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Introduction

If you rent motor vehicles in Texas, you must have a Texas
Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Permit. The permit is available from
the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts (Comptroller).

The law requires you to have a permit if you rent vehicles to
others for consideration and any of these conditions apply:

* your rental agreements are for 180 days or fewer;

e the vehicles will be re-rented, regardless of the period
covered by the agreements; or

* you are the vehicles manufacturer, regardless of the
period covered by the agreements.

After the Comptroller’s office issues you a permit, you will
receive periodic preprinted returns to report the tax due on
your rentals.

To get a rental tax permit application or for more informa-
tion about the rental tax, you can download the application
at comptroller.texas.gov, visit your local Comptroller’s field
office, e-mail us at tax.help@comptroller.texas.gov, or call us
toll-free at 1-800-252-1382.

Cities and counties may also impose tax on short-term rent-
als. Any such taxes are administered by the local jurisdictions,
and you should contact them directly for more information.
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Definitions

Bad debt — any amount due on a rental agreement that is
written off as uncollectable. The amount must be entered on
the rental company’s books as a bad debt and claimed as a
deduction for federal income tax purposes.

Fair market value — a vehicle’s actual selling price when re-
tired from service or its depreciated book value if it is no lon-
ger used and is offered for sale.

Fair market value deduction — a method by which the tax-
able value of a rental vehicle purchase may be reduced for tax
purposes.

Farm machine — a self-propelled motor vehicle specially
adapted or modified to apply plant food materials, agricul-
tural chemicals or feed for livestock. “Farm machine” does
not include a self-propelled motor vehicle specially adapted
for the transportation of agricultural products.

Gross rental receipts — the consideration the owner receives
for use of the vehicle. Receipts can be the value of property or
services as well as money. Gross receipts also include any extra
charges the owner may make on the rental agreement for title
fees, registration fees and property taxes. So that such charges
are not construed to be tax assessments, invoices should show
them as reimbursements.

Taxable gross rental receipts do not include discounts; sepa-
rately stated charges for insurance; assessments for damages to a
rental vehicle occurring during the agreement period; or sepa-
rately stated receipts for motor fuel sold by the vehicle’s owner.
A charge for “collision damage waiver” or “collision protection
charge” does not qualify as a charge for insurance and is there-
fore considered part of the taxable gross rental receipts.

Gross Rental Receipts Tax (Rental Tax) — imposed on the
gross rental receipts derived from the rental of a motor vehicle
without a driver. The tax rate is 10 percent on a contract of 30
days or fewer and 6.25 percent on a contract for 31-180 days.

Minimum Gross Rental Receipts Tax (Minimum Tax or
Minimum Rental Tax) — equal to 6.25 percent of the ve-
hicle’s taxable value. If the rental vehicle was registered tax-
free, the minimum tax is the amount of tax the rental vehicle
must generate in order to relieve the owner of the tax liability
established at registration.

Mobile Office — A trailer designed to be used as an office,
sales outlet or other workplace.

Motor vehicle — a self-propelled vehicle designed to trans-
port persons or property on a public highway. The term in-

cludes trailers, semi-trailers and “house trailers” as defined by
the Certificate of Title Act, Transportation Code.

House trailers could include travel trailers, park models and
bunkhouses. Mobile offices are not taxed as motor vehicles,
but are subject to sales tax. Mobile homes and modular
homes are not motor vehicles, but are subject to the Texas
Manufactured Housing Sales and Use Tax.

“Motor vehicle” does not mean:

¢ a mobile office;

* a device moved only by human power;

* a device used exclusively upon stationary rails or
tracks;

* road-building machinery; or

* equipment transportable over the highways but de-
signed to perform a specialized function that does not
include transporting persons or property.

Out-of-state rental — when a customer takes delivery of a
rental vehicle outside of the state. The receipts from an out-
of-state rental are not subject to tax for the entire period of
the original agreement even if the customer brings the vehicle
into Texas. If the rental agreement is renewed or extended
while the vehicle is in Texas, however, it’s considered a Texas
rental and Texas tax is due on these receipts.

Person — an individual, firm, corporation or association.

Possession owner — someone who rents a motor vehicle for
re-rental. The possession owner does not have title to the ve-
hicle but must collect and remit tax on the re-rentals.

Rental — an agreement to give exclusive use of a motor ve-
hicle to someone for a consideration when any of the follow-
ing conditions apply:
e the agreement is for 180 days or fewer;
e the vehicle will be re-rented, regardless of the period
covered by the agreement; or
* you are the manufacturer of the vehicle, regardless of
the period covered by the agreement.

Any agreement that includes a driver or chauffeur is not a
rental but a service, and is not subject to the rental tax.

Replaced vehicle — a vehicle taken out of rental service. The
value of a replaced vehicle can be used to reduce the taxable
value of another vehicle purchased to be rented. Except as
provided below to qualify, a replaced vehicle must have been
titled in Texas in the rental company’s name. The replaced
vehicle must no longer be used and either sold or offered
for sale.
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The vehicle must be used as a fair market value deduction
within 18 months of the date it was removed from service.

The term also includes a vehicle titled in Texas in the name of
a related rental permit holder if either party holds a beneficial
ownership interest in the other party of at least 80 percent or ac-
quires all of its vehicles exclusively from franchised dealers whose
franchisor shares common ownership with the other party.

Taxable value — the total sales price less the value of a trade-in
vehicle or the fair market value of a replaced vehicle. Total sales
price is the amount paid for a motor vehicle and all accessories
that are attached to it at the time of sale.

Texas rental — when a customer takes delivery of a rental ve-
hicle in Texas. The receipts from the entire rental agreement are

subject to Texas gross rental receipts tax even if the customer
takes the vehicle out of state. A renewal or extension of the
agreement while the vehicle is out of state is not a Texas rental
and the receipts are not subject to Texas tax.

Timber machine — a self-propelled motor vehicle specially
adapted or modified for use primarily in timber operations.
Timber machine does not include any self-propelled motor
vehicle specifically designed or adapted for the primary pur-
pose of transporting timber or timber products.

Title owner — the person named as the owner on the certifi-
cate of title. The term also includes a person who is the legal
owner because of a lease/purchase or conditional sales contract
where the seller retains title undil full payment is made. The
title owner is responsible for satisfying the minimum tax.
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Registering Vehicles For Rental

There are two types of motor vehicle rental permits. One type
allows tax-free registration when you title a rental vehicle in your
name. The other type of permit requires that you pay motor ve-
hicle sales and use tax at the time of registration or titling.

To be able to register rental vehicles tax free, you must be an
authorized Texas automobile dealer licensed according to the
Transportation Code, or the title owner of at least five dif-
ferent motor vehicles that will be rented within a 12-month
period. If you do not meet these qualifications, you must pay
tax when you register the rental vehicle.

The purchase or use of a diesel-powered motor vehicle with a
gross registered weight of more than 14,000 pounds is subject
to the Texas Emissions Reduction Plan (TERP) surcharge.
This surcharge is paid at the time of registration with your
county tax assessor-collector at a rate of 2.5 percent on 1996
and older vehicles or 1 percent on newer models. The sur-
charge is not imposed on rental agreements.

Tax Paid at Registration

If you do not qualify to register rental vehicles tax free, you
must pay the 6.25 percent motor vehicle sales and use tax when
you register a vehicle for rental. Complete the Application for
Texas Certificate of Title/Motor Vehicle Tax Statement (Form
130-U) when you register the rental vehicle. To avoid a pen-
alty, you must pay the tax within 20 county working days
after you take delivery or bring the vehicle into Texas.

If you pay tax at registration, you can keep the rental tax you
collect from your customers until you have reimbursed yourself
for the full amount of tax you paid. You may not reimburse
yourself for the TERP surcharge with rental tax collections.

