
  
 

 
  

 
 

 
 

  

 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

  
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

  
 
 

 
  

 

 

 

 

Frequently Asked Questions 
Related to Motions for Rehearing 

A P R I L  2 0 1 6  

Glenn Hegar  

Texas Comptroller of  
Public Accounts 

If you have a question about the Frequently Asked Questions Related to Motions for  
Rehearing, then please contact: 

Kari Honea 
Kari.Honea@cpa.texas.gov 
512-463-8261 
Toll-free: 800-531-5441, extension 3-8261 

Laura Kuchinsky 
Laura.Kuchinsky@cpa.texas.gov 
512-463-1428 
Toll-free: 800-531-5441,
 

 extension 3-1428 

1.	 I disagree with the comptroller’s decision and
I want to file a motion for rehearing. What
determines the deadline to timely file the
motion for rehearing? 

The deadline to file a motion for rehearing
depends on whether the hearing before the
administrative law judge was set by the State
Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH) before
September 1, 2015, or on or after that date.1

2.	 How will I know when SOAH set my hearing? 

The date your hearing was set is not the date(s)
your hearing was conducted.2 The administrative
law judge assigned to your case will state in the
proposal for decision whether your hearing was
set on or after September 1, 2015. This date is

important because of new and amended laws
relating to administrative hearings effective
September 1, 2015, in the Administrative
Procedure Act (APA) found in chapter 2001
of the Texas Government Code. 

3.	 What is my deadline to timely file a motion for
rehearing?

The comptroller follows the deadlines in the APA
for all cases in which a motion for rehearing may
be filed. For litigation purposes, you may follow
a shorter deadline in the Tax Code. In addition
to the explanation and litigation information that
follows, the deadlines under both the APA and
the Tax Code to file a motion for rehearing are
summarized in this table: 

If your hearing was set by SOAH … And if we send 
the decision by… 

Then, under the Tax
Code, your motion for
rehearing must be filed
on or before: 

Then, under the
APA, your motion for
rehearing must be
filed on or before: 

(1) before September 1, 2015* mail 23 calendar days 23 calendar days 

(2) before September 1, 2015* email 20 calendar days 20 calendar days 

(3) on or after September 1, 2015** mail 23 calendar days 25 calendar days 

(4) on or after September 1, 2015** email 20 calendar days 25 calendar days 

* If your hearing was set by SOAH before September 1, 2015, we calculate a deadline of 20 days or 23 days for you (based on 

whether we send you the decision by mail or email) and write it on the first page of your decision.


** If your hearing was set on or after September 1, 2015, we calculate a deadline of 25 days for you and write it on the first page of 

your decision.
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The following is an explanation of motion for rehearing deadlines,
which are summarized in the chart above:

For a hearing set by SOAH before September 1, 2015 
If your hearing was set by SOAH before September 1, 2015, the
Texas Tax Code and the APA are the same. You must file a motion for
rehearing not later than the expiration of 20 days after service of the
decision.3 The date of “service” is presumed to occur three days after
notice of a decision by mail.4 The date of “service” is not the date a
decision is signed.

For a hearing set by SOAH on and after September 1, 2015 

LITIGATION INFORMATION 
If you choose to file suit in state court to challenge the denial of a
refund claim, then you must timely file a motion for rehearing.  A state 
court may hold that the comptroller’s decision becomes final under the
Tax Code, meaning 20 days after service of the decision, and apply a
shorter deadline to file a motion for rehearing than under the APA.

5

If your hearing was set by SOAH on or after September 1, 2015, the
Tax Code and the APA are different.

Texas Tax Code: 
A comptroller’s decision becomes final under the Tax Code 20 days 
after service.6 As a result, the deadline to file a motion for rehearing 
under the Tax Code is 20 days after the date you were served with the 
decision. The date of “service” is not the date a decision is signed. 
If we send you notice of the decision by mail, the deadline to file a 
motion for rehearing is 23 days from the date of notice.7 However, if we 
send notice of the decision by email, the date of service is the date of 
the email.

APA: 
For hearings set by SOAH on and after September 1, 2015, the APA
provides the deadline to file a motion for rehearing 25 days after the
decision is signed.8 The APA removed the additional calculation of
3-days of presumed “service.” The change was adopted in conjunction
with an expanded time to file a motion for rehearing (regardless of the
method of service) and in conjunction with other amended and new
protections to enlarge the rehearing period. So, even if we send you
the decision by mail, we do not add three days to the 25-day deadline.

