revenue: 
•	 is based on the 2006 equivalent line numbers on any 

subsequent version of that form and 
•	 is computed based on the Internal Revenue Code in 

effect for the federal tax year beginning on Jan. 1, 2007. 
The actual line numbers in the statute and rules are not 
updated to reflect subsequent changes in the federal 
form line numbering. Although the instructions are 
updated annually to reflect federal line numbering 
changes that affect total revenue, be aware that federal 
line numbers are subject to change throughout the year. 
FAQ #22 under Tax Rule 3.587 Margin: Total Revenue 
tracks the cumulative changes in federal form numbers. 

Item 1. Gross receipts or sales 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as a corporation for federal tax 

purposes, enter the amount from line 1e, 2011 Form 1120. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as an S corporation for federal tax 
purposes, enter the amount from line 1e, 2011 Form 1120S. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a partnership for federal tax 
purposes, enter the amount from line 1e, 2011 Form 1065. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a trust for federal tax purposes, 
enter the amount from line 3, Schedule C, Form 1040. 

•	 For a taxable entity that is a single member LLC filing as 
a sole proprietorship for federal tax purposes, enter the 
amount from line 3, Schedule C, Form 1040. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing a federal tax form other than those 
mentioned above, enter an amount that is substantially 
equivalent to the amounts discussed in this section. 

Item 2. Dividends 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as a corporation for federal tax 

purposes, enter the amount from line 4, Form 1120. 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as an S corporation for federal 

tax purposes, enter the amount from line 5a, Schedule 
K, Form 1120S. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a partnership for federal tax 
purposes, enter the amount from line 6a, Schedule K, 
Form 1065. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a trust for federal tax 
purposes, enter the amount from line 2a, Form 1041. 

•	 To the extent dividends earned by the LLC are included 
for a taxable entity registered as a single member LLC 
and filing as a sole proprietorship for federal tax purposes, 
enter the amount associated with dividends from line 6, 
Schedule C, Form 1040. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing a federal tax form other than those 
mentioned above, enter an amount that is substantially 
equivalent to the amounts discussed in this section. 

Item 3. Interest 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as a corporation for federal tax 

purposes, enter the amount from line 5, Form 1120. 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as an S corporation for federal 

tax purposes, enter the amount from line 4, Schedule K, 
Form 1120S. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a partnership for federal tax 
purposes, enter the amount from line 5, Schedule K, Form 1065. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a trust for federal tax 
purposes, enter the amount from line 1, Form 1041. 

•	 To the extent interest earned by the LLC is included for a 
taxable entity registered as a single member LLC and 
filing as a sole proprietorship for federal tax purposes, 
enter the amount associated with interest from line 6, 
Schedule C, Form 1040. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing a federal tax form other than those 
mentioned above, enter an amount that is substantially 
equivalent to the amounts discussed in this section. 

Item 4. Rents 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as a corporation for federal tax 

purposes, enter the amount from line 6, 2011 Form 1120. 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as an S corporation for federal tax 

purposes, enter the amount from line 3a, Schedule K, Form 
1025S, and the amount from lines 18a and 19, 2011 Form 
8825. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a partnership for federal tax 
purposes, enter the amount from line 3a, Schedule K, Form 
1065 and the amount from line 18a, 2011 Form 8825. 12 



 

  

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a trust for federal tax purposes, 
enter rents included in line 4, 2011 Form 1040, Schedule E. 

•	 For a taxable entity that is a single member LLC filing as 
a sole proprietorship for federal tax purposes, enter rents 
included in line 4, 2011 Form 1040, Schedule E, to the 
extent that it relates to the LLC. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing a federal tax form other than those 
mentioned above, enter an amount that is substantially 
equivalent to the amounts discussed in this section. 

Note: Do not include in Item 4 net rental income (loss) passed 
through from a partnership or S corporation on IRS Form 
K-1; report this amount in Item 7. This amount must also be 
included in Item 9 when subtracting “net distributive income 
from a taxable entity treated as a partnership or as an S 
corporation for federal tax purposes.” 

Item 5. Royalties 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as a corporation for federal tax 

purposes, enter the amount from line 7, Form 1120. 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as an S corporation for federal 

tax purposes, enter the amount from line 6, Schedule K, 
Form 1120S. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a partnership for federal tax 
purposes, enter the amount from line 7, Schedule K, Form 1065. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a trust for federal tax purposes, 
enter royalties included in line 4, 2011 Form 1040, Schedule E. 

•	 For a taxable entity that is a single member LLC filing as 
a sole proprietorship for federal tax purposes, enter 
royalties included in line 4, 2011 Form 1040, Schedule 
E, to the extent that it relates to the LLC. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing a federal tax form other than those 
mentioned above, enter an amount that is substantially 
equivalent to the amounts discussed in this section. 

Item 6. Gains/losses 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as a corporation for federal tax 

purposes, enter the amount from lines 8 and 9, Form 1120. 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as an S corporation for federal 

tax purposes, enter the amount from line 4, Form 1120S 
and lines 7, 8a and 9, Schedule K, Form 1120S. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a partnership for federal tax 
purposes, enter the amount from line 6, Form 1065 and 
lines 8, 9a and 10, Schedule K, Form 1065. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a trust for federal tax 
purposes, enter the amount associated with gains/losses 
from lines 4 and 7, Form 1041. 

•	 For a taxable entity that is a single member LLC filing as 
a sole proprietorship for federal tax purposes, enter the 
amount from line 16, Form 1040, Schedule D, to the 
extent that it relates to the LLC; and the amount from line 
17, Form 4797, to the extent that it relates to the LLC. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing a federal tax form other than those 
mentioned above, enter an amount that is substantially 
equivalent to the amounts discussed in this section. 

Item 7. Other income 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as a corporation for federal tax 

purposes, enter the amount from line 10, Form 1120 to the 
extent not already included; and any total revenue passed 
from a lower tier entity under the tiered partnership election. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as an S corporation for federal 
tax purposes, enter the amount from line 5, Form 1120S; 

line 10, Schedule K, Form 1120S to the extent not already 
included; and any total revenue passed from a lower tier 
entity under the tiered partnership election. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a partnership for federal tax 
purposes, enter the amount from line 4 and line 7, Form 
1065; the amount from line 11, Schedule K, Form 1065 
to the extent not already included; the amount from line 
9 plus line 1d, or line 44, 2011 Form 1040, Schedule F; 
and any total revenue passed from a lower tier entity 
under the tiered partnership election. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a trust for federal tax purposes, 
enter the amount from line 8, Form 1041 to the extent not 
already included; the amount from line 6, Form 1040, 
Schedule C, that has not already been included; the 
amount from line 32 and line 37, Form 1040 Schedule E; 
the amount from line 9 plus line 1d, or line 44, 2011 Form 
1040, Schedule F; and any total revenue passed from a 
lower tier entity under the tiered partnership election. 

•	 For a taxable entity that is a single member LLC filing as 
a sole proprietorship for federal tax purposes, enter the 
ordinary income or loss from partnerships, S corporations, 
estates and trusts from Form 1040 Schedule E, to the 
extent that it relates to the LLC; enter the amount from 
line 9 plus line 1d, or line 44, 2011 Form 1040, Schedule 
F, to the extent that it relates to the LLC; enter the amount 
from line 6, Form 1040, Schedule C, that has not already 
been included; and any total revenue passed from a lower 
tier entity under the tiered partnership election. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing a federal tax form other than those 
mentioned above, enter an amount that is substantially 
equivalent to the amounts discussed in this section. 

Item 8. Total gross revenue 
Total the amounts entered on Items 1 through 7. 

Item 9. Exclusions from gross revenue 
Only the following items may be excluded from gross 
revenue. See Rule 3.587 for additional information. 

Bad Debt Expense 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as a corporation for federal tax 

purposes, enter the amount from line 15, Form 1120. 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as an S corporation for federal 

tax purposes, enter the amount from line 10, Form 1120S. 
•	 For a taxable entity filing as a partnership for federal tax 

purposes, enter the amount from line 12, Form 1065. 
•	 For a taxable entity registered as a single member LLC 

and filing as a sole proprietorship for federal tax purposes, 
enter the amount associated with bad debt expense from 
line 27, Schedule C, Form 1040. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing as a trust for federal tax 
purposes, enter the amount associated with bad debt 
expense from line 15a, Form 1041. 

•	 For a taxable entity filing a federal tax form other than those 
mentioned above, enter an amount that is substantially 
equivalent to the amounts discussed in this section. 

Foreign Dividends and Foreign Royalties 
Enter the amount of foreign royalties and foreign dividends, 
including amounts reported under Section 78 or Sections 
951-964, Internal Revenue Code, to the extent included in 
gross revenue. 13 



 

 

 

Net Distributive Income 
•	 A taxable entity’s pro rata share of net distributive income 

from another taxable entity treated as a partnership or 
as an S corporation for federal income tax purposes. Net 
distributive income for the calculation of total revenue is 
the net amount of income, gain, deduction or loss of the 
pass-through entity that is included in the federal taxable 
income of the taxable entity. (If this amount is negative, it 
will be added in computing total revenue.) 