Tax-Free Registration

If you are eligible for tax-free registration, you can establish a
minimum tax liability instead of paying the 6.25 percent mo-
tor vehicle sales or use tax when registering a motor vehicle
for rental. You can also deduct the value of a trade-in or the
fair market value of a replaced vehicle from the price of a ve-
hicle purchased for rental. You must pay the TERP surcharge
at the time of registration.

The minimum tax liability is equal to 6.25 percent of the
taxable value of the vehicle. For example, if you buy a vehicle
for $11,000 and your trade-in is worth $4,400, the taxable
value of the vehicle is $6,600 ($11,000 minus $4,400). If you
registered the vehicle tax free for rental, then the minimum
tax would be $412.50 ($6,600 multiplied by 6.25 percent).

You can satisfy the minimum tax liability by collecting tax
when you rent the vehicle and reporting and paying the tax
to the Comptroller. If you retire the vehicle from rental ser-
vice and have not collected enough rental tax to satisfy the
minimum tax liability, you must pay the difference to the
Comptroller’s office.

To register a vehicle tax free, you must complete an application
for Texas Certificate of Titde/Motor Vehicle Tax Statement
(Form 130-U). You can get the application from your county
tax assessor-collector or the Texas Comptroller’s office.

When you complete the application, you will also show the
purchase price, the value of any vehicle used as a trade-in or
for a fair market value deduction, and the calculated mini-
mum rental tax. You will also have to provide your rental
permit number. The application must be signed by both the
purchaser and the seller.

Remember, giving false information on title transfer docu-
ments is a third degree felony.

Fair Market Value Deduction

A fair market value deduction can only be claimed by those
rental accounts that qualify to register their rental vehicles tax
free. Other rental accounts must have an actual trade-in to
reduce the taxable value of a rental vehicle.

If you are eligible to take a fair market value deduction and
have sold a vehicle before purchasing another one for rental,
you can take a deduction equal to the sales price of the re-
placed vehicle. For example, if you sold a vehicle for $5,000,
its fair market value is $5,000.

If you buy a replacement vehicle before you sell the old one,
you can claim a fair market value deduction on the old one
only if it is offered for sale and is no longer being used. Since
you do not yet know the price the vehicle will sell for, you can
use the depreciated book value as the fair market value as long
as it is based on generally accepted accounting principles. You
cannot make an adjustment later if the vehicle sells for more
or less than the depreciated book value.

If the Comprtroller’s office determines that your book value is
not based on accepted accounting principles, the fair market
value will be the purchase price you paid for the vehicle less
depreciation at the rate of 2 percent per month for the first
36 months and 1 percent per month for the remaining de-
preciable life.
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Example of Application for Texas Certificate of Title
(Form 130-U)

APPLICATION FOR TEXAS CERTIFICATE OF TITLE
= SHADED AREAS ARE TO BE COMPLETED BY THE SELLER =

== TYPE OR PRINT NEATLY IN INK sffmmm

TAX OFFICE USE ONLY County Use Only
Tax Collector County
Date Transaction Number
1. Vehicle Identification Number 2. Year 3. Make 4. Body Style O spvs

5. Model 6. Odometer Readin 7. Empty Weight 8. Carrying Capacity (Ibs. 9. Tonnage
g ply Welg rying Capacity (Ibs.) < [ Appraisal Value $
sk
10. Trailer Type 11. Plate No. 12. Vehicle Unit No. 13. Applicant's/Additional Applicant's
[Jsemi [] Full Social Security Numbers
(See * below) or Federal Tax ID Number

14. Applicant's/Owner's Name(s)

Address

City, State, Zip Code County Name
14a. Registrant's Name

(Renewal Notice Recipient)

Add

. ress . O of Fact for Non-Disclosure,

City, State, Zip Code County Name VTR-171, Attached.
14b. Vehicle Physical Location

City, State, Zip Code

15. Previous Owner's Name 15a. GDN - Dealer Use Only

Address

City, State, Zip Code

THIS MOTOR VEHICLE IS SUBJECT TO THE FOLLOWING FIRST LIEN

16. 1st Lien Date 1st Lienholder Name 16a. Additional Lien(s)?
[] YES (If additional liens are to be

Address recorded, attach Form VTR-267.)

City, State, Zip Code

17. FOR CORRECTED TITLE, [ Change in Vehicle Description ~ [] VIN [J NoChangein [ Add [] Remove [] Odometer [] Odometer
CHECK REASON(S) [] Year [] Make [] Body Style [] Other Ownership Lien Lien Lien Brand Reading

=3

. ODOMETER DISCLOSURE - FEDERAL AND STATE LAW REQUIRES THAT YOU STATE THE MILEAGE UPON TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP. FAILURE TO COMPLETE OR
PROVIDING A FALSE STATEMENT MAY RESULT IN FINES AND/OR IMPRISONMENT.

1, , state that the odometer now reads (no tenths).
*k (

Name of Seller/Agent)
THE MILEAGE SHOWN IS [J A - Actual Mileage [J N - Not Actual Mileage WARNING - ODOMETER DISCREPANCY [ X - Mileage Exceeds Mechanical Limits
IF NO SELLER/AGENT, TITLE APPLICANT SHOULD CHECK ONE OF THE 3 BOXES ABOVE UNLESS NUMBER 6 INDICATES "EXEMPT."

MOTOR VEHICLE TAX STATEMENT

19. CHECK ONLY IF APPLICABLE
[] 1 hold Motor Vehicle Retailer's (Rental) Permit No. and will satisfy the minimum tax liability (V.A.T.S., Tax Code, §152.046 [c]).
[[] 1am a Dealer or Lessor and qualify to take the Fair Market Value Deduction (V.A.T.S., Tax Code, §152.002 [c]).

20. DESCRIPTION OF VEHICLE | Year Make Vehicle Identification Number 20a. ADDITIONAL TRADE - INS? (Y/N
TRADED IN (if any)

21. SALES AND USE TAX COMPUTATION
O (a) Sales Price ($ rebate has been deducted) $ [] $90 New Resident Tax - (Previous State)
(b) Less Trade - In Amount, Describe in Item 20 Above $( ) [ $5 Even Trade Tax
(c) For Dealers/Lessors/Rental ONLY - Fair Market Value [ $10 Gift Tax
Deduction, Describe in Item 20 Above $( ) [ $65 Rebuilt Salvage Fee
(d) Taxable Amount (Item a. minus Item b./Item c.) $ [[] 2.5% Emissions Fee (Diesel Vehicles 1996 and Older > 14,000 Ibs)
(e) 6.25% Tax on Taxable Amount (Multiply Item d. by .0625) $ [0 1% Emissions Fee (Diesel Vehicles 1997 and Newer > 14,000 Ibs)
(f) Late Tax Payment Penalty []5% or []10% $ [] Exemption claimed under the Motor Vehicle Sales and Use Tax Law because
(g) Tax Paid to (STATE) $
(h) AMOUNT OF TAX AND PENALTY DUE 3 [] $28 or $33 APPLICATION FEE FOR CERTIFICATE OF TITLE
(Contact your County Tax Assessor-Collector for the correct fee.)
(Item e. plus Item f. minus Item g.)
| HEREBY CERTIFY THAT ALL STATEMENTS IN THIS DOCUMENT ARE TRUE AND
CORRECT TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF.
22.
Signature of SELLER, DONOR, OR TRADER PRINTED NAME (Same as signature) Date
23.
Signature of PURCHASER, DONEE, OR TRADER PRINTED NAME (Same as signature) Date

RIGHTS OF SURVIVORSHIP OWNERSHIP AGREEMENT (MARRIED PERSONS)
WE, THE PERSONS WHOSE SIGNATURES APPEAR HEREIN, HEREBY AGREE THAT THE
OWNERSHIP OF THE VEHICLE DESCRIBED ON THIS APPLICATION FOR TITLE, SHALL FROM THIS SIGNATURE Date
DAY FORWARD BE HELD JOINTLY, AND IN THE EVENT OF DEATH OF EITHER OF THE PERSONS
NAMED IN THE AGREEMENT, THE OWNERSHIP OF THE VEHICLE SHALL VEST IN THE SURVIVOR
NON-MARRIED PERSONS ARE REQUIRED TO EXECUTE A RIGHTS OF SURVIVORSHIP
OWNERSHIP AGREEMENT FOR A MOTOR VEHICLE, FORM VTR-122.

