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TAX TOPICS

SALES AND USE TAX

MOTORCYCLES: Sales Tax on Street-Legal and 0ff-Road Vehicles

The amount and type of tax due on motorcycles, all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) and utility vehicles is
determined by whether the vehicle is street-legal or designed for off-road use. Motor vehicle tax
applies to street-legal vehicles. Sales and use tax is due on off-road motorcycles, ATVs and utility

vehicles.

Street-Legal Vehicles Designed for
Highway Use

Street-legal motorcycles designed for highway use are
taxed at 6.25 percent state tax only. There is no local
tax on motor vehicle sales. The motor vehicle tax stat-
utes are found in Chapter 152 of the Texas Tax Code.

County tax assessor-collectors collect motor
vehicle sales tax at the time of vehicle titling and
registration. The tax base is the total consideration
paid for the vehicle less an allowance for a motor
vehicle traded in and accepted by the seller as part
of the consideration for the motor vehicle sold.

The total consideration paid for a motor vehicle
does not include a charge for motor vehicle inventory
tax (VIT) or a documentary fee charged for handling
registration and titling. The VIT is a local property
tax on the motor vehicle dealer’s inventory excluded
by Texas Tax Code Section 152.002. A documentary
fee is considered a nontaxable charge occurring
after the sale.

0ff-Road Vehicles

Off-road vehicles are self-propelled vehicles designed
for off-road (i.e., not on public streets and highways)
use. Examples include dirt bikes, mini bikes or mini

motorcycles, all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), utility vehicles
and other vehicles not designed or intended by the
manufacturer to meet motor vehicle registration and
safety inspection standards.

Off-road vehicles are subject to sales tax, not
motor vehicle tax. The sales and use tax statutes
are found in Chapter 151 of the Texas Tax Code. The
state sales and use tax rate is 6.25 percent. Off-
road vehicles are also subject to applicable local
sales or use taxes up to 2 percent. Dealers are
responsible for collecting the state and local taxes
from purchasers and remitting those taxes to the
Comptroller.

The Tax Code treats street-legal and off-road
vehicles differently with regard to charges for the
dealer’s VIT and the documentary fee charged for
the handling of registration and titling the vehicle.
These taxes and fees are part of the taxable sales
price of off-road vehicles. Dealers are responsible
for collecting the state sales and local taxes on the
VIT and documentary fees charged in connection
with the sale of an off-road vehicle. The sales price
does exclude the value of a trade used to reduce
the selling price of a taxable vehicle, provided it is
a type of property sold by the seller in the regular
course of business.

This publication is intended as a general guide and not as a comprehensive resource on the subjects covered.
It is not a substitute for legal advice.
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MOTORCYCLES: SALES TAX ON STREET-LEGAL AND OFF-ROAD VEHICLES

Agriculture and Timber Exemptions
for 0ff-Road Vehicles

Tax Code Section 151.316 provides a sales and use
tax exemption for machinery and equipment used
exclusively in the production of agricultural and

timber products for sale. The timber sales tax exemp-
tion applies only to machinery and equipment used ex-
clusively in the production of timber products for sale.

Dealers may not accept in good faith a
registration number/exemption certificate for a
vehicle they know will not be used exclusively on a
farm or ranch in the building or maintaining of roads
or water facilities, or in the production of food for
human consumption, grass, feed for animal life, or
other agricultural products to be sold in the regular
course of business. Any use of vehicles for any
other purposes (such as recreational riding, hunting,
wild life management, etc.) causes a loss of the
exempt status, even if the vehicle is also used in the
production of agricultural or timber products.

For example, a utility vehicle qualifies for the
exemption if it is used exclusively on a farm to
perform activities such as spraying crops, feeding
cattle, building or repairing fences, but the
exemption is lost if the same vehicle is also to be
used for non farm production activities such as
hunting or recreational riding. The purchaser is
then liable for paying taxes on the vehicle if it was
purchased tax free under an agricultural or timber
exemption.

A Word about Good Faith

A dealer must be familiar with the exemptions avail-
able for the items the dealer sells. A dealer should
obtain a properly completed exemption certificate or

a signed copy of the registration letter at the time the
transaction occurs. The dealer must retain the exemp-
tion certificate or letter for at least four years following
the completion of the last sale that is covered by the
certificate or letter. Records may be required to be kept
longer than four years as provided by Tax Code Section
111.0041.

Claiming the Ag Exemption

Farmers, ranchers and timber producers must have

an Ag/Timber Registration Number to make exempt
purchases of qualifying items on or after Jan. 1,2012.
Persons claiming exemption from sales tax on ag
machinery and equipment purchases must provide the
retailer with a copy of the Texas Agricultural Sales and
Use Tax Exemption Certificate, Form 01-924, or the pur-
chaser may provide a signed copy of the Comptroller's
confirmation letter containing the registration number.
Timber operators must use the Texas Timber Operations
Sales and Use Tax Exemption Certificate, Form 01-925
or signed copy of their confirmation letter containing
the registration number.

For more information about exemptions from
sales tax for agricultural equipment and the new
registration requirement, please see Tax Exemptions
for Agriculture (Pub. 94-101).

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities
Act, this document may be requested in
alternative formats by calling 1-800-252-5555, or
by sending a fax to 512-475-0900.
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