•	 A taxable entity that owns an interest in a passive entity 
shall not enter an amount on this item to deduct the taxable 
entity’s share of the net income of the passive entity unless 
the income was included in the computation of the total 
revenue of another taxable entity. See Rule 3.587. 

Note: For an upper tier entity using the tiered partnership election, 
the total revenue passed by the lower tier entity to the upper 
tier entity cannot be deducted as net distributive income. 

Schedule C Dividends Received 
For a taxable entity reporting a Schedule C dividends 
received deduction, enter the amount reported on line 29b, 
Form 1120, to the extent the relating dividend income is 
included in gross revenue. 

Revenue from Disregarded Entities 
A taxable entity may exclude, to the extent included in gross 
revenue (Items 1-7 above), its share of income directly 
attributable to another entity that is treated as disregarded 
for federal income tax purposes but that is not treated as 
disregarded in a combined group report for franchise tax 
purposes. A taxable entity cannot exclude its share of 
income directly attributable to another entity that is treated 
as disregarded for federal income tax purposes and is 
treated as disregarded in a combined group report for 
franchise tax reporting purposes. 

Flow-through Funds 
To the extent included in gross revenue: 
•	 A taxable entity may exclude an amount for flow-through 

funds mandated by: (1) law, (2) fiduciary duty or (3) 
contract (limited to sales commissions to non-employees, 
the tax basis of securities underwritten, and a taxable 
entity’s flow-through payments to subcontractors for the 
design, construction, repair or improvement of real 
property or the location of boundaries to real property); 

•	 A taxable entity that provides legal services may exclude 
an amount equal to the following flow-through funds: 
− damages due the claimant; 
− funds subject to a lien or other contractual obligation arising 

out of the representation, other than fees owed to the attorney; 
− fees paid to another attorney not within the same 

taxable entity; 
− reimbursement of case expenses; and 
− $500 per case for providing pro bono legal services. 

•	 A taxable entity may exclude the tax basis of securities and 
bonds sold as determined under the Internal Revenue Code. 

Dividends and Interest from Federal Obligations 
Enter the amount of dividends and interest from federal 
obligations to the extent included in gross revenue. See 
Rule 3.587(b). 

Other Exclusions 
To the extent included in gross revenue: 
•	 A taxable entity that qualifies as a lending institution may 

enter an amount equal to the principal repayment of loans. 
•	 A taxable entity that is a staff leasing services company 

may enter an amount equal to payments received from a client 
company for wages, payroll taxes, employee benefits and 
workers’ compensation benefits for the assigned employees. 
A staff leasing services company cannot exclude payments 
received from a client company for payments made to 
independent contractors assigned to the client company 
and reportable on Internal Revenue Service Form 1099. 

•	 A taxable entity that is a health care provider may enter 
100% of revenues (including copayments, deductibles and 
coinsurance) from Medicaid, Medicare, CHIP, workers’ 
compensation claims and TRICARE, and actual costs for 
uncompensated care (healthcare institutions may enter only 
50%). See Section 171.1011(p)(2), Tax Code. To calculate 
the cost of uncompensated care, see Rule 3.587(b)(1). 

•	 A taxable entity that is a management company may enter 
an amount equal to reimbursements of specified costs 
incurred in its conduct of the active trade or business of 
a managed entity. 

•	 A taxable entity may enter amounts received that are 
directly derived from the operation of a facility that is 
located on property owned or leased by the federal 
government and managed or operated primarily to house 
members of the armed forces of the United States. 

•	 A taxable entity that is a qualified live event promotion 
company may exclude from revenue a payment made to 
an artist in connection with the provision of a live 
entertainment event or live event promotion services. 

•	 A taxable entity that is a qualified courier and logistics 
company may exclude from revenue subcontracting 
payments made by the taxable entity to nonemployee 
agents for the performance of delivery services on behalf 
of the taxable entity. 

Intercompany eliminations – combined reports 
To the extent included in total revenue, subtract items of total 
revenue received from members of the combined group. 

Tiered partnership election 
For a lower tier entity that makes the tiered partnership election, 
enter the total revenue passed to the upper tier entities. 

Item 10. Total Revenue 
Item 8 minus Item 9. If less than zero, enter zero. If the 
annualized total revenue is less than or equal to $1,030,000, 
and the entity is not an upper or lower tier entity making the 
tiered partnership election, stop here and file Form 05-163, 
No Tax Due Information Report. If the annualized total 
revenue is $10 million or less, the entity may choose to file 
using the EZ Computation (Form 05-169). 

Note: The tiered partnership election is not allowed if the lower 
tier entity, before passing total revenue to the upper tier 
entities, has $1,030,000 or less in annualized total revenue 
or owes less than $1,000 in tax. An upper or lower tier entity 
making a tiered partnership election qualifies to use the EZ 
computation only if the lower tier entity would have qualified 
for the EZ computation before passing total revenue to the 
upper tier entities. 14 



 

 

 

 

 

 

Item 11. Cost of goods sold (COGS) 
Note: A taxable entity may elect to use COGS to compute margin 

ONLY if the taxable entity sells real or tangible personal 
property in the ordinary course of business OR if the taxable 
entity qualifies to compute COGS under any one of the 
exceptions noted in Texas Tax Code Section 171.1012 or 
Rule 3.588. Enter an amount ONLY if the entity qualifies to 
use COGS to compute margin. 

“Goods” are defined as real or tangible personal property sold 
in the ordinary course of business. Tangible personal property 
includes computer programs as well as films, sound recordings, 
videotapes, live and prerecorded television and radio 
programs, books and other similar property. Tangible personal 
property does not include intangible property or services. 

Generally, a taxable entity in the service industry will not 
have COGS as they do not sell tangible personal property 
or real property in the ordinary course of business. However, 
if a transaction contains elements of both a sale of tangible 
personal property and a service, a taxable entity may only 
subtract as COGS the cost otherwise allowed by this section 
in relation to the tangible personal property sold. The 
taxable entity may not subtract as COGS the labor costs 
related to the services performed. 

A taxable entity may make a subtraction under this section 
in relation to the COGS only if that entity owns the goods. A 
taxable entity that is a member of a combined group may 
subtract allowable costs as COGS if the goods for which 
the costs are incurred are owned by another member of 
the combined group. A payment made to an affiliated entity 
who is not a member of the combined group may only be 
included in COGS if the transaction is made at arm’s length. 

A taxable entity that is subject to Internal Revenue Code, 
263A, 460 or 471 may choose to expense or capitalize 
allowable costs associated with the goods purchased or 
produced. All other taxable entities will expense allowable 
costs associated with the goods purchased or produced. 

Expensing COGS – An entity that elects to expense 
allowable costs will have no beginning or ending inventory. 
The entity should include all allowable costs as described 
below for the accounting period on which the report is based. 

Capitalized COGS – If the entity elects to capitalize COGS, 
the calculation will include those allowable costs that were in 
inventory at the beginning of the period upon which the tax is 
based plus allowable costs capitalized during the period minus 
allowable costs in ending inventory at the end of the period. 

The election to expense or capitalize allowable costs is 
made by filing the franchise tax report using one method or 
the other. The election is for the entire period on which the 
report is based and may not be changed after the due date 
or the date the report is filed, whichever is later. 

Note: Generally COGS for Texas franchise tax reporting purposes 
will not equal the amount used for federal income tax 
reporting purposes or for financial accounting purposes. 
Typically, this amount cannot be found on a federal income 
tax report or on an income statement. It is a calculated 
amount specific to Texas franchise tax. 

Cost of goods sold includes all direct costs of acquiring or 
producing the goods, including: 
•	 labor costs including W-2 wages, IRS Form 1099 wages, 

temporary labor, payroll taxes and benefits; 
•	 cost of materials that are an integral part of specific 

property produced; 
•	 cost of materials that are consumed in the course of 

performing production activities; 
•	 handling costs, including costs attributable to processing, 

assembling, repackaging and inbound transportation; 
•	 storage costs (except for the rental of a storage facility), 

including the costs of carrying, storing or warehousing 
property; 

•	 depreciation, depletion and amortization reported on the 
federal income tax return on which the report under this 
chapter is based, to the extent associated with and 
necessary for the production of goods, including recovery 
described by, Sec. 197, Internal Revenue Code, and 
property described in Sec. 179, Internal Revenue Code; 

•	 the cost of renting or leasing equipment, facilities or real 
property used for the production of the goods, including 
pollution control equipment and intangible drilling and dry 
hole costs (does NOT include impairment costs/expenses); 

•	 the cost of repairing and maintaining equipment, facilities 
or real property directly used for the production of the 
goods, including pollution control devices; 

•	 costs attributable to research, experimental, engineering and 
design activities directly related to the production of the 
goods, including all research or experimental expenditures 
described by Sec. 174, Internal Revenue Code; 

•	 geological and geophysical costs incurred to identify and 
locate property that has the potential to produce minerals; 

•	 taxes paid in relation to acquiring or producing any 
material, or taxes paid in relation to services that are a 
direct cost of production; 

•	 the cost of producing or acquiring electricity sold; and 
•	 a contribution to a partnership in which the taxable entity 

owns an interest that is used to fund activities, the costs of 
which would otherwise be treated as COGS of the 
partnership, but only to the extent that those costs are 
related to goods distributed to the contributing taxable entity 
as goods-in-kind in the ordinary course of production 
activities rather than being sold by the partnership. 