SIGNATURE Date

WARNING: Transportation Code, §501.155, provides that falsifying information on title transfer documents is a third-degree felony offense punishable by not more than ten (10) years in prison or not more than one (1) year in a
community correctional facility.  In addition to imprisonment, a fine of up to $10,000 may also be imposed.

* NOTE: Transportation Code, §501.0235, REQUIRES that the applicant's social security number be provided when applying for a certificate of tile. If the applicant does not have a social security Number, Form VTR-171,

Statement of Fact for Non-disclosure of a Social Security Number, must this ion. This ion is requested for owner identification purposes.

Form-130-U  (Rev. 8/2006)
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Exemptions, Bad Debts and Reimbursements

Exemptions
There is no tax on the rentals listed below. The receipts from
such rentals must be included as total contract receipts on
the rental return, but are not counted as part of your taxable
contract receipts.

'The following types of rentals are exempt from tax.

* Rentals to a public agency — a public agency is an
instrumentality of the U.S. government or a depart-
ment, commission, board, office, institution or other
agency of this state or of a county, city, town, school
district, hospital district, water district or other special
district or authority or political subdivision created by
or under the Texas constitution or statutes.

* Rentals to a church or religious society — no tax is due
if the vehicle is designed to carry more than six pas-
sengers and at least 80 percent of the vehicle’s operat-
ing time is used to provide transportation to and from
church or religious services or meetings. A vehicle
rented for the official or personal use of a minister is
not exempt.

* Rentals for re-rental — if you rent a vehicle to someone
who will then re-rent it to others, do not collect rental
tax.

* Rentals to farmers and ranchers — there’s no tax on
rentals of a trailer, semi-trailer or a farm machine.

* Rentals to timber operators — there’s no tax on rentals
of a trailer, semi-trailer or timber machine.

* Rentals to a child-care facility — no tax is due when
renting a vehicle to a qualified residential child-care
facility to be used primarily to transport children re-
siding in the facility. A qualified residential child-care
facility means one licensed under Chapter 42 Human
Resources Code to provide residential care 24 hours
a day in a single residential group to children who
do not require specialized services or treatment and
children who are emotionally disturbed.

There is no exemption for vehicle rentals to a non-profit or
public service organization, even if the organization is funded
by a public agency.

Exemption Certificate

When making an exempt rental, you must attach an exemp-
tion certificate (Form 14-305, back) to the rental contract.
The certificate must be signed by an authorized representative
of the group or organization renting the vehicle. (See page 8
for an acceptable form of an exemption certificate. You can
reproduce this form in any size compatible with your record-
keeping requirements.)

If you frequently make exempt rentals to a single person or
organization, you do not have to get an exemption certificate
for each rental. However, you must have a method of cor-
relating specific invoices or rental contracts to that organiza-
tion’s signed exemption certificate in your files.

If you do not get an exemption certificate when you rent a
vehicle tax free, you are responsible for proving the rental was
exempt.

Bad Debts

You can use bad debts to reduce the amount of your rental tax
liability. Bad debts are those that are determined uncollectable,
written off as uncollectable in your books, and claimed as a bad
debt deduction for federal income tax purposes.

To reduce your tax liability, you can deduct a bad debt from
your gross rental receipts. If the bad debt includes taxable
and non-taxable receipts, you can deduct only the taxable
amount from gross rental receipts. If you've already remit-
ted the tax to the Comptroller’s office, you can claim credit
for the tax paid on the uncollectible charge on a current tax
return or file an amended return for the period the bad debts
were written off.

To support a claim for a bad debt deduction or credit, you
must keep records of the date of the rental, the name and ad-
dress of the customer, the amount the customer agreed to pay,
any amount on which you have already paid tax, payment
or other credit applied to the account, and evidence that the
amount has been legally charged off as a bad debt for federal

income tax purposes.

Any amount claimed as a bad debt cannot be used as a cred-
it against the minimum gross rental receipts tax owed on a
vehicle.

Reimbursement

If you pay motor vehicle sales or use tax on a rental vehicle,
you can retain the rental tax you collect to recover the tax
you've paid.

You cannot recover more tax than you paid when you regis-
tered the vehicle. For example, if you paid $1,000 in motor
vehicle sales or use tax at registration, you can retain no more
than $1,000 in rental tax.

To recover the tax you've paid, deduct the gross receipts de-
rived from the rental of the vehicle from either line 2 (receipts
from short term contracts) or line 6 (receipts from long term
contracts) on your Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return
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(Form 14-103, front). This deduction reduces the amount
subject to tax (line 3 for short-term contracts or line 7 for
long-term contracts).

For example, you collect $400 in rental receipts on a vehicle
on which you paid tax. If these receipts were from a short-
term rental, include the $400 in the short-term contract re-
ceipts (line 2) but reduce the taxable short-term contracts re-
ceipts figure (line 3) by $400, thus reimbursing yourself $40
($400 multiplied by 10 percent). If these receipts were from a
long-term rental, include the $400 in the long-term contract
receipts (line 6) but reduce the taxable long-term contract

receipts figure (line 7) by $400, thus reimbursing yourself
$25 ($400 multiplied by 6.25 percent).

If you pay motor vehicle sales tax on a rental vehicle, you can
only use receipts from rentals of that specific vehicle to re-
cover the tax you've paid. You cannot recover tax from rental
receipts for a different vehicle.

If you reimburse the title owner for tax paid on a vehicle rented
to you for re-rental, you can recover the tax from the rental tax
you collect. You must keep a verification certificate in your re-
cords as proof of tax you've paid to the title owner.
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Example of Motor Vehicle Rental Exemption Certificate
(Form 14-305, back)

Form 14-305 (Back)(Rev.9-15/7)

Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Exemption Certificate
This certificate is not valid for tax-free registration. This exemption certificate must be attached to the rental contract.
Make of vehicle Vehicle identification number

Model year Body style License plate number

The undersigned claims exemption from payment of motor vehicle gross rental receipts tax under the Taxes on Sale, Rental and Use of
Motor Vehicle Law (TEX. TAX CODE ANN. ch 152), on the rental of the above described motor vehicle from:

Name of rental company

Address (Street and number)

City State ZIP code

Renter claims this exemption for the following reasons:

(] childcare Facilities - Motor vehicles used or rented by a qualified residential childcare facility and used primarily to transport children residing at
the facility are exempt from motor vehicle rental tax. A qualifying residential childcare facility is a facility that is licensed by Texas Department of
Family and Protective Services (DFPS) under Human Resources Code Chapter 42 to provide residential care 24 hours a day and provides this
care in a single residential group to children who do not require specialized services or treatment and to children who are emotionally disturbed.
For the motor vehicle rental tax exemption, the DFPS license will state one of the following types of qualifying residential childcare facility:

e independent foster group home e emergency shelter

e independent foster family home e residential treatment center

e institution providing basic care e therapeutic camp

e institution serving mentally retarded children e child-placing agency that directly provides residential childcare

] churches or Religious Societies - A qualified church or religious society is exempt from paying motor vehicle rental tax only if the motor vehicle is
designed to carry more than six passengers and used primarily (at least 80 percent of the time) to provide transportation to and from church or
religious services or meetings. A qualified church or religious society is an organized group of people regularly associating for the sole purpose
of holding, conducting and sponsoring religious worship according to the rites of the group.