4.	 What deadline does the comptroller follow when determining
when a motion for rehearing is due?

The comptroller follows the deadlines in the APA for all cases in
which a motion for rehearing may be filed. This includes following
the 25-day motion for rehearing deadline and other deadlines
relating to rehearing motions, replies, and agency actions.9 If your
hearing was set on or after September 1, 2015, we calculate a
deadline of 25 days to file a motion for rehearing and write it on
the first page of your decision. Comparing the Tax Code, a motion
for rehearing timely-filed within 20 days or 23 days (based on

whether we send you the decision by mail or email) is also timely-
filed within 25 days after the decision is signed.

5.	 Can I have more time to file a motion for rehearing?

You may follow the procedures in the APA and file a motion to 
extend the deadline to file a motion for rehearing if you seek 
additional time to file your motion for rehearing.10 An order granting 
your motion will extend the deadline to file a motion for rehearing 
to a specific date, meaning it extends the end date of your 
rehearing period.11 

For hearings set by SOAH on and after September 1, 2015, if you 
did not timely receive the comptroller’s decision, you may follow 
the procedures in the APA and file a sworn motion to establish a 
revised rehearing period.12 This motion revises the beginning date 
of the rehearing period.13 

6.	 Do I count calendar days or business days when calculating
when a motion for rehearing is due?

As with other deadlines related to a comptroller hearing, the day of
the act on which the designated period of time begins to run is not
included. This makes the following day the first day of the period
that you are calculating. For example, consider a comptroller’s
decision that is signed on December 1. December 1 is the “day
of the act.” December 1 is not considered the first day of your
motion for rehearing period. To calculate your deadline, the period
to file a motion for rehearing begins to run on the next calendar
day, December 2. The last day of the period is included, unless it
is a day on which the agency is closed, in which case the period
of time ends on the next business day that the agency is open.14

Thus, to calculate the deadline to file a motion for rehearing,
if a comptroller’s decision is signed on December 1, then a
25-day period to file a motion for rehearing begins to run on
December 2, and the deadline to file a motion for rehearing would
then be December 26. If the agency is closed on December 26,
the deadline to file becomes the next business day that the agency
is open after December 26.15

7.	 Is the deadline to file by 5 p.m. by midnight? 

A motion for rehearing filed by fax before 5 p.m. CST is considered
filed on that day. If it is filed by fax on or after 5 p.m. CST, the
motion is considered filed on the next business day.16

A motion for rehearing filed by regular mail is considered filed
on the date the United States Postal Service or other service
postmarked the envelope. We presume that we will receive a
motion for rehearing sent by regular mail no later than three days
after the postmark date indicated on the 17envelope.

8.	 Where do I file a motion for rehearing? 

File your motion for rehearing with the Deputy Comptroller through
the Office of Special Counsel for Tax Hearings.

By mail: 
Deputy Comptroller of Public Accounts
 
c/o Office of Special Counsel for Tax Hearings
 
P.O. Box 13528
 
Austin, Texas 78711-3528
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By fax: 512-936-6190 

As with other motions related to a comptroller hearing, you must
send a copy of the motion on the Assistant General Counsel (AGC)
who represents the agency Staff. The AGC is identified in the
decision at the top of the first page.

9. How do I draft a motion for rehearing?

The law states: “A motion for rehearing must identify with
particularity findings of fact or conclusions of law that are the
subject of the complaint and any evidentiary or legal ruling claimed
to be erroneous. The motion must also state the legal and factual
basis for the claimed error.”18

10. When do I owe any money that is due?

Your liability is due and payable 20 days after the decision
becomes final.19

If a motion for rehearing is not filed at all or not timely filed, your
liability is due and payable 45 days after the date the decision is
signed.20

If a motion for rehearing is timely filed, the decision becomes final 
under the APA, not the Tax Code.21 If your motion for rehearing 
is denied, the decision is final on the date of the signed order 
denying the motion for rehearing.22 

11. What happens if I do not timely pay the amount due?

If you do not pay the amount due within 20 days after the decision
becomes final:

• an additional penalty of 10% of the delinquent tax, exclusive of
penalties and interest, is automatically added to the amount due
as a result of the comptroller’s decision;23

• interest continues to accrue based on the original due date of
the tax;  and24

• notwithstanding remedies available based on a jeopardy
determination, the comptroller may file a lien to secure the
amount due  or 25 seize and sell certain real and personal
property.26

If you are unable to pay the amount due within
20 days after the decision becomes final, you may be able to enter
into a payment agreement. For details on payment agreements,
contact your local Enforcement Office, which is listed at this link:
http://www.comptroller.texas.gov/taxinfo/fieldoff.html. 