In addition to the items listed above, COGS includes the 
following costs in relation to the taxable entity’s goods: 
• deterioration of the goods; 
• obsolescence of the goods; 
•	 spoilage and abandonment, including the costs of rework, 

reclamation and scrap (does NOT include impairment 
costs/expenses); 

•	 if the property is held for future production, preproduction 
direct costs allocable to the property, including storage 
and handling costs, unless specifically excluded below; 

•	 postproduction direct costs allocable to the property, 
including storage and handling costs, unless specifically 
excluded below; 

•	 the cost of insurance on a plant or a facility, machinery, 
equipment or materials directly used in the production of 
the goods; 

•	 the cost of insurance on the produced goods; 
15 



 

 
 

   

 

 

 
 

•	 the cost of utilities, including electricity, gas and water, 
directly used in the production of the goods; 

•	 the costs of quality control, including replacement of 
defective components pursuant to standard warranty 
policies, inspection directly allocable to the production of 
the goods and repairs and maintenance of goods; and 

•	 licensing or franchise costs, including fees incurred in 
securing the contractual right to use a trademark, corporate 
plan, manufacturing procedure, special recipe or other 
similar right directly associated with the goods produced. 

Cost of goods sold does not include: 
• any amounts excluded from revenue; 
• officers’ compensation; 
•	 the cost of renting or leasing equipment, facilities or real 

property that is not used for the production of the goods; 
•	 selling costs, including employee expenses related to sales 

and credit card fees; 
•	 distribution costs, including outbound transportation costs; 
•	 advertising costs; 
•	 idle facility expense; 
•	 rehandling costs; 
•	 bidding costs, which are the costs incurred in the solicitation 

of contracts ultimately awarded to the taxable entity; 
•	 unsuccessful bidding costs, which are the costs incurred in 

the solicitation of contracts not awarded to the taxable entity; 
•	 interest, including interest on debt incurred or continued during 

the production period to finance the production of the goods; 
•	 income taxes, including local, state, federal and foreign 

income taxes, and franchise taxes that are assessed on 
the taxable entity based on income; 

•	 strike expenses, including costs associated with hiring 
employees to replace striking personnel; however, COGS 
does include the wages of the replacement personnel, costs 
of security and legal fees associated with settling strikes; and 

•	 costs of operating a facility that is located on property 
owned or leased by the federal government and managed 
or operated primarily to house members of the armed 
forces of the United States. 

Note: A taxable entity renting motor vehicles, heavy construction 
equipment or railcar rolling stock may use COGS for costs 
related to the property rented. Lending institutions that make 
loans to the public may deduct interest expense as a COGS. 
A client company that contracts with a staff leasing services 
company may include in COGS payments to the staff leasing 
services company to the extent the payments relate to 
assigned employees that provide labor or services described 
as COGS in Sec. 171.1012, Tax Code. 

Item 12. Indirect or administrative overhead costs 
A taxable entity may subtract, as part of COGS, indirect/ 
administrative overhead costs, including all mixed service 
costs, such as security services, legal services, data processing 
services, accounting services, personnel operations and 
general financial planning and financial management costs, 
that it can demonstrate are allocable to the acquisition or 
production of goods. This amount is limited to 4% of total 
indirect/administrative overhead costs. Any costs specifically 
excluded from the computation of COGS may not be included 
in indirect or administrative overhead costs. 

Item 13. Other 
The only allowable amounts to be entered on this line are 
related to undocumented worker compensation and 
compensation of active duty personnel. These amounts will 
offset one another. The result can be either a negative 
(undocumented worker compensation) or a positive number 
(active duty personnel compensation). 

Undocumented Worker Compensation 
A taxable entity must exclude from COGS any compensation 
for undocumented workers for the period upon which the tax is 
based. Undocumented worker means a person who is not 
lawfully entitled to be present and employed in the United States. 

Compensation of Active Duty Personnel 
A taxable entity may include, as an additional cost, the 
wages and cash compensation paid during the period upon 
which the report is based to an individual for the period the 
individual is serving on active duty as a member of the armed 
forces of the United States if the individual is a resident of 
this state at the time the individual is ordered to active duty, 
plus the cost of training a replacement for the individual. 

Item 15. Wages and cash compensation 
“Wages and cash compensation” means the following amounts 
paid to officers, directors, owners, partners and employees 
for the accounting period, limited to $330,000 per person, 
prorated for the period upon which the tax is based: 
•	 Medicare wages and tips on Form W2; 
•	 net distributive income reported to a natural person from 

a limited liability company treated as a sole proprietor for 
federal income tax purposes, regardless of whether it is 
a positive or negative amount; 

•	 net distributive income reported to natural persons from 
partnerships, trusts and limited liability companies treated 
as partnerships for federal income tax purposes, 
regardless of whether it is a positive or negative amount; 

•	 net distributive income reported to natural persons from 
limited liability companies and corporations treated as S 
corporations for federal income tax purposes, regardless 
of whether it is a positive or negative amount. 

•	 stock awards and stock options deducted for federal 
income tax purposes. 

If an employee, officer, director, etc. is paid by more than 
one member of the combined group, that individual’s 
compensation is capped at $330,000, per 12-month period 
upon which the tax is based. 

Net distributive income for the calculation of compensation 
is the amount of income, gain, deduction and loss relating 
to a pass-through entity or disregarded entity reportable to 
the owner for the tax year of the entity regardless of whether 
an actual distribution was made. 

If net distributive income is a negative number, it must be included 
in the computation of compensation as a negative number. There 
is no cap or limitation on “negative” compensation. 

To compute Net Distributive Income from a partnership: 
From IRS Form 1065 K-1, add boxes 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6a, 7, 8, 
9a, 10 and 11.  Subtract from that result the sum of boxes 
12, 13 and 16, Code L (Foreign taxes). 16 



 

 

 

 

 

  

 

To compute Net Distributive Income from an S corporation: 
From IRS Form 1120S K-1, add boxes 1, 2, 3, 4, 5a, 6, 7, 
8a, 9 and 10. Subtract from that result the sum of boxes 
11, 12 and 14, Code L (Foreign taxes). 

Note: A single member LLC treated as a sole proprietorship for federal 
tax purposes may include in compensation the net distributive 
income to the single member that is a natural person. 

Wages and cash compensation DOES NOT include: 
•	 payments on IRS Forms 1099; 
•	 amounts excluded from gross revenue; 
•	 an employer’s share of employment taxes; 
•	 amounts paid to an employee whose primary employment 

is directly associated with the operation of a facility that 
is located on property owned or leased by the federal 
government and managed or operated primarily to house 
members of the armed forces of the United States. 

Note: A staff leasing services company may only include wages 
and cash compensation paid to the entity’s own employees, 
and may not include wages, benefits, workers’ compensation 
benefits or payroll taxes of assigned employees. A taxable 
entity that is a client company that contracts with a staff 
leasing services company may include amounts paid to the 
staff leasing services company relating to the assigned 
employees for wages as defined by Item 15 (Wages & Cash 
Compensation) and Item 17 (Other – Compensation of 
Active Duty Personnel), and may include amounts paid for 
employee benefits including workers’ compensation 
benefits, as defined by Item 16 (Employee Benefits). The 
client company may not include any administrative fee, 
payroll taxes or other amounts related to the assigned 
employees. In addition, the client company may not include 
as compensation any amounts reported on IRS Forms 1099. 

Note: A management company may not include as wages or cash 
compensation any amounts reimbursed by a managed 
entity. A managed entity includes as compensation 
reimbursements made to the management company for 
wages and compensation as if the reimbursed amounts had 
been paid to employees of the managed entity. 

Item 16. Employee benefits 
Enter the cost of benefits provided to officers, directors, 
owners, partners and employees, including workers’ 
compensation, health care and retirement benefits. The 
deduction for employee benefits is not limited to $330,000 
per person but is only deductible to the extent deductible 
for federal income tax purposes. 