[] Farm Trailers and Other Farm Vehicles - Farm machines, trailers and semi-trailers used primarily (at least 80 percent of the time) for farming and
ranching, including the raising of poultry and operation of feedlots, are exempt from motor vehicle rental tax. The qualified farm trailer/vehicle
must be used on a farm or ranch in the production of crops, livestock or other agricultural products to be sold in the regular course of business.
Afarm or ranch includes a dairy farm, commercial orchard, commercial greenhouse, feedlot or a similar commercial agricultural operation that is
the original producer of agricultural products. Renters must provide a current ag/timber number issued by the Comptroller in order to claim this
exemption. Tax is due if renter does not have an ag/timber number. For more information, visit www.comptroller.texas.gov/taxinfo/agriculture.

Agl/timber number issued by the Comptroller of Public Accounts: expires Dec. 31, 2 0

[] Public Agencies - A public agency is exempt from motor vehicle rental tax. A public agency includes the federal government; a department, com-
mission, board, office, institution or other agency of the state of Texas or of a county, city, town, school district, hospital district, water district or
other special district, authority or political subdivision created by or pursuant to the constitution or the statutes of Texas. An organization can
receive federal or state funds and still not be entitled to an exemption from motor vehicle rental tax.

[] Rentals for Re-Rental - An entity in the business of renting motor vehicles can rent a vehicle tax free to hold for re-rental.

Motor vehicle rental permit number issued by the Comptroller of Public Accounts:

] Timber Operations - Timber machines and trailers used primarily (at least 80 percent of the time) in timber operations are exempt from motor vehicle
rental tax. A timber machine is a self-propelled motor vehicle specially adapted to perform a specialized function for use primarily in timber operations.
Timber machines and trailers qualify for exemption if they are used in the production of timber, including land preparation, planting, maintenance and
gathering of trees commonly grown for commercial timber. Renters must provide a current ag/timber number issued by the Comptroller in order to
claim this exemption. Tax is due if renter does not have an ag/timber number. For more information, visit www.comptroller.texas.gov/taxinfo/agriculture.

Ag/timber number issued by the Comptroller of Public Accounts: expires Dec. 31, 2 0

| declare that the information contained in this document and any attachments is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Name of tax-exempt person or organization

Sig n Authorized person
here
Address (Street and number or P.O. Box number)

City State ZIP code

NOTE: This form may be reproduced, but must be substantially in the form set out above.
Do NOT send the completed exemption certificate to the Comptroller of Public Accounts. See instructions on front of form.
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Example of Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return
(Form 14-103, front)

a.TCode ™ 15100

TEe 14-103 H||||| 4|
T (Rev.10-16/124) b * L IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

You have certain rights under Chapters 552 and 559, Government Code,

Texas M otor Ve h i cl e Ren tal Tax Retu rn to review, request and correct information we have on file abo_ur you.

Contact us at the address or phone numbers listed on this form.

c. Taxpayer number d. Filing period e. f. Due date

h. IMPORTANT

g. Name and mailing address (Make any necessary name or address changes below.)
address has changed.

Blacken this box if your mailing

Show changes

beside the preprinted information. ———»

Blacken this box if you are no

longer in business and write in the

date you went out of business. ————»

Month Day

N
vy ull

Year

Federal Privacy Act - Disclosure of your Social Security number is required and authorized under law, for the purpose of tax administration and
ldentrﬂcatior? of any_mdiwdua_l aﬁecfgd by applicable law, _42_ u.s.c. _ss-cﬂon 405(0_)(2)(0 Xi); Tex. Govt. Cod@,_ sections {03.01 1 and 403.078. i. ‘ ’ j- ‘
Release of information on this form in 1o a public request will be g by the Public Information Act, Chapter 552, | M |
Government Code, and applicable federal faw.
s Please read instructions. o Type or print. » Do not write in shaded areas. * Report dollars and cents.
1. Enter the number of vehicles you own that were retired from rental service
during this reporting period (See instructions) 1. m
2. Total short term contract receipts (1-30 days) (See instructions) 2. m
3. Taxable short term contract receipts (See instructions) 3 m
4. Taxrate 4. 0.1000
5. Tax due on short term contract receipts (Multiply Item 3 by Item 4) 5 m
6. Total long term contract receipts (31-180 days) (See instructions) 6. m
7. Taxable long term contract receipts (See instructions) 7 m
8. Taxrate 8. 0.0625
9. Tax due on long term contract receipts (Multiply Item 7 by Item 8) 9m
10. Unremitted portion of minimum gross rental receipts tax (See instructions) 10. m
11. Total tax due (item 5 plus Items 9 and 10) M. m
12. Prepayment credits 12.
13. Tax due after prepayments (ltem 11 minus Item 12) 18.
14. DISCOUNT: (See instructions) 14.
15. Net tax due after discount (ltem 13 minus Item 14) 15.

14-103 (Rev.10-16/24)

16. Penalty -If this report is filed or the tax due is paid after the due date, enter penalty.
If 1-30 days late, enter 5% of the amount in ltem 15. If more than 30 days late, enter 10% of the amount in ltem 15.
NOTE: An additional $50 late filing penalty will be assessed each time a return is filed after the due date. _______________. 16.

17. Interest - If any fee is unpaid 61 days after the due date, enter interest on the amount in ltem 15.
Calculate interest at the rate published online at www.compitroller.texas.gov,
or call the Comptroller’s office at 1-877-447-2834 for the applicable interest rate. ) 17.

18. TOTAL AMOUNT DUE AND PAYABLE (item 15 plus ltems 16 and 17) 18. m

Taxpayer name

M T Code M Taxpayer number W Period

the best of my knowledge and belief.

| declare that the information in this document and any attachments is true and correct to

Taxpayer or duly authorized agent

here }

Make the amount in Item 18 | Mail to COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS Business phone
P.O. Box 149360

Date

payable to
STATE COMPTROLLER Austin, TX 78714-9360

For assistance, call 1-800-252-1382.
Information is also available at www.comptroller.texas.gov. 111 B
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Example of Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return
(Form 14-103, back)

Form 14-

103 (Back)(Rev.10-16/24)

Instructions for Completing the Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return
(TEXAS TAX CODE ANN. secs. 152.026 and 152.045)

Who Must File:
e You must file this return if you are a sole owner, partnership, corporation or other organization who is responsible for
collection and/or payment of Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax. Failure to file this report and pay applicable tax may result in
collection action as prescribed by Title 2 of the Tax Code.
« Complete and detailed records must be kept of all receipts reported and exemptions or reimbursements claimed so that
returns can be verified by a state auditor.
When to File:
» Returns must be filed on or before the 20th day of the month following the reporting period.
» RETURNS MUST BE FILED FOR EVERY PERIOD EVEN IF YOU HAVE NO AMOUNT SUBJECT TO TAX OR NO TAX DUE.
o If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the next business day will be the due date.

Specific Instructions

Item c-

Item d-

ltem 1-

ltem 2-
ltem 3-
Item 6-

ltem 7-

ltem 10-

Enter the Taxpayer Number shown on your Motor Vehicle
Rental Permit. If you have not received your Motor Vehicle
Rental Permit, enter your Social Security Number if sole
ownership or federal Employer's Identification Number (EIN).
Enter filing period of this return, monthly or quarterly, and the
last day of the period.

Enter the number of vehicles you own that were retired from

service during this reporting period. See Item 10 and the

instructions below regarding the calculation of the total amount
of minimum gross rental receipts tax due, if any.

Enter the total amount of ALL short-term rental contract receipts

(Short-term contracts 1-30 days).

Enter the total amount of taxable short-term rental contract

receipts after exemptions and reimbursements.

Enter the total amount of ALL long-term rental contract receipts

(Long term contracts 31-180 days).

Enter the total amount of taxable long-term rental contract

receipts after exemptions and reimbursements.