End Notes: 
1 See S.B. 1267, Acts 2015, 84th Leg., Sec. 11 and 12. 
2 For example, Administrative Procedure Act (APA), Tex. Gov’t Code § 2001.058(d-1), 
added by H.B. 2154, Acts 2015, 84th Leg., effective September 1, 2015, applies only to a 
hearing conducted by SOAH on or after September 1, 2015, while S.B. 1267, Acts 2015, 
84th Leg., effective September 1, 2015, applies only to a hearing set by SOAH on or after
September 1, 2015. 
3 See Tex. Tax Code § 111.009(d) (20 days); Tex. Tax Code § 111.105(b) (20 days);   
APA, Tex. Gov’t Code § 2001.146(a) (20 days).
4 For a hearing set by SOAH before September 1, 2015, former law in the APA is continued 
in effect.  See S.B. 1267, Acts 2015, 84th Leg., Sec. 11 and 12.  APA, Tex. Gov’t Code  
§ 2001.142(c) stated that notice of a decision by mail is presumed on the third day after 
the date on which notice was mailed (20 days + 3 days).
5 See Tex. Tax Code § 112.151. 
6 See Tex. Tax Code § 111.009(d) (final 20 days after service); Tex. Tax Code § 111.105(b) 
(final 20 days after service).
7 Former law in the APA is not continued in effect for a hearing set on and after September 
1, 2015. S.B. 1267, Acts 2015, 84th Leg., Sec. 11 and 12.  APA, Tex. Gov’t Code  
§ 2001.142(c) stated that notice of a decision by mail is presumed on the third day after 
the date on which notice was mailed.  By rule, the comptroller presumes receipt of notice
of a decision on the third day after it is mailed. See 34 Tex. Admin. Code § 1.32(g)(3). 
8 See APA, Tex. Gov’t Code §§ 2001.144(a)(1), .146(a). 
9 See APA, Tex. Gov’t Code §§ 2001.142(c), (d), .146(e)-(i).
10 See APA, Tex. Gov’t Code § 2001.146(e) “A state agency may … extend the time for filing 
a motion [for rehearing] ….” 
11 See APA, Tex. Gov’t Code § 2001.146(e) “A state agency may … extend the time for filing 
a motion [for rehearing] ….” 

12 See APA, Tex. Gov’t Code § 2001.142(d) (“To establish a revised period under subsection 
(c), the adversely affected party must prove, on sworn motion and notice, that the date the
party received notice from the state agency or acquired actual knowledge of the signing
of the decision or order was after the 14th day after the date the decision or order was
signed.”). 
13 See APA, Tex. Gov’t Code § 2001.142(c) (“The period may not begin earlier than the 15th 
day or later than the 90th day after the date the decision or order was signed.”). See also
§ 2001.142(g) (“The date specified in the sworn motion shall be considered the date the 
decision or order was signed.”).
14 See 34 Tex. Admin. Code § 1.31(a).  
15 This example applies the APA filing deadline effective for hearings set by SOAH on or after
September 1, 2015.
16 See 34 Tex. Admin. Code § 1.32(d).  
17 See 34 Tex. Admin. Code § 1.32(d).  
18 See APA, Tex. Gov’t Code § 2001.146(g).
19 See Tex. Tax Code § 111.0081(c).
20 See Tex. Tax Code § 111.0081(c) (20 days); APA, Tex. Gov’t Code
§§ 2001.144(a)(1), .146(a) (25 days).
21 See APA, Tex. Gov’t Code §§ 2001.144(a)(2); .146(h), (i).
 
22 See APA, Tex. Gov’t Code § 2001.144(a)(2)(A).
 
23 See Tex. Tax Code § 111.0081.
 
24 See Tex. Tax Code § 111.060(c), (d) (unless excluded, “delinquent taxes draw interest

beginning 60 days after the date due”).
 
25 See Tex. Tax Code, Chapter 113.
 
26 See Tex. Tax Code §§ 111.017-111.019.
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