Item 17. Other 
The only allowable amounts to be entered on this line are 
related to undocumented worker compensation and 
compensation of active duty personnel. These amounts will 
offset one another. The result can be either a negative 
(undocumented worker compensation) or a positive number 
(active duty personnel compensation). 

Undocumented Worker Compensation 
A taxable entity must exclude from compensation any wages 
and cash compensation paid to undocumented workers for 
the period upon which the tax is based. “Undocumented 
worker” means a person who is not lawfully entitled to be 
present and employed in the United States. 

Compensation of Active Duty Personnel 
A taxable entity may include, as an additional cost, the 
wages and cash compensation paid during the period upon 
which the report is based to an individual for the period the 
individual is serving on active duty as a member of the armed 
forces of the United States if the individual is a resident of 
this state at the time the individual is ordered to active duty, 
plus the cost of training a replacement for the individual. 

Form 05-158-B 
Texas Franchise Tax Report – Page 2 
Item 19. Revenue 
Multiply Item 10 times 70%. If less than zero, enter zero. 

Item 20. Revenue 
Item 10 minus Item 14 – COGS. If less than zero, enter zero. 

Note: A taxable entity may elect to use COGS to compute margin 
only if the taxable entity sells real or tangible personal 
property in the ordinary course of business or if the taxable 
entity qualifies to compute COGS under any one of the 
exceptions noted in Texas Tax Code Sec. 171.1012 or Rule 
3.588. Enter an amount only if the entity qualifies to use 
COGS to compute margin. 

Item 21. Revenue 
Item 10 minus Item 18 – Compensation. If less than zero, 
enter zero. 

Item 22. Margin 
Enter the lowest amount from Items 19, 20 or 21. 

Item 23. Gross receipts in Texas 
Texas gross receipts and gross receipts everywhere should 
be reported for the same accounting period used in the 
calculation of total revenue. Gross receipts means all 
revenues reportable by a taxable entity on its federal tax 
return, without deduction for the COGS or other costs 
incurred unless otherwise provided for by law. 

“Gross receipts in Texas” means: 
•	 sales of tangible personal property when the property is 

delivered or shipped to a purchaser within Texas; 
•	 sales of real property located in Texas, including royalties 

from oil, gas or other mineral interests; 
•	 services performed within Texas; 
•	 rentals of property situated in Texas; 
•	 royalties from use of patents or copyrights within Texas; 
•	 revenues from the use of trademarks, franchises or 

licenses within Texas. These revenues include receipts 
from the sale or license of computer software or programs 
if the legal domicile of the payor is Texas; 

•	 the net gain/loss from the sales of investments or capital 
assets. If both Texas and out-of-state sales have occurred, 
then a separate calculation of net gains and losses on Texas 
sales must be made. If the combination of net gains and 
losses results in a net loss, the taxable entity should net the 
loss against other receipts, but not below zero. In no instance 
shall the apportionment factor be greater than 1. Net gain/ 
loss on sales of intangibles held as capital assets or 
investments is apportioned to the location of the payor. 
Examples of intangibles include, but are not limited to, 
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stocks, bonds, futures contracts, patents, copyrights, 
licenses, trademarks, franchises, goodwill and general 
receivable rights. 

•	 receipts from the sale of securities are apportioned based 
on the location of the payor. If securities are sold through 
an exchange, and the buyer cannot be identified, then 
7.9% of the revenue is a Texas receipt; 

•	 membership or enrollment fees paid for access to benefits 
are considered gross receipts from the sale of an 
intangible asset and will be a Texas gross receipt if the 
payor is legally domiciled in Texas; 

•	 receipts from the servicing of loans secured by real 
property are Texas gross receipts if the real property is 
located in Texas; and 

•	 the pro rata share of net income from a passive entity if 
the passive entity’s principal place of business is in Texas. 

Any item of revenue that is excluded from total revenue 
under Texas law or United States law is not included in Texas 
gross receipts or gross receipts everywhere. For example, 
a taxable entity should not include in Texas gross receipts: 
•	 income excluded because of IRC Sections 78 or 951-964; 
•	 dividends and/or interest received from federal 

obligations; or 
•	 dividends for which a deduction is allowed on Schedule 

C, Form 1120. 

In addition, a taxable entity that is a combined group should 
not include in Texas gross receipts any revenues generated 
by a member of the group that is organized outside of Texas 
and that does not have nexus in Texas. However, Texas 
gross receipts will include certain sales of tangible personal 
property made to third party purchasers if the tangible 
personal property is ultimately delivered to a purchaser in 
Texas without substantial modification. For example, drop 
shipments made by a member of a combined group from a 
Texas location to a Texas purchaser would be included in 
Texas receipts based on the amount billed to the third party 
purchaser if the seller is also a member of the combined 
group and the seller does not have nexus. 

Banking Corporations and Savings & Loan Associations 
Dividends and interest received by a banking corporation or 
savings and loan association are Texas receipts if they are 
paid by a corporation incorporated in Texas or if they are 
paid by an entity or person legally domiciled in Texas. A 
banking corporation should exclude from its Texas receipts 
interest earned on federal funds and interest earned on 
securities sold under an agreement to repurchase that are 
held in a correspondent bank domiciled in Texas. 

Item 24. Gross receipts everywhere 
Any amounts not included in total revenue (Item 10) must 
not be included in computing gross receipts everywhere. 
Therefore, gross receipts everywhere should equal the 
amount reported in Item 10 unless the taxable entity is a 
health care provider, health care institution, law firm, lending 
institution or security broker dealer. 

Health care providers and health care institutions must add 
back the cost of uncompensated care when computing 

gross receipts everywhere. Law firms must add back 
amounts related to pro bono cases when computing gross 
receipts everywhere. 

In accordance with Texas Tax Code Sections 171.106(f) 
and (f-1), qualified lending institutions and security broker/ 
dealers may use the gross sales price of securities or loans 
sold instead of the net gain/loss on the sale in computing 
gross receipts everywhere. 

Gross receipts everywhere include: 
•	 all sales of tangible personal property; 
•	 all rentals; 
•	 all services; 
•	 all royalties; 
•	 all other business receipts; 
•	 all dividends and interest; and 
•	 the net gain/loss from the sales of investments or capital 

assets. 

A capital asset is any asset, other than an investment, which 
is held for use in the production of income, and is subject to 
depreciation, depletion or amortization. An investment is 
any non-cash asset not a capital asset. 

Item 25. Apportionment factor 
If Texas gross receipts in Item 23 are zero, enter zero. If 
Item 23 and Item 24 are the same and greater than zero, 
enter 1.0000. If Item 23 is more than Item 24 and both are 
greater than zero, enter 1.0000. Otherwise, divide Item 23 
by Item 24 and round to 4 places past the decimal. 

Item 26. Apportioned margin 
Multiply Item 22 by Item 25. If less than zero, enter zero. 

Item 27. Allowable deductions 
Each of the following deductions may be subtracted from 
apportioned margin: 
•	 A taxable entity may deduct 10% of the amortized cost of 

a solar energy device if the device meets the criteria in 
Sec. 171.107(b), Tax Code. The deduction may not 
reduce apportioned margin below zero, and no carryover 
of unused deductions is allowed. 

•	 A taxable entity may deduct 10% of the amortized cost of 
equipment used in a clean coal project if the equipment 
meets the criteria in Sec. 171.108(b), Tax Code. The 
deduction may not reduce apportioned margin below zero, 
and no carryover of unused deductions is allowed. 

Item 28. Taxable margin 
Item 26 minus Item 27. 

Item 29. Tax rate 
Enter the appropriate tax rate: 
•	 0.01 (1.0%) for most entities 
•	 0.005 (0.5%) for qualifying wholesalers and retailers 

(see Tax Rates, page 3) 

Note: If the SIC code on Form 05-158-A does not fit the definition 
of qualifying retailers and wholesalers on page 3, the 0.5% 
tax rate will be denied when the report is processed. 
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Item 30. Tax due 
Item 28 multiplied by Item 29. 

Item 31. Tax credits 
Carry the amount of allowable tax credits forward from 
franchise tax Form 05-160. 

Item 32. Tax due before discount 
Item 30 minus Item 31. If less than zero, enter zero. 

Item 33. Discount 
Discounts do not apply for the 2010 through 2013 franchise 
tax reports because the no tax due threshold exceeds the 
total revenue to which the discounts would apply ($900,000). 

Item 34. Total tax due 
Must equal the amount of tax due in Item 32 since discounts 
do not apply to the 2010 through 2013 report years. 

If this amount is less than $1,000, or the annualized total 
revenue is $1,030,000 or less, you owe no tax, but you 
must submit this report along with the appropriate 
information report(s) (Form 05-102 and/or Form 05-167). 
See note for tiered partnership exceptions. 