* Reimburse yourself only for motor vehicle sales or use tax
you have previously paid to Texas on a rental vehicle.

» The total reimbursement may not exceed the amount of tax
you paid on the vehicle at registration.

* Do not use gross rental receipts received from the rental of
one vehicle to claim reimbursement for tax paid on a
different vehicle.

When a vehicle is no longer used for rental, the unremitted

portion of minimum tax must be reported and paid on the first

rental report following retirement of the vehicle. The minimum

gross rental receipts tax on an individual rental vehicle is equal .

Item 10- to 6.25 percent of the total consideration (Taxable Amount) paid

(cont.) for that vehicle [refer to Line 21(e) on the Form 130-U,
Application for Texas Certificate of Title], minus the amount of
rental receipts tax collected and remitted on that vehicle's rental
contracts by the time of its retirement. The total unremitted
portion of the minimum tax due for the report is determined by
calculating the sum of the taxes due for all vehicles retired
during the report period. No further tax is due on vehicles upon
which tax has been paid or that have been destroyed or stolen.

Item 11- Enter the total amount due on both short-term and long-term
rental contracts and the unremitted portion of the minimum
gross rental receipts.

Item 12- FOR PREPAYERS ONLY - The amount preprinted in item 12
includes the allowable prepayment discount for filing your return
and paying the tax due on or before the due date. (If you
prepaid timely and the amount is not preprinted here, calculate
the credit by dividing the amount you paid by .9825 and enter
the result in item 12). If you are filing your return and paying the
tax late, mark out the preprinted amount and enter the actual
amount you prepaid.

NOTE: If Item 11 is LESS than item 12, enter the difference in
Item 13 < XXX XX>, then multiply the negative difference in Item
13 by .9825 and enter the result in ltem 15.

DO NOT TAKE THE 1/2 OF 1% DISCOUNT ON CREDIT BALANCES.

Item 14- Discount - If the return is filed and the tax paid on or before the
due date, enter a discount of one-half of one percent (0.005) of
item 13. (Prepayers see item 12.)

Electronic reporting and payment options
are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Have this form available when you log on.
www.comptroller.te xas.gov taxes fiile-pay/

webfile

Online Tax Filing

EXAMPLE FOR CALCULATING TOTAL UNREMITTED PORTION OF MINIMUM GROSS RENTAL RECEIPTS TAX

The example below is a guide for recording the required information for each of your retired vehicles, calculating the tax on each for this reporting period,
and determining the current total tax due. You must keep the following information in your records for each rental vehicle: the year and make of the vehicle;
the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN); and the unit number.

A B c D E reEcKy. |F MINIMUM RENTAL | G GROSS H TAX DUE
IF STOLEN,
YEAR | MAKE | VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER NJ’#E',";EH DESTROYED | TAX DETERMINED RENTAL TAX (Col. F minus Col. G)
(VIN) AT REGISTRATION COLLECTED Must be zero or greater
$ $
3 g -
TOTAL UNREMITTED PORTION OF MINIMUM GROSS RENTAL RECEIPTS TAX $
(Enter the total from Column H for all vehicles listed and enter the result in Item 10 of the return.)

Column F is the minimum tax determined at the time of registration [Form 130-U, Line 21(e)].

Column G is the total amount of rental tax collected for each vehicle. This total includes: rental tax collected on the vehicle and remitted to the Comptroller;
rental tax that would have been collected on rentals to public agencies, churches or religious societies; rental tax collected on the rental vehicle and paid to
other states; and rental tax collected on the re-rental of the motor vehicle by another company and remitted to the Comptroller.

Column H is the amount of tax due for the vehicle. (Subtract Column G from Column F - If the result is less than zero, enter zero in Column H.) The TOTAL
UNREMITTED PORTION OF MINIMUM GROSS RENTAL RECEIPTS TAX should be entered in Iltem 10 of the return.

10
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Minimum Tax

When you take a rental vehicle out of service, you must make
sure that you have paid that vehicle’s minimum tax liability.

If you registered the vehicle tax-free and have collected rental
tax equal to or greater than the sales tax that would have been
due when you bought it, you do not owe any additional tax.
If you have not satisfied the minimum tax liability, however,
you must pay any tax still due on your next rental tax return.
You can report the retired vehicle and calculate any tax liabil-
ity still due on the Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return —
Supplement (Form 14-104, pages 12 and 13). Any unremit-
ted portion of minimum tax is added to your total rental tax
due for the reporting period.

If you paid motor vehicle sales or use tax when you registered
the vehicle, you do not owe any additional tax when you re-
tire the vehicle from rental service.

If no sales or use tax is due on the original purchase price of
a vehicle used for rental, there is no minimum rental tax li-

ability.

Destroyed or Stolen Vehicles

If a vehicle is registered tax free for rental and is later de-
stroyed or stolen and its value not recovered, any remaining
minimum rental tax liability is dismissed and no additional
tax is due. Vehicles whose minimum tax liabilities have been
dismissed cannot be used as fair market value deductions
and must be reported on the Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax
Return — Supplement (Form 14-104).

Credits against Minimum Tax
The minimum tax liability is reduced by the amount of rental
tax the title owner collects and remits to the Comptroller’s

office.

Other credits can be applied towards the minimum tax liability.
¢ The amount of tax exempted on the rental of a motor
vehicle to a public agency, a church, a qualified child-
care facility, a farm trailer, farm machine, a trailer used
in timber operations or a timber machine can be used

to offset the minimum tax liability.

o If the title owner rents a vehicle to a possession owner
for re-rental, the amount of tax the possession owner
collects and remits is used as a credit to offset the min-
imum tax liability. A verification certificate is used to
document the credit.

¢ The amount of rental tax collected and remitted to an-
other state can be used to satisfy the minimum rental

tax liability.

Verification Certificate

The possession owner completes Section I (Rent for Re-
Rental) of Form 14-305 (front) and gives it to the title owner
to show how much rental tax has been collected. A title owner
whose records include a valid Section I can credit the amount
of tax collected and remitted by the possession owner against
the vehicle’s minimum tax liability.

The title owner completes Section II (Reimbursement of Sales
or Use Tax Verification) of Form 14-305 (front) and gives it to
the possession owner to show how much tax was paid when
the vehicle was registered. The title owner can then contract
with the possession owner for reimbursement from rental tax
collected. The verification certificate must show the amount
of sales or use tax paid when the vehicle was registered, the
rental tax collected on rental of the vehicle, and the amount
of reimbursement received from the possession owner.

A possession owner whose records include a valid Section 1I
can recover up to the amount of sales or use tax paid to the
title owner. The total amount of reimbursement cannot ex-
ceed the amount of sales or use tax paid.

Recordkeeping

You must keep a copy of either a Motor Vehicle Verification
Certificate For Rental Tax (Form 14-305, front) or a Motor
Vehicle Rental Exemption Certificate (Form 14-305, back) in
your records to document each claim for credit.

Credits Nontransferable

Each vehicle registered tax free must generate enough rental
tax to satisfy its own minimum tax liability. Tax collected and
remitted from one vehicle’s rental cannot be used to pay a

different vehicle’s liability.

Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Guidebook

11



Example of Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return -

Supplement (Form 14-104, front)

“ 14-104
"G (Rev.7-02/11)

TEXAS MOTOR VEHICLE RENTAL TAX RETURN - SUPPLEMENT

« This supplement must be submitted with the rental tax return when vehicles are removed from rental service.
*Please read instructions

|

*TYPE OR PRINT « Write only in white areas

a. Taxpayer number

b. Period ending

Taxpayer name and mailing address

« Complete this supplement to
determine the amount of Minimum
Rental Tax due when a motor
vehicle ceases to be used for rental
by the purchaser.