If this amount is $1,000 or more, and the annualized total 
revenue is more than $1,030,000, please complete the 
franchise tax payment (Form 05-170).  Make the check 
payable to the Comptroller of Public Accounts. Submit both 
pages of this report (Forms 05-158-A and 05-158-B), all 
appropriate schedules, the appropriate information report(s) 
(Form 05-102 and/or Form 05-167), the franchise tax 
payment form (Form 05-170) and your payment. 

Note: If the tiered partnership election is made and total revenue 
is passed, both the upper and lower tier entities will owe 
any amount in Item 34, even if the amount is less than 
$1,000 or annualized total revenue after the tiered 
partnership election is $1,030,000 or less. 

Signature Block: Report may be signed by an officer, 
director or other authorized person. This includes a paid 
preparer authorized to sign the report. 

Form 05-160 
Texas Franchise Tax Credits Summary 
Schedule 
Additional Reporting Requirement for Combined Groups 
with Temporary Credit 
The reporting entity of a combined group with a temporary 
credit for business loss carryforward preserved for itself and/ 
or its affiliates must submit common owner information by 
the due date of the report. This information must be 
submitted to satisfy franchise tax filing requirements, even 
if the combined group is not claiming the credit on the current 
year’s report. For 2012, submit the common owner 
information electronically at www.window.texas.gov/ 
commonowner/. 

A taxable entity that has carryforwards or installments from 
economic development credits must complete this form to 
take any of those carryforwards or installments. A taxable 
entity must also complete this form if it is taking either the 

temporary credit for business loss carryforwards or the 1992 
temporary credit. 

PART A – Investment Credit 

Item 1. Investment credit installment from prior years 
Enter the yearly installment amount for an investment credit 
established on a franchise tax report originally due prior to Jan. 
1, 2008. Investment credits must have been established by filing 
the appropriate credit schedules on the 2005-2007 franchise 
tax reports. If, in one of the five years in which the installment of 
an investment credit would be claimed, the capital investments 
are taken out of service, removed from Texas, or otherwise 
disposed of or the credit expires, the corporation may not take 
any remaining installment of the credit. 

Item 2. Investment credit carried forward from prior years 
Investment credit carried forward to this year from prior 
years. Subtract Item 19 from Item 3 of the 2011 franchise 
tax report credits summary schedule, Form 05-160. 

Item 3. Subtotal 
Add Item 1 plus Item 2 

Item 4. Tax due before credits 
Enter the amount of tax due before credits as reported on 
Form 05-158-B, Item 30. 

Item 5. Investment Credit Limit 
Item 4 multiplied by 0.50 (50%). 

Item 6. Investment Credit Available 
Enter the lower of Item 3 or Item 5. 

PART B – Jobs Creation Credit 

Item 7. Jobs creation credit carried forward from prior 
years 
Job creation credit carried forward to this year from prior 
years. Subtract Item 20 from Item 7 of the 2011 franchise 
tax report credits summary schedule, Form 05-160. 

Item 8. Tax due before credits 
Enter the amount of tax due before credits as reported on 
Form 05-158-B, Item 30. 

Item 9. Jobs creation credit limit 
Item 8 multiplied by 0.50 (50%). 

Item 10. Jobs creation credit available 
Enter the lower of Item 7 or Item 9. 

PART C – Research and Development Credit 

Item 11. Research credit carried forward from prior 
years 
Research credit carried forward to this year from prior years. 
Subtract Item 21 from Item 11 of the 2011 franchise tax 
report credits summary schedule, Form 05-160. 

Item 12. Tax due before credits 
Enter the amount of tax due before credits as reported on 
Form 05-158-B, Item 30. 
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Item 13. Research credit limit 
Item 12 multiplied by 0.50 (50%). 

Item 14. Research credit available 
Enter the lower of Item 11 or Item 13. 

PART D – Temporary Credits 

Item 15. Temporary credit for business loss 
carryforwards 
A qualifying taxable entity must have preserved its right to 
take this credit on or before the due date of its 2008 report. 

Enter the result of the following calculation in Item 15: 
•	 preserved amount of business loss carryforwards (Item 

2 of Form 05-172 filed in 2008) 
•	 multiplied by 2.25% (0.0225) 
•	 multiplied by 4.5% (0.045) 

The unused carryover from a previous report should be 
reported in Item 22. 

If the taxable entity is a combined group, each qualifying 
member of the group should have made a separate 
preservation of the business loss carryforwards. Use the 
cumulative amount of the preserved business loss 
carryforwards in the calculation of the credit. 

Note: If a member of a combined group leaves the group, the 
business loss carryforward of that member may no longer 
be used by the group or by the member. There is no 
proration for a partial year. 

Item 16. 1992 Temporary credit 
This credit is only available to corporations that preserved 
their right in writing to take the credit by March 2, 1992. If the 
credit has been taken on any previous reports or will be taken 
on this report, the corporation must pay the additional tax in 
Item 17. This credit expires for all eligible entities in 2012. 

The credit is computed as follows: 
•	 determine the amount, as of the end of the corporation’s 

accounting year ending in 1991, that is the excess of the 
basis used for financial accounting purposes over the 
basis used for federal income tax purposes of qualifying 
assets and liabilities that at some future date will reverse 
(use this amount every year the credit is taken); 

•	 multiply this amount by the apportionment factor entered in 
Item 18 of the corporation’s 1992 franchise tax report (use 
this apportionment factor every year the credit is taken); 

•	 multiply this amount by 5.0% (0.05) per privilege period; 
•	 multiply this amount by 4.5% (0.045) 

Item 17. 1992 Additional tax due 
If the corporation has elected to take the 1992 temporary 
credit on this or previous reports, then an additional tax 
due must be calculated by multiplying the taxable entity’s 
taxable capital by 0.2% (0.002) or this credit will be revoked 
for the current and future reports. 

The taxable entity’s taxable capital is computed by adding together 
the entity’s stated capital and surplus as those terms are defined 
in franchise tax Rules 3.550 and 3.551. If taxable capital is zero 

or less, then no additional tax is due and the temporary credit 
may still be taken to reduce tax due on net taxable margin. 

Item 18. Total temporary credits 
Add Items 15 and 16, then subtract Item 17. 

PART E – Credits Claimed 

The total credits claimed cannot reduce the total tax due below 
zero; therefore, you may need to allocate the credits claimed 
in Items 19 through 21 so that the tax due will equal zero. 

Item 19. Investment credit claimed 
Cannot be greater than the amount entered on Item 6. 

Item 20. Jobs creation credit claimed 
Cannot be greater than the amount entered on Item 10. 

Item 21. Research credit claimed 
Cannot be greater than the amount entered on Item 14. 

Item 22. Other 
Carryover of 2008 temporary credit for business loss 
carryforwards 
Enter the amount of credit that exceeded the amount of tax 
due on the 2008 or subsequent reports that has not already 
been used. If the EZ computation was used on a prior report, 
there is no carryover amount from that year. Additionally, if 
the credit was not claimed on a prior year’s report or the 
prior year’s report was not filed timely, there is no carryover 
amount from that year. 

Example: A taxable entity had a business loss credit of 
$2,000 that could be used on the 2011 franchise tax report. 
The entity had $1,200 tax due, so they used only $1,200 of 
the available business loss credit. They may carryover the 
remaining $800 to subsequent report years. On the 2012 
report, this $800 should be reported in Item 22. 

Credit amounts reported by banks for tax erroneously paid 
on reports originally due prior to Jan. 1, 1992. 

Note: Credits for extension payments or prior payments should 
not be entered in this item. Enter extension payments on 
franchise tax Form 05-170, Item 2. 

Item 23. Total credits claimed 
Add Items 18, 19, 20, 21 and 22. Enter this amount on Item 
31 of the franchise tax report Form 05-158-B. 

Form 05-163 
Texas Franchise Tax No Tax Due Information 
Report 
Filing Requirements: A taxable entity, including a combined 
group, qualifies to file the No Tax Due Information Report 
when any of the four statements shown in Item 1 through 
Item 4 are true. Blacken the circle for each true statement. 

Combined report 
A combined group may file a No Tax Due Information Report. 
The determination of whether a combined group is eligible 
is based on the total revenue of the combined group as a 
whole after eliminations. Each member of the group must 
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be included in the combined group report even if, on a 
separate company basis, the member has $1,030,000 or 
less in total revenue. 

When filing a combined No Tax Due Information Report, an 
Affiliate Schedule (Form 05-166) containing all of the required 
information for each member must be submitted. In addition, 
an information report must be submitted for each member that 
is organized in Texas or has physical presence in Texas. 

Tiered Partnership Election 
A tiered partnership election is not allowed if the lower tier 
entity, before passing total revenue to the upper tier entities, 
has $1,030,000 or less in annualized total revenue or owes 
less than $1,000 in tax.  Do NOT blacken the Tiered 
Partnership Election circle. 

If a tiered partnership election is made, the lower tier entity 
may file the No Tax Due Information Report ONLY if the 
entity passed 100% of its total revenue to upper tier entities. 
Upper tier entities are not eligible to file a No Tax Due 
Information Report if the tiered partnership election is made. 

Item 1. This entity is a passive entity as defined in 
Chapter 171, Tax Code. 
A partnership (general, limited and limited liability) or trust 
(other than a business trust) may qualify as a passive entity 
and not owe any franchise tax for a reporting period if at 
least 90% of the entity’s federal gross income (as reported 
on the entity’s federal income tax return), for the period upon 
which the tax is based, is from the following sources: 
•	 dividends, interest, foreign currency exchange gain, periodic 

and nonperiodic payments with respect to notional 
principal contracts, option premiums, cash settlements 
or termination payments with respect to a financial 
instrument, and income from a limited liability company; 

•	 distributive shares of partnership income to the extent that 
those distributive shares of income are greater than zero; 

•	 net capital gains from the sale of real property, net gains 
from the sale of commodities traded on a commodities 
exchange and net gains from the sale of securities; and 

•	 royalties from mineral properties, bonuses from mineral 
properties, delay rental income from mineral properties 
and income from other nonoperating mineral interests 
including nonoperating working interests. 

Passive income does not include rent or income received 
by a nonoperator from mineral properties under a joint 
operating agreement, if the nonoperator is a member of an 
affiliated group and another member of that group is the 
operator under the same joint operating agreement. 

Passive entities are not required to file an Ownership 
Information Report (Form 05-167). 

Item 2. This entity’s annualized total revenue is below 
the no tax due threshold. 
If annualized total revenue is less than or equal to 
$1,030,000, the entity qualifies to file the No Tax Due 
Information Report. See the annualized total revenue 
section of these instructions for more information. 

Note: The $1,030,000 no tax due threshold does not apply to an 
upper tier entity if a tiered partnership election is made. 

Item 3. This entity has zero Texas gross receipts. 
The apportionment factor of an entity with zero Texas gross 
receipts is zero; therefore, no tax is due. See the instructions 
for Item 23 of Form 05-158-B for additional information on 
computing Texas gross receipts. 

Item 4. This entity is a Real Estate Investment Trust 
(REIT) that meets the qualifications specified in 171 
.0002(c)(4), Tax Code. 
A REIT that meets the qualifications of Sec.171.0002(c)(4), 
Tax Code, is not a taxable entity for the year upon which 
the report is based. The REIT must establish its nontaxable 
status by filing a No Tax Due Information Report for the 
period upon which the report is based. 

A REIT or its qualified REIT subsidiary entities are not 
considered taxable entities if: 
•	 the REIT holds interests in limited partnerships or other 

entities that are taxable entities and that directly hold real 
estate; and 

•	 the REIT does not directly hold real estate, other than 
real estate it occupies for business purposes. 

An information report must be submitted by each REIT or 
qualified REIT subsidiary: 
•	 a Public Information Report (Form 05-102) for each REIT 

legally organized as a corporation or LLC and 
•	 an Ownership Information Report (Form 05-167) for each 

REIT legally organized as a partnership, trust or association. 

Item 5a. Accounting year begin date 
See the accounting period begin date requirements in the 
annual and final report sections. 

Item 5b. Accounting year end date 
See the accounting period end date requirements in the 
annual and final report sections. 

Item 6. Total Revenue 
Enter the amount of total revenue using the instructions for 
Items 1-10 of Form 05-158-A. A passive entity or a REIT 
may leave this blank. 

Signature Block: Report may be signed by an officer, 
director or other authorized person. This includes a paid 
preparer authorized to sign the report. 

Form 05-164 
Texas Franchise Tax Extension Request 
Filing Requirements: Any entity (including a combined 
group) that cannot file its annual (including the first annual) 
or final report by the original due date may request an 
extension of time to file on or before the due date. A 
combined group must also file an Extension Affiliate List 
(Form 05-165) with the extension request. 

An extension for an annual, non-EFT (electronic funds 
transfer) payor will be through Nov. 15, 2012. When 
submitting the extension request, the taxable entity must remit 
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at least 90% of the tax that will be due with this year’s report 
or 100% of the tax reported as due for the previous calendar 
year (provided that the report due in the previous calendar 
year was filed on or before May 14, 2012) in order for the 
extension to be granted. 

A taxable entity that became subject to the franchise tax 
during the 2011 calendar year, filing its first annual report, 
may not use the 100% extension option. 

An entity that was included as an affiliate on a 2011 
combined group report may not use the 100% extension 
option if filing as a separate entity in 2012. 

Final Reports: A taxable entity may request a 45-day 
extension and must remit with the extension request at least 
90% of the tax that will be due with the final report. 

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT): Conditions for requiring 
a taxable entity to pay via EFT are outlined in Rule 3.9 
concerning electronic filing and electronic funds transfers. 
Information about the EFT requirements can be viewed at 
www.window.state.tx.us/webfile/req_franchise.html. 

The extension rules for mandatory EFT payors are different 
from that of other taxpayers. In order to extend the due date 
of the report from May 15, 2012 to Aug. 15, 2012, a taxable 
entity that is required to pay by EFT must make their extension 
payment electronically using tax type Code 13080 (Franchise 
Tax Extension) or WebFile in a timely fashion that permits 
the payment to be posted on or before May 15, 2012. With 
the extension request, taxable entities must remit at least 
90% of the amount of tax that will be due with this year’s 
report or 100% of the tax reported as due for the previous 
calendar year on the report due in the previous calendar 
year. If the taxable entity elects to pay 100% of the tax reported 
as due for the previous calendar year, the previous year’s 
report must be filed on or before May 14, 2012 in order for the 
extension to be granted. 

Combined groups that are mandatory EFT payors must submit 
the required Extension Affiliate List (Form 05-165) by mail. 

An EFT payor may request a second extension through 
Nov. 15, 2012 to file the report by paying electronically on 
or before Aug. 15, 2012, the balance of the amount of tax that 
will be reported as due on Nov. 15, 2012,  using tax type Code 
13080 (Franchise Tax Extension), Webfile or by submitting 
a paper Extension Request (Form 05-164) if the entity has 
paid all of the tax due with its first extension. If an electronic 
extension payment is made, then the taxpayer should not 
submit a paper Extension Request (Form 05-164). 

A combined group should not submit an Extension Affiliate 
List (Form 05-165) when requesting a second extension. 

Note: See Form 96-590, TEXNET Payment Instruction Booklet, for 
additional information concerning requirements for EFT payments. 

Item 1. Blacken this circle if you will be using your 
2008 Temporary Credit for Business Loss 
Carryforward for the report year for which you are 
requesting this extension. 

See the instructions for Credit Summary Schedule (Form 
05-160) and Rule 3.594 for additional information on this 
credit. 

Item 2. Blacken this circle if you will begin using your 
1992 Temporary Credit for the report year for which 
you are requesting this extension. 
Section 171.111(a), Tax Code (text of section effective until 
Jan. 1, 2008) requires that a taxable entity elect to claim 
this credit on or before the original due date of any report 
due after Jan. 1, 1992. 

Item 3. Extension payment 
Enter the amount submitted with this request. 

Combined Report Extensions 
If the extension request is being made on behalf of a 
combined group, the reporting entity must also submit Texas 
Franchise Tax Extension Affiliate List (Form 05-165). 

A combined group may only use the 100% extension option 
if the combined group has lost a member or if the members 
of the combined group are the same as they were on the 
last day of the period upon which the report due in the 
previous calendar year was based. 

Signature Block: Report may be signed by an officer, 
director or other authorized person. This includes a paid 
preparer authorized to sign the report. 

Form 05-165 
Texas Franchise Tax Extension Affiliate List 
Filing Requirements: A reporting entity filing an extension 
request on behalf of a combined group, must file the extension 
affiliate list along with the Extension Request (Form 05-164). 
If the combined group is required to file using EFT and 
makes an extension payment electronically, it is not required 
to file Form 05-164, but must submit an Extension Affiliate List 
(Form 05-165).The filing of this list by itself does not 
constitute a valid extension. Attach as many forms as 
necessary to report all members of the combined group. 

Column 1 – Legal name of affiliate 
Enter the legal name of each affiliate in the combined group. 
Affiliates can be any type of taxable entity including 
corporations, LLCs, partnerships (general, limited and limited 
liability), business trusts, professional associations, etc. 

Column 2 – Affiliate’s Texas Taxpayer Number 
Enter the assigned Texas taxpayer identification number of 
the affiliate. If the affiliate does not have a taxpayer 
identification number, enter the affiliate’s federal employer 
identification (FEI) number. If the affiliate does not have an 
FEI number, leave blank. 