« The total tax due shown on this
supplement MUST be the same as
the amount reported in item 10 on

the return.
1. 2. 4. 5. %#(E)EEI\IJF 6. MINIMUM 7. 8_( TAX DUE
UNIT . RENTAL TAX GROSS RENTAL Item 6 minus 7)
YEAR MAKE VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER DESTROYED
NUMBER | orR SALES TAx | DETERMINED AT TAX COLLECTED Must be zero or
WAS PAID REGISTRATION greater.

9. TOTAL UNREMITTED PORTION OF THE MINIMUM RENTAL TAX
(Enter the combined total from all supplement pages in Iltem 10 of the Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return.)

If additional space is needed, copy this form or request addition copies.

12
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Example of Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return -
Supplement (Form 14-104, back)

Form 14-104 (Back) (Rev. 7-02/11)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE TEXAS MOTOR VEHICLE RENTAL TAX RETURN SUPPLEMENT
(TEX. TAX CODE ANN. secs. 152.026, 152.045 and 152.046)

Under Ch. 559, Government Code, you are entitled to review, request, and correct information we have on file about you, with limited exceptions
in accordance with Ch. 552, Government Code. To request information for review or to request error correction, contact us at the address or toll-
free number listed on this form.

GENERAL INFORMATION

.

WHO MUST FILE: You must file this supplement if you are required to file a Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return
and you remove vehicles from rental use which you purchased for rental service. These include
every rental vehicle titled in your name and every vehicle purchased under conditional sales
contracts or lease-purchase agreements under which you were obligated to buy the vehicle, even

if the title to the vehicle was not in your name.

File this supplement only for periods in which you retire vehicles from rental service.
The supplement must be attached to the return for those periods.

WHEN TO FILE:

FOR ASSISTANCE: Forinformation on Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax, ask for the Comptroller's Motor Vehicle Rental
Tax Guide, publication number 96-143.

For tax assistance call 1-800-252-1382 toll free nationwide. The Austin number is 512-463-4600.
(From a Telecommunication Device for the Deaf (TDD) ONLY call 1-800-248-4099 toll free. The

Austin number is 512-463-4621.)

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS: ° Please write only in white areas.
TYPE OR PRINT.
Complete all applicable items.

.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

NOTE: Every motor vehicle that ceases to be used for rental purposes during a reporting period must be listed on
this supplement and tax due calculated for each vehicle. An excess of rental tax collected on one vehicle cannot be
applied as a credit to any other vehicle.

Item a - Enter the same taxpayer number shown on your rental
tax return.

« rental tax collected on the rental of the motor vehicle and
paid to the Comptroller;

« rental tax that would have been collected on rentals to
public agencies, churches or religious societies which
are exempt;

« rental tax collected on the rental of the motor vehicle and
paid to other states;

« rental tax collected on the re-rental of motor vehicles by
another company and remitted to the Comptroller.

Item b - Enter the same filing period, month or quarter, that is
shown on your rental tax return.

Item 5 - « Check this item if the vehicle was stolen and not
recovered or destroyed, or if the Motor Vehicle Sales
and Use Tax was paid at the time of registration.

« [f this item was checked, leave Items 6, 7 and 8
blank.
Note: If a vehicle is stolen or destroyed, the
Minimum Rental Tax does not have to be
satisfied.

Item 8 - Enter the amount of tax due (ltem 6 minus Item 7).
« If Item 6 is larger than Item 7, subtract ltem 7 from Item
6 and enter the difference.
« If ltem 6 is smaller than or the same as Item 7, enter zero
(0). This indicates that the minimum Rental Tax has been

Item 6 - Enter the amount of Minimum Rental Tax calculated at satisfied.

the time of registration on the Application for Texas

Certificate of Title, Form 130-U. Item 9 - Enter the combined total of this item on all supplement

pages in Iltem 10 of the Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return.
Item 7 - Enter the total amount of rental tax collected for each

vehicle. The total includes:

Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Guidebook
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Example of Motor Vehicle Verification Certificate for
Rental Tax (Form 14-305, front)

Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Verification Certificate
This certificate is not valid for tax-free registration. This certificate must be retained for tax verification purposes.

Section . Rent for Re-Rental: Verification of Gross Rental Receipts Tax Collected in Texas

To be completed by renter re-renting a motor vehicle and furnished to title owner of motor vehicle. Indicate the total amount of gross rental receipts
tax collected and paid to the Comptroller. This amount can be used as a credit toward satisfying the minimum gross rental receipts tax liability of the
title owner. This certificate is retained by the title owner.

Make of vehicle Vehicle identification number

Model year Body style License plate number

| certify that | hold Motor Vehicle Rental Permit No. , that | have rented the vehicle described above for the purpose

of re-rental and that | have collected and paid to the Comptroller gross rental receipts taxes in the amount of $

for the period s to s

(Month and day) (Year) (Month and day) (Year)

| declare the information contained in this document and any attachments is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief and
this information can be verified by audit of my records by the Comptroller of Public Accounts.

Name of renter

sign
here
Address (Street and number or P.O. Box number)
City State ZIP code

Section Il. Reimbursement of Sales or Use Tax Verification

To be completed by title owner when a vehicle is rented for re-rental and the renter reimburses the owner for the sales or use tax paid at registration.
This certificate is retained by the renter.

Make of vehicle Motor or vehicle identification number

Model year Body style License plate number
| certify that | paid sales or use tax in the amount of $ at the time of registration on the above described motor
vehicle, that | have collected gross rental receipts tax in the amount of $ on the gross rental receipts received

from renting the above described motor vehicle and that | have contracted and received reimbursement in the amount of

$ from the re-renter named (below).

Name of re-renter: Taxpayer ID:

Street address:

City: State: ZIP code:

| declare the information contained in this document and any attachments is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief, and
this information can be verified by audit of my records by the Comptroller of Public Accounts.

Name of vehicle owner sign
here
Address (Street and number or P.O. Box number)
City State ZIP code

Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Guidebook
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Tax Returns

If you rent a motor vehicle, you must collect tax on your
receipts. The tax rate is 6.25 percent for rental contracts of
31-180 days and 10 percent for rental contracts of 1-30 days.
The tax is reported to the Comptroller’s office on the Texas
Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return (Form 14-103).

If you did no rental business during the reporting period
but want to maintain an active rental account with the
Comptroller’s office, you must file a tax report. A “zero” re-
port will indicate to the Comptroller that you had no busi-
ness activity but wish to keep your permit active.

It is your responsibility to file a tax return and pay-
ment on time even if you did not receive a preprinted tax
return. Forms are available from the Comptroller’s office and
may be obtained by calling 1-800-252-1382, by emailing
tax.help@comptroller.texas.gov, or on the Comptroller’s web-
site at comptroller.texas.gov.

Monthly, Quarterly and Annual Tax Returns
If you owe more than $500 per month in rental tax, you must
file monthly or prepay. If you owe less than $500, you can
file quarterly. If you owe less than $1,000 per year in rental
tax and unremitted minimum tax, you can file yearly. Annual
filers who go over the $1,000 threshold before the end of the
year should file a quarterly return and remit all tax collected
to date, and switch to a quarterly report schedule.

All returns are due by the 20th of the month following the
end of the reporting period: monthly returns are due by the
20th of the next month; quarterly returns are due April 20,
July 20, Oct. 20 and Jan. 20; and annual returns are due Jan.
20. Due dates falling on holidays or weekends are moved to
the next working day.

Preprinted returns for the next reporting period are sent to
taxpayers by the first week of the month following the end of
the prior reporting period.

Discount for Timely Filing
If you file your tax return and payment on time, you can
withhold 0.5 percent of the tax you collect.

Prepaying
If you owe more than $500 per month in rental tax, you can
file quarterly reports if you prepay part of your tax liability.

To prepay, estimate your quarterly tax liability on a Texas Motor
Vehicle Rental Tax-Declared Estimate and Prepayment Report
(Form 14-105). Your prepayment must be equal to at least 90

percent of the tax due for the reporting period or the amount
of tax you paid for the same period in the preceding year.