Column 3 - Blacken this circle if affiliate does not 
have nexus in Texas 
Blacken the circle if the affiliate is not organized in Texas 
and does not have nexus (i.e., physical presence) in Texas. 
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Form 05-166 
Texas Franchise Tax Affiliate Schedule 

Filing Requirements: A reporting entity filing a combined report on behalf of an affiliated group engaged in a unitary 
business must complete the required information for each member of the group, including the reporting entity, on this form 
(Form 05-166). Attach as many forms as necessary. 

Additional Reporting Requirement for Combined Groups with Temporary Credit – The reporting entity of a combined group 
with a temporary credit for business loss carryforward preserved for itself and/or its affiliates must submit common owner 
information by the due date of the report. This information must be submitted to satisfy franchise tax filing requirements, 
even if the combined group is not claiming the credit on the current year’s report. For 2012, submit the common owner 
information electronically at window.texas.gov/commonowner/. 

Item 2. Affiliate taxpayer number Item 3. Affiliate NAICS code 
Enter the Texas taxpayer identification number that has been Enter the code that is appropriate for the affiliate. The
 
assigned to the affiliated entity by the Comptroller’s office. If the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
 
affiliate does not have an assigned number, enter the affiliate’s codes can be found at www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/.
 
federal employer identification (FEI) number. If the affiliate
 
does not have a separate FEI number, leave blank.
 

1. Legal name of affiliate 2. Affiliate taxpayer number (if none, use FEI number) 3. Affiliate NAICS code

4. Blacken circle if entity is 
disregarded for franchise tax 

5. Blacken circle if this affiliate does 
NOT have NEXUS in Texas 

6. Affiliate reporting begin date

 m m  d  d  y  y 

7. Affiliate reporting end date

 m m  d  d  y  y 

8. Gross receipts subject to throwback in other states (before eliminations) 

0 0.,,,, 

9. Gross receipts everywhere (before eliminations) 

0 0.,,,, 
10. Gross receipts in Texas (before eliminations) 

0 0.,,,, 

11. Cost of goods sold or compensation (before eliminations) 

0 0.,,,, 

Blacken circle if this is a Corporation or Limited Liability Company Blacken circle if this is an Entity other than a Corporation or Limited Liability Company 

Item 6. Affiliate reporting Item 7. Affiliate reporting
 begin date  end date

Item 4. Blacken circle if Item 5. Blacken circle 
Enter the begin date of  Enter the end date of the

disregarded for franchise tax if this affiliate does NOT 
     the affiliate’s accounting    affiliate’s accounting

If this affiliate is a disregarded have NEXUS in Texas 
period that will be included  period that will be

entity for federal income tax Blacken this circle if the 
in the combined report. See  included in the

reporting purposes, the affiliate is not organized in 
note under “Accounting  combined report.

reporting entity may blacken Texas and does not have 
Period of the Combined  See note under

this circle and treat the entity nexus (i.e., physical presence) 
Group” (Page 7). “Accounting Period

as disregarded for franchise in Texas. 
of the Combined

tax reporting purposes. 
Group” (Page 7).

Blackening this circle means 
that the disregarded entity will 
not unwind its operations from 
its “parent” entity and both 
entities are considered to have 
nexus in Texas for purposes 
of apportionment. If circle is 
blackened, skip Items 8-11. 

Blacken circles to indicate 
organization type such as 
corporation, limited liability 
company or other entity ONLY 
when the member has nexus. 

Item 11. Cost of goods Item 9. Gross 
Item 8. Gross receipts subject sold (COGS) or compensation receipts 
to throwback in other states Item 10. Gross The reporting entity will make an everywhere
Texas Tax Code Section 171.103(c) receipts in Texas election on behalf of the The amount entered 
requires that Texas gross receipts The amount entered is combined group to compute should equal the
subject to throwback provisions in the portion of gross margin using one of the gross revenue of the
other states be reported for each receipts everywhere that following three calculations: entity before
member of the combined group. are attributable to Texas intercompany • 70% of total revenue This means that if a member makes before intercompany eliminations but after • Total revenue minus COGS a sale of tangible personal property eliminations but after other exclusions• Total revenue minus to a purchaser in Texas and those exclusions from revenue. from revenue. To 

compensationreceipts are subject to the See the instructions for determine gross
throwback provisions of any other Item 23 of Form 05-158-B If the reporting entity elects the receipts everywhere,
state, that sale should be included and Rule 3.591 for more COGS or compensation method, review the 
in this computation. Note: Texas information on enter the applicable amount for instructions for Items 
throwback provisions have been determining each member of the combined 1-7 and Item 9 of 
repealed. Texas receipts. group. Form 05-158-A. 
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Form 05-167 
Texas Franchise Tax Ownership Information 
Report 

Filing Requirements: The Ownership Information Report 
(OIR) is to be filed for each taxable entity other than a legally 
formed corporation, limited liability company or financial 
institution. This includes professional associations, 
partnerships and trusts. 

The OIR is due on the date the franchise tax report is due 
and must be completed and signed by a partner, member, 
owner, or other authorized person of the taxable entity. A 
separate OIR is to be filed by each taxable entity that files a 
separate franchise tax report or that is part of a combined 
group (unless the taxable entity is not organized in Texas 
and does not have physical presence in Texas). 

Even if the franchise tax report is filed and all taxes paid, 
the entity’s right to transact business may be forfeited for 
failure to file the completed, signed OIR. The effects of 
forfeiture may include the denial of the taxable entity’s right 
to sue or defend in a Texas court, and each partner, member 
or owner may become personally liable for certain debts of 
the entity (Secs. 171.251, 171.252 and 171.255, Tax Code). 

Changes to the registered agent or registered office must 
be filed directly with the Secretary of State, and cannot be 
made on this form. The changes can be made online or on 
forms downloaded from their website at www.sos.state.tx.us/ 
corp/forms_option.shtml. 

Section A: 
Report the name, title and mailing address of each general partner 
and each person or entity that owns an interest of 10% or more 
of the taxable entity as of the date that the report is filed. 

Professional associations should check the other box and 
report the members of their executive committee. Trusts 
should report their trustee information and not check any 
box (partner or other). Associations should report 
information for the individuals who have authority to sign a 
contract on behalf of the association and not check any 
box (partner or other). All other entities should report their 
executive board members and check the other box. If there 
is no FEI number for the owner(s), please leave the field 
blank. (Do not enter any Social Security numbers.) 

Section B:
 
Registered Agent and Registered Office  - This should
 
include the entity’s registered agent or agent for service of
 
process in accordance with Sec. 171.354 (Tax Code).
 

Changes that occur after the report is filed should be 
reported to the Comptroller on the next OIR the entity is 
required to file. The Comptroller will not accept changes 
during the year, except as noted below. 

An individual whose name was included on the report but 
who was not associated with the entity on the date the report 

was filed, may file a sworn statement to that effect with the 
Comptroller. An entity that made an error on its OIR may 
file an amended OIR with a cover letter explaining the error. 

Signature Block: Report may be signed by an officer, 
director or other authorized person. This includes a paid 
preparer authorized to sign the report. 

Form 05-169 
Texas Franchise Tax EZ Computation Report 

Filing Requirements: Any entity (including a combined 
group) that has annualized total revenue of $10 million or 
less is eligible to use the EZ computation to report their 
franchise tax. Upper and lower tier entities, when the tiered 
partnership election has been made, will qualify for the EZ 
computation only if the lower tier entity would have qualified for 
the EZ computation before total revenue is passed to the upper 
tier entities. Taxable entities that elect this method to file are 
not eligible to take any economic development or temporary 
credits. When using the EZ computation, the current year’s 
portion of the temporary credit for business loss carryforwards 
may not be used and may not be carried forward to a future 
period. If a combined group elects to use the EZ computation 
method to report its franchise tax, the reporting entity is 
required to provide the requested information on Texas 
Franchise Tax Affiliate Schedule (Form 05-166) for each 
member of the combined group. 

Note: If using the EZ computation, be aware that you may not 
subsequently amend the report to use either COGS or 
compensation to compute margin. See Texas Tax Code 
Section 171.002(d). 

Item 1. Gross receipts or sales 
See instructions for Item 1 on Form 05-158-A (page 12). 

Item 2. Dividends 
See instructions for Item 2 on Form 05-158-A (page 12). 

Item 3. Interest 
See instructions for Item 3 on Form 05-158-A (page 12). 

Item 4. Rents 
See instructions for Item 4 on Form 05-158-A (page 12). 

Item 5. Royalties 
See instructions for Item 5 on Form 05-158-A (page 13). 

Item 6. Gains/losses 
See instructions for Item 6 on Form 05-158-A (page 13). 

Item 7. Other income 
See instructions for Item 7 on Form 05-158-A (page 13). 

Item 8. Total gross revenue 
See instructions for Item 8 on Form 05-158-A (page 13). 