The prepayment must be sent to the Comptroller’s office by
the 15th of the second month of the quarter. For example, if
you prepay for the first quarter of the calendar year, you must
prepay by Feb. 15 and file your quarterly report by April 20.
People who prepay and file on time receive an additional 1.25
percent discount.

If your prepayment is late, you must file monthly returns for
that period. If your prepayment is late or underestimated, it
will be applied as a credit on your regular monthly return and
you will not receive a prepayment discount.

Penalty for Failure to File or Pay

Tax paid 1-30 days late is assessed a 5 percent penalty. If the
tax is paid 31-60 days late, there is an additional 5 percent
penalty, for a total of 10 percent. For tax paid more than
60 days late, additional interest accrues at the rate pub-
lished in our annual interest rate notice (98-304), avail-
able online at comptroller.texas.gov or by calling toll-free at

1-887-44RATEA.

If you do not pay a liability determination issued by the
Comptroller’s office before it becomes final, you may be as-
sessed an additional 10 percent determination penalty.

Supplement: Vehicles No

Longer In Rental Service
The Texas Motor Vehicle Tax Return — Supplement (Form
14-104) is used to report a vehicle no longer used for rent-
al service. You can calculate the total amount of minimum
rental tax due on the supplement and add the amount to the
rental tax reported on your return.

You must file a supplement when you retire vehicles from
rental service, whether or not you have additional minimum
tax due.

Going Out of Business

If you go out of business, write “Out of Business” across the
top of your tax return and put the date you closed. This will
let us know to stop sending you tax returns. If you do not give
us this information, you will continue to receive preprinted
tax forms.

Any unremitted portion of minimum tax on rental vehicles
not retired on previous returns must be reported and paid on
your last return.

Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Guidebook
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Electronic Funds Transfer

If you pay more than $100,000 per fiscal year, Texas Law
requires that you pay your Motor Vehicle Rental Tax by
electronic funds transfer. For questions regarding elec-
tronic funds transfer, please call the TEXNET Hotline at
1-800-531-5441 ext. 3-3010. For questions regarding tax
or fee information, please call the Comptroller’s office at
1-800-531-5441 ext. 3-3630. You can also e-mail us at
eft.cpa@comptroller.texas.gov.
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Example of Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Declared Estimate
and Prepayment (Form 14-105)

o\ 14-105
* P
Ko (Rev.4-08/15)

TEXAS MOTOR VEHICLE RENTAL TAX
DECLARED ESTIMATE AND PREPAYMENT

a. Taxpayer number b. Filing period c. Due date

Taxpayer name and mailing address

REQUIREMENTS FOR PREPAYMENT
To receive the additional prepayment discount, you must meet the following requirements:

« your estimate of tax must equal at least 90% of the total tax that will be due for the reporting period, OR
it must be the same as the tax that was due and paid in the same period of the preceding year; AND

 your prepayment report must be postmarked on or before the due date.

NOTE: If your prepayment is late or underestimated, the prepayment discount will not be allowed. The payment will be applied as a credit to the tax
due on the return required to be filed for the period.

COMPUTATION OF ESTIMATED TAX AND PREPAYMENT

1. Enter your estimate of Total Taxable SHORT-TERM Gross Receipts

for the period. (Rentals of 30 days or less) 1
2. Estimated 10% tax for the period (Multiply item 1 by .10) 2.
3. Enter your estimate of Total Taxable LONG-TERM Gross Receipts

for the period. (Rentals of 31 days or more) 3.
4. Estimated 6 1/4% tax for the period (Multiply item 3 by .0625) 4.
5. Total estimated tax due (item 2 plus item 4) 5.
6. 1.750% PREPAYMENT DISCOUNT (Multiply item 5 by .0175) 6.
7. TOTAL TAX DUE (item 5 minus item 6) 7.

i | DETACH BELOW AND KEEP THIS UPPER PART FOR YOUR RECORDS | L

RETURN THIS PART ONLY WITH YOUR PAYMENT

Form 14-105 (Rev.4-08/15)

TEXAS MOTOR VEHICLE RENTAL TAX em
DECLARED ESTIMATE AND PREPAYMENT

8. TOTAL AMOUNT DUE AND PAYABLE (From item 7) 8 m
Taxpayer name L | |g.
M T Code M Taxpayer number B period | declare that the information in this document and all attachments is true

and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.
Authorized agent

sign
hegre

Make the amount in Item 8 payable to STATE COMPTROLLER
Mail to: COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS Business phone Date
P.0. Box 149360
Austin, Texas 78714-9360
For assistance call (800) 252-1382 toll free nationwide
or call (512) 463-4600.
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Records

Seller

If you are a seller, you must keep complete records of each retail
sale of a motor vehicle, including a complete copy of the in-
voice pertaining to the transaction described in the joint state-
ment completed by you and the buyer. The invoice must show
the full sales price of the motor vehicle, plus the itemized price
of all accessories attached to the vehicle.

Owner of a Rental Vehicle

If you own a vehicle used for rental, you must keep records
and supporting documents validating the taxable value of
the vehicle, description and value of any trade-in or replaced
vehicle, any amount of motor vehicle sales or use tax paid,
amount of rental receipts, and the amount of rental tax remit-
ted to the Comptroller’s office. You must keep these records
for every vehicle used for rental. You do not need to keep
mileage records for tax purposes.

If you rent tax-free to a qualified organization such as a public
agency, church or religious society, qualified child-care facil-
ity, farmer, rancher, timber operator or person renting for re-
rental, you must attach the exemption certificate to the rental
contract.

Availability of Records

You must keep accurate records for four years from the date
of a sale or rental. All records must be available for inspec-
tion and audit by the Comptroller’s office or an authorized
representative.

Accounting Methods

If you keep records on a cash basis, accrual basis or on any
generally recognized accounting basis that correctly reflects
the operation of the business, you can file tax returns on that
basis as long as the method used is consistent.
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Audits

The Comptroller’s office uses a computerized selection pro-
gram to determine which taxpayers are audited. The program
uses geographical location, volume of business and some
strictly random factors to select taxpayers to be audited.

This section will help you understand what takes place during
an audit and the various procedures involved.

Entrance Conference

The auditor assigned to your account will contact you by tele-
phone or letter to arrange an initial meeting at a time conve-
nient to you. The purpose of this “entrance conference” is to
get basic information and establish some ground rules for the
audit. Subjects which will be discussed include whether you
are a corporation, partnership or sole proprietorship; records
the auditor will need and where the records are located; and
setting up a place where the auditor can work and the hours
the auditor will be on-site.

The auditor needs to identify all state taxes for which you
are responsible. If possible, all state taxes for which you are
responsible are audited at one time to minimize disruption of
your business operations.

Records Required

An audit involves verifying the information on rental tax re-
turns, so you should be prepared to make available to the
auditor records which show purchase and selling prices, as
well as exemption and verification certificates.

Audit Procedures

Initially, the auditor will examine a portion of your records to see
if there is an error in your tax compliance. If the auditor finds an
error, you will be subject to either a sample or a detailed audit.

A sample audit, as the name implies, examines representative
portions of your business records. This procedure minimizes
both the cost of conducting audits and the cost to you of pro-
viding detailed records for the entire audit period.

In a detailed audit, the auditor reviews and examines all of
your business records for the entire audit period. If your re-
cords are inadequate, the auditor will base the audit on the
best information possible.

An audit will usually cover a four-year period. In certain cir-
cumstances, however, you and the Comptroller’s office can en-
ter into a written agreement to extend the audit period.

Post-Audit Conferences
At a mutually convenient time after the audit is completed,
you and the auditor will have an exit conference to discuss

the results. If the audit uncovered errors, the auditor will be
able to tell you of ways to comply with the state’s tax laws in
the future.

If you disagree with the results of the audit, you can request
a reconciliation conference. The auditor and the auditor’s su-
pervisor will meet with you and your representative to review
the audit and try to resolve any disagreements or misunder-
standings.

Audit Review

After the post-audit conferences, the completed audit
is reviewed in the local audit office and then sent to the
Comptroller’s headquarters in Austin, Texas for further review.

After all audit reviews are finished, you will receive either a
notice of no tax due or a deficiency determination. A Notice
of Deficiency Determination is the Comptroller’s official bill-
ing notice, showing the total tax, penalty and interest you
owe and the date by which it must be paid.

The notice also lets you know that you have 30 days from the
official billing date to request a redetermination hearing for
further review of the audit. If you do not request a redetermi-
nation hearing within 30 days, the deficiency notice becomes
final and you must pay the amount due.

Redetermination Hearing

If you request a redetermination hearing, you will be re-
quired to submit a statement of grounds. An attorney from
the Comptroller’s General Counsel Division will respond to
your statement in a position letter. If you agree with the posi-
tion letter, it may be possible to resolve the issue at this point
without a formal hearing.

A redetermination hearing is an administrative review conduct-
ed by an administrative law judge. The position of the tax divi-
sion supporting the audit results will be presented by a hearings
attorney from the Comptroller’s General Counsel Division. You
may present your own case or be represented by an attorney.

Hearings are held before an administrative law judge who is
independent of both the General Counsel Division and the
tax divisions. Oral hearings are held in Austin, Texas. You
may present your case in writing, if that is more convenient.

The Comptroller issues the final decision.

Most disputed audits are resolved through the redetermina-
tion process. A taxpayer who disagrees with the Comptroller’s
decision may, after payment of any liability, take the case to a
district court in Travis County, Texas.

Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Guidebook
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Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Forms

130-U

AP-143

14-103

14-104

14-105

14-305 (Front)

14-305 (Back)

Application for Texas Certificate of Title/Motor Vehicle Tax Statement — documents a retail sale between a seller
and a buyer. The form is available from the county tax assessor-collector’s office or the Comptroller’s office.

Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Application — to apply for a rental tax permit.

Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return — to report and pay rental tax. A report must be filed for every report-
ing period even if there is no rental tax to report. The return is due by the 20th day of the month following
the end of the reporting period.

Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return-Supplement — used in conjunction with a rental tax return to report
a motor vehicle is no longer used for rental. A supplement is filed only when a vehicle is retired from rental
service, even if no additional minimum tax is due.

Texas Motor Vehicle Rental Tax — Declared Estimate and Prepayment Report — to estimate and prepay a tax
liability for a reporting period. The prepayment report is due by the 15th day of the second month of the
quarterly filing period.

Motor Vehicle Verification Certificate for Rental Tax — to claim credit for rental tax which can be applied
against the minimum tax liability of a motor vehicle and to document reimbursement of motor vehicle sales
and use tax.

Motor Vehicle Rental Exemption Certificate — to validate a tax-exempt rental. The certificate must be signed
by the customer or an authorized representative and kept in the title or possession owner’s records as proof
of the exempt rental.
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Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

This publication is intended as a general guide and not as a comprehensive resource on the subjects covered. It is not a substitute for legal advice.

WE’RE HERE TO HELP!

If you have questions or need information, contact us:

For more information, 1-800-252-5555 1-800-252-7875 1-800-252-1385
search our website at 911 Emergency Service/ Spanish Coin-Operated Machines Tax
Comptroller.Texas.Gov Equalization Surcharge Hotel Occupancy Tax
Automotive Oil Fee 1-800-531-1441
Battery Fee Fax on Demand (Most frequently requested ~ 1-800-252-1386
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Boat and Boat Motor Sales Tax Sales and Franchise tax forms) Account Status
111 East 17th Street Customs Broker Officer and Director Information
Austin, Texas 78711-1440 Mixed Beverage Taxes 1-800-252-1382
0ff-Road, Heavy-Duty Diesel Clean Vehicle Incentive Program 1-800-862-2260
) ] ) Equipment Surcharge Manufactured Housing Tax Cigarette and Tobacco
Sign up to receive email updates on Oyster Fee Motor Vehicle Sales Surcharge,
the CO{”ptﬂ'}”e{mp'Cs °f3}°”’hCh°"5§ a/t Sales and Use Taxes Rental and Seller Financed Sales Tax 1-888-4-FILING (1-888-434-5464)
complrofier.exas.gov/subscrine/. Motor Vehicle Registration Surcharge TELEFILE: To File by Phone
1-800-531-5441
In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Cement Tax 1-800-252-1383 1-800-252-1389
Act, this document may be requested in alternative Inheritance Tax Fuels Tax GETPUB: To Order Forms and Publications
formats by calling the appropriate toll-free number Local Revenue IFTA
listed or by sending a fax to 512-475-0900. Miscellaneous Gross LG Decals 1-800-654-FIND (1-800-654-3463)
Receipts Taxes Petroleum Products Delivery Fee Treasury Find
Qil Well Servicing Tax School Fund Benefit Fee
Sulphur Tax 1-800-321-2274
1-800-252-1384 Unclaimed Property Claimants
1-800-442-3453 Coastal Protection Unclaimed Property Holders
WebFile Help Crude 0il Production Tax Unclaimed Property Name Searches
Natural Gas Production Tax 512-463-3120 in Austin
1-800-252-1381
Bank Franchise 1-800-252-1387 1-877-44RATE4 (1-877-441-2834)
Franchise Tax Insurance Tax Interest Rate
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	Bad debt – any amount due on a rental agreement that is written off as uncollectable. The amount must be entered on the rental company’s books as a bad debt and claimed as a deduction for federal income tax purposes.
	Fair market value – a vehicle’s actual selling price when retired from service or its depreciated book value if it is no longer used and is offered for sale.
	Fair market value deduction – a method by which the taxable value of a rental vehicle purchase may be reduced for tax purposes.
	Farm machine – a self-propelled motor vehicle specially adapted or modified to apply plant food materials, agricultural chemicals or feed for livestock. “Farm machine” does not include a self-propelled motor vehicle specially adapted for the transportatio
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	Mobile Office – A trailer designed to be used as an office, sales outlet or other workplace.
	Motor vehicle – a self-propelled vehicle designed to transport persons or property on a public highway. The term includes trailers, semi-trailers and “house trailers” as defined by the Certificate of Title Act, Transportation Code.
	Out-of-state rental – when a customer takes delivery of a rental vehicle outside of the state. The receipts from an out-of-state rental are not subject to tax for the entire period of the original agreement even if the customer brings the vehicle into Tex
	Person – an individual, firm, corporation or association.
	Possession owner – someone who rents a motor vehicle for re-rental. The possession owner does not have title to the vehicle but must collect and remit tax on the re-rentals.
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	Replaced vehicle – a vehicle taken out of rental service. The value of a replaced vehicle can be used to reduce the taxable value of another vehicle purchased to be rented. Except as provided below to qualify, a replaced vehicle must have been titled in T
	Taxable value – the total sales price less the value of a trade-in vehicle or the fair market value of a replaced vehicle. Total sales price is the amount paid for a motor vehicle and all accessories that are attached to it at the time of sale.
	Texas rental – when a customer takes delivery of a rental vehicle in Texas. The receipts from the entire rental agreement are subject to Texas gross rental receipts tax even if the customer takes the vehicle out of state. A renewal or extension of the agr
	Timber machine – a self-propelled motor vehicle specially adapted or modified for use primarily in timber operations. Timber machine does not include any self-propelled motor vehicle specifically designed or adapted for the primary purpose of transporting
	Title owner – the person named as the owner on the certificate of title. The term also includes a person who is the legal owner because of a lease/purchase or conditional sales contract where the seller retains title until full payment is made. The title 
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