Item 9. Exclusions from gross revenue 
Do not enter COGS or compensation amounts as they 
cannot be deducted if electing to use the EZ computation. 
See instructions for Item 9 on Form 05-158-A (page 13). 

24 

http:www.sos.state.tx.us


 

Note: Do not enter any amount related to cost of goods sold 
(COGS) or compensation as an exclusion from revenue. 
These amounts are prohibited as an exclusion from revenue 
by Texas Tax Code, Sec. 171.1011. 

Item 10. Total Revenue 
See instructions for Item 10 on Form 05-158-A (page 14). 

Item 11. Gross receipts in Texas 
See instructions for Item 23 on Form 05-158-B (page 17) and 
Rule 3.591 for more information on determining Texas receipts. 

Item 12. Gross receipts everywhere 
See instructions for Item 24 on Form 05-158-B (page 18) 
and Rule 3.591 for information on determining gross receipts 
everywhere. 

Item 13. Apportionment factor 
See instructions for Item 25 on Form 05-158-B (page 18). 

Item 14. Apportioned revenue 
Multiply Item 10 by Item 13. 

Item 15. Tax due before discount 
Multiply Item 14 by 0.575% (0.00575). 

Item 16. Discount 
Discounts do not apply for the 2010 through 2013 franchise 
tax reports because the no tax due thresholds  exceed the 
total revenue to which the discounts would apply ($900,000). 

Item 17. Total tax due 
Item 17 must equal Item 15. 

If this amount is less than $1,000, or the annualized total 
revenue is $1,030,000 or less, you owe no tax, but you 
must submit this report along with the appropriate 
information report(s) (Form 05-102 and/or Form 05-167). 

If this amount is $1,000 or more, and the annualized total 
revenue is more than $1,030,000, please complete the 
franchise tax payment Form 05-170. Make the check 
payable to the Comptroller of Public Accounts. Submit this 
report, all appropriate schedules, the appropriate information 
report(s) (Form 05-102 and/or Form 05-167), the franchise 
tax payment form (Form 05-170) and your payment. 

Note: If the tiered partnership election is made and total revenue is 
passed, both the upper and lower tier entities will owe any 
amount in Item 17, even if the amount is less than $1,000 or 
annualized total revenue after the tiered partnership election 
is $1,030,000 or less. 

Signature Block: Report may be signed by an officer, 
director or other authorized person. This includes a paid 
preparer authorized to sign the report. 

Form 05-170 
Texas Franchise Tax Payment Form 

Filing requirements: Any taxable entity that owes any 
amount of franchise tax where the tax was not remitted 
electronically is required to submit the payment form with a 

check or money order made payable to the Comptroller of 
Public Accounts. Please put the reporting entity’s Texas 
taxpayer identification number and the report year on the check. 

Item 1. Total tax due on this report 
Enter the amount of tax due as reflected on: 
Form 05-158-B, Item 34, or 
Form 05-169, Item 17 

Item 2. Enter prior payment 
Enter prior payments, such as an extension payment. 

Item 3. Net tax due 
Item 1 minus Item 2 

Item 4. Penalty 
A $50 late filing penalty will be assessed if a franchise tax 
report (Long Form, EZ Computation or No Tax Due Form) 
is filed after the due date. The $50 penalty is due in addition 
to any other penalties assessed for the reporting period. 

If the taxable entity did not file an extension request on or 
before the due date, and the franchise tax payment is not 
postmarked on or before the due date, then a penalty of 
5% of the tax reported as due will be assessed (multiply 
Item 3 by 0.05). If the payment is more than 30 days 
delinquent, an additional 5% penalty will be assessed. 

For the first annual and final franchise tax report, if the timely 
extension payment is not at least 90% of the tax that will be 
due, then penalty will apply to any tax not paid by the original 
due date. 

If there is a timely filed extension request for an annual 
report, and the extension payment was not at least 100% 
of the tax reported as due for the previous calendar year 
(on the report due in 2011, filed on or before May 14, 2012) 
or 90% of the tax that will be due with the 2012 annual 
report, then penalty will apply to any part of the 90% not 
paid on or before May 15, 2012, and any part of the 10% 
not paid on or before Nov. 15, 2012. 

For taxable entities required to pay their franchise tax by 
EFT, see Rule 3.585 for penalty calculations. 

Item 5. Interest 
If any amount of the required payment is not made within 
60 days of the original or extended due date, interest will 
be assessed beginning on the 61st day. 

For more information on interest calculations see 
www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/int_rate.html. 

Form 05-175 
Texas Franchise Tax Tiered Partnership 
Report 

Filing requirements: This form must be completed by all 
upper and lower tier entities making the tiered partnership 
election under Section 171.1015, Texas Tax Code. 
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The tiered partnership election, under Sec. 171.1015, Tax 
Code, is not mandatory; it is a filing option for entities in a 
tiered partnership arrangement. A “tiered partnership 
arrangement” means an ownership structure in which any 
of the interests in one taxable entity treated as a partnership 
or an S corporation for federal income tax purposes (a “lower 
tier entity”) are owned by one or more other taxable entities 
(an “upper tier entity”). The tiered partnership election is 
not an alternative to combined reporting. Combined 
reporting is mandatory for taxable entities that meet the 
ownership and unitary criteria. Therefore, the tiered 
partnership election is not allowed if the lower tier entity is 
included in a combined group. 

If the lower tier entity has $1,030,000 or less in annualized 
total revenue or owes less than $1,000 in tax before passing 
total revenue to the upper tier entities, this election is not 
allowed. If the election is made and total revenue is passed, 
both the upper and lower tier entities will owe any amount 
of tax that is calculated as due even if the amount is less 
than $1,000 or annualized total revenue after the tiered 
partnership election is $1,030,000 or less. 

Lower Tier Entities:
 
If the entity filing this report is a lower tier entity, then enter
 
the requested information below for each upper tier entity
 
to which revenue was passed.
 

Item 1. Enter the lower tier entity’s total revenue before 
revenue is passed to upper tier entities. 

Item 2. Enter the Texas taxpayer number or FEI number of 
the upper tier entity to which the total revenue was passed. 

Item 3. Enter the amount of total revenue excluded by the 
lower tier entity that was passed to the upper tier entity. 

Item 4. Enter the legal name and address of the upper tier 
entity to which the total revenue was passed. 

Item 5. Enter the state of formation of the upper tier entity. 

Item 6. Leave blank. 

Item 7. Blacken this circle. 

Upper Tier Entities:
 
If the entity filing this report is an upper tier entity, then enter
 
the requested information below for each lower tier entity
 
that total revenue was passed from.
 

Item 1. Enter the lower tier entity’s total revenue before 
revenue is passed to upper tier entities. 

Item 2. Enter the Texas taxpayer number or FEI number of 
the lower tier entity from which the total revenue was passed. 

Item 3. Enter the amount of total revenue included by the 
upper tier entity that was passed from the lower tier entity. 

Item 4. Enter the legal name and address of the lower tier 
entity from which total revenue was passed. 

Item 5. Enter the state of formation of the lower tier entity. 

Item 6. Blacken this circle. 

Item 7. Leave blank. 

Note: An upper tier entity may also be a lower tier entity if there 
are multiple tiers. If this is true for the upper tier entity filing 
this report, then complete both upper and lower tier 
information as requested above. 

For additional information on all instructions in this booklet, 
refer to the following franchise tax rules: 

3.581	 Margin: Taxable and Nontaxable Entities 
3.582	 Margin: Passive Entities 
3.583	 Margin: Exemptions 
3.584	 Margin: Reports and Payments 
3.585	 Margin: Annual Report Extensions 
3.586	 Margin: Nexus 
3.587	 Margin: Total Revenue 
3.588	 Margin: Cost of Goods Sold 
3.589	 Margin: Compensation 
3.590	 Margin: Combined Reporting 
3.591	 Margin: Apportionment 
3.592	 Margin: Additional Tax 
3.593	 Margin: Franchise Tax Credit 
3.594	 Margin: Temporary Credit for Business Loss 

Carryforwards 
3.595	 Margin: Transition 

All of these rules can be viewed on the Comptroller’s website 
at www.window.state.tx.us. 

Where to file 
Reports and payments should be mailed to: 

Comptroller of Public Accounts 
P.O. Box 149348 
Austin, TX  78714-9348 

If tax is due, and the taxable entity is not required to use 
EFT or does not submit payment online, make the check or 
money order payable to the Comptroller of Public Accounts. 
Write the Texas taxpayer identification number and the report 
year on the check or money order. Complete the franchise 
tax payment (Form 05-170). 

Private Delivery Services 
Texas law conforms to federal law regarding the use of certain 
designated private delivery services to meet the “timely mailing 
as timely filing/paying” rule for tax reports and payments. If a 
private delivery service is used, address the return to: 

Comptroller of Public Accounts 
Franchise Tax Processing 
111 E. 17th St. 
Austin, TX  78711